Uncategorized

Readathon: 2nd update

24readathon

Hour 9

Books finished: 1    (Angels in America by Tony Kushner)

Pages read: 287

One of my favorite passages of this play:

But still. Still. Bless me anyway. I want more life. I can’t help myself. I do. I’ve lived through such terrible times, and there are people who live through much much worse, but . . . You see them living anyway. When they’re more spirit than body, more sores than skin, when they’re burned and in agony, when flies lay eggs in the corners of the eyes of their children, they live. Death usually has to take life away. I don’t know if that’s just the animal. I don’t know if it’s not braver to die. But I recognize the habit. The addiction to being alive. We live past hope. If I can find hope anywhere, that’s it, that the best I can do. It’s so much not enough, so inadequate but . . . Bless me anyway. I want more life. (Pg 266).

Isn’t that beautiful?

Food so far: Coffee, Frosted Flakes cereal, sloppy joes, and more coffee

Time for Comics Mini-Challenge hosted by Nymeth

I first found out about Unshelved Book Club‘s comics last year when Becky announced she was hosting a challenge based on the books. One of my favorite comics is based on the novel Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell, a book I read and discovered earlier this year. Click on the Beat the Reaper link to read the comic.

For her mini-challenge Erika at Reading with Momma asked, What book or books do you return to read again and again and why?

Two books off the top of my head are East of Eden by John Steinbeck and also Of Mice and Men by Steinbeck. East of Eden is one of the few books I re-read almost every year. I first read it almost ten years go and just loved it. It’s about so many things: life and death, how you live while you’re here, the legacy a parent leaves to their children, fate, and so much more. It’s really a great read. So far this year I haven’t read it yet.

Of Mice and Men is another favorite that reminds me how important it is to dream.

Next book. . .

sfar

The Professor’s Daughter by Joann Sfar

8 thoughts on “Readathon: 2nd update”

  1. Thanks for participating, Vasilly! And I so need to get my hands on The Professor’s Daughter. Hope you’re having a great time 🙂

  2. I’m popping by again to offer some more cheering! Give me an R! Give me an E! Give me an A! Give me a D! What does that spell?! Read! Read! Read!

  3. Ok, so you TOTALLY can’t apologize to me for not coming by my site for awhile because I haven’t been by here all day either :p I don’t know how people do it with reading like 1000 pages and commenting on every blog all day 😛 But it looks like you’re having a great time!! Keep it up!

Comments are closed.