Uncategorized

Sunday Salon

The scene: // It’s a windy and wet Sunday morning. The sun is out, but not for long as rain is in the forecast. I’m typing up a quick post before I start on our Sunday dinner of short ribs.

January was filled with a ton of changes including moving into my new townhouse. I spent February trying to adjust while also turning this new house into a home. Even with the hectic month, I still got a lot of reading done with mainly comics and children’s books. 28 books read in all. The best books of February includes the Lumberjanes series, Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales: The Underground Abductor, and biographies about Helen Keller and Typhoid Mary.

My March TBR pile includes books in a variety of genres. My goal is to read more books out of my comfort zone and I think this stack will do just that. There’s no way I can finish this stack in a month, but these are the books I’m focusing on.

FullSizeRender

Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life by Karen Armstrong is a book that I started reading a few days ago thanks to Joy. The beginning could’ve been trimmed down a tad, but I’m enjoying it so far.
The Best American Essays 2015 edited by Ariel Levy.
The Long Emancipation: The Demise of Slavery in the United States by Ira Berlin
Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Clearly (a read-along with my son)
Pax by Sara Pennypacker (middle grade)
Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor (sci-fi)
The Lives of Frederick Douglas by Robert S Levine
Thirty Million Words: Building a Child’s Brain by Dana Suskind
Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond
Aurora by Kim Stanley Robinson (sci-fi)

That’s a lot of heavy reading and I may have to lighten it up some.

Now I’m off to start cooking.

What are you up to on this beautiful Sunday?

20 thoughts on “Sunday Salon”

  1. Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond sounds pretty enticing. Social issue books are the type I’ve been buying lately – even if I haven’t gotten around to reading them yet. I guess mine have mainly been about the failures of the justice system, though.

  2. Ah another reminder to read Lagoon! I love seeing a big pile of books like that. It looks like a good reading month ahead!

  3. We’ve got a week of rain predicted, but not until Tuesday so I’m trying to enjoy the weather now.

    The preface and 1st chapter are definitely sprawling in Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life. Things get a bit tidier after that.

  4. Snap! We both have Lagoon checked out at the moment! I’ve thought about reading Evicted, as well, but I’m having a hard time facing up to it. My dad works with homeless populations and it’s really tragic to hear many of their stories. This damn country.

  5. Wow! What a great selection of books! I have Pax in my TBR pile and Evicted on my library list. I may have to add Lagoon because it sounds like fun!

    Enjoy you week! I’m glad you’re settled and using the word “home” now!

  6. I was just feeling proud of myself for finishing two books since the start of the year…lol…then I read your post…wow/woah…you need to share your speed reading secrets. I used to read faster than this but even at my fastest I don’t think I ever read 28 books in two months. Well done.

  7. Love your March stack! I haven’t heard of any of those books so I have some searching to do. Sounds like you are getting happily settled into your new home!

  8. What a great month!
    And ohhhh Karen Armstrong is someone whose books I keep meaning to pick up, but I don’t think I’ve actually done so yet.

  9. So glad you’re settling in to the new place. And what a great stack of books you have there!

  10. If you are aiming for light, you can toss Evicted…oh my, what a story. No heroes in this book and no easy answers either.

  11. I hope you’re doing well in your new environment and glad to hear your reading is doing well. Here, it’s slow going, reading and life, but it’s going, slow but steady

Comments are closed.