reading

Currently

Time: // 5: 43 a.m. Tuesday morning. Everyone is asleep and the house is so quiet. It’s such a rare thing to experience.

The scene: // I’ve been trying for the past two days to write a post, but to no avail. Two of the kids have been sick with various things, I had a killer migraine, and there were countless errands and chores to do around the house. Now that all of that is out the way, I can sit here quietly and gather my thoughts.

This weekend: // my city had their first annual Beach Streets event, where they closed down a major street to cars and opened it up to bikes, pedestrians, skateboards. . . almost anything that moved. I took my kids and sisters to this fun event that lasted most of the day. It’s funny how the idea of closing down a street to let people walk and ride could be so much fun. It was one of the best events my city has ever hosted.

Last week I read: // a ton of children’s books and Syllabus by Lynda Barry. The thing I’ve come to understand about Barry is that in each work of hers, there’s always a question that she needs to explore. In Syllabus she brings together several questions that she’s had about art and images, but also how can keeping a daily notebook help us transfer the things we think about, that are inside us to something more solid on paper and to others.

The book’s form is so unique. It’s like a composition notebook with so much color and images on each page. There’s also a lot of inspiration to be found. I don’t think I’m going to buy a copy of Syllabus, but I can see why so many people want to. My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Next up is: // a ton of books! There’s so much that I want to read. My boys are reluctant readers, so I’m trying to find fantastic middle grade books that I can share with the two of them this summer. This week I’m trying to read and finish:

Monday Collage

Monday Collage2

  • Gone Fishing: A Novel in Verse by Tamera Will Wissinger
  • The Jumbies by Tracey Baptiste. It has such a creepy cover and it has to do with creatures from Carribean fairy tales.
    How often can a reader say that?
  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. I’m probably one of the few people who haven’t read this book yet. If you haven’t picked up the Lumberjanes yet, you need to change that.
  • Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt
  • Bone Gap by Laura Ruby.

I’m looking forward to reading all five books this week. Most of them have already been named a favorite book of the year by various sources I follow. And it’s only June!

Thinking about: // The Worst Kind of Groundhog Day: Let’s Talk (Again) About Diversity in Publishing by Roxanne Gay. Just.Read.It.

Now I’m off to: // enjoy my coffee.

How’s your Tuesday morning going? What are you looking forward to today?

16 thoughts on “Currently”

  1. Beach Streets sounds like so much fun! I remember moving our daughter out of the NYU dorms a few summers ago and the roads were closing at 6AM for their City Streets event… we started hauling things out at 5AM and laughed to see some kids just getting home after a night on the town!

  2. I feel like you have issued me a challenge when you said your boys are reluctant readers. 🙂

  3. Syllabus sounds really good! I might see if I can get at the library.

    My Tuesday was okay. I have three deadlines this week and I’m not super stressing out about them, except things keep happening to prevent me from getting the work I need to do done! Very frustrating.

  4. Sorry about the migraine! Hope it’s a very long time (like infinity days) until you have to battle another one!!!
    Beach Streets sounds like fun! I wish you Instagrammed more–I would so love more glimpses into your life. 🙂
    I didn’t realize your boys were reluctant readers. Mine are too, especially the youngest. It’s so hard to find that perfect balance sometimes between encouraging him to read and really forcing the issue. The last thing I want to do is make him totally hate reading and feel like it’s a punishment or something. I think I really need to find some audio books for him, because as much as he avoids picking up a book and reading himself, he still absolutely loves to be read to.
    I read that article by Roxane Gay through a link on tumblr last week, and *sigh*. I sigh, but really want to do is smash things. I’d like to believe that this is the last time she’ll have to write an essay like this because things will finally change, but it’s mighty damn hard to be optimistic. 😦
    On a happier note, are you counting down the days? How much longer now–just a few weeks, right? 😀

  5. Hope all is well! I’m thinking of you and wishing you much reading delight and calm cool days and lots of smiles.

  6. I love events where they close down the streets to cars (I’m not so sure drivers like them, though!). There’s something just so delightful about walking on the road with lots of other people, everyone having fun. One big bookish event they do here every year is called Word on the Street – I’m hoping to be able to go this year (although I just checked, and it doesn’t look like it’s going to be on the street this year, but rather by the harbour!).

    I’m glad you enjoyed Syllabus. And I’ve been thinking about you!

  7. Hope you are feeling better now! I love fun city events like that and we have tons here in our area but I don’t like the heat so I end up stuck indoors most of the summer. Anyway, you’ve got lots of interesting reads ahead – hope they all turn out great!

  8. Beach Streets event sounds like a LOT of fun! Wish we had something like that too.

    How many weeks do you have left? Almost there, right?

      1. Other than the body aches and the constant pressure on the bladder? I’m okay I guess. 🙂 I’m excited though and the next few weeks cannot go quickly enough!

  9. There is a neighbourhood in Toronto which has Pedestrian Sundays during the summer, one a month or so and it’s fantastic. It really does transform one’s idea of the way in which we should move through cities. I hope you find lots of great books this summer and continue to feel well/better, all of you!

Comments are closed.