It's Monday, meme., reading

It’s Monday. What are you reading?

It’s Monday. What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey.  Every week bloggers share the books they’ve read the week before and what they plan on reading this week.

Last week  I read:

  • The Chicken Thief by Beatrice Rodriguez
  • Akata Witch by Nnede Okorafor
  • Scott Pilgrim vs. The Universe (Vol. 5) by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Scott Pilgrim’s Finest Hour (Vol. 6) by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Horoscopes for the Dead: Poems by Billy Collins
I think my favorite book of the week was Scott Pilgrim vs. The Universe. I started reading the series a little more than a week ago and finished it within days. It’s a great series that’s full of laughs.  This week I have a ton of books to read because I have several that need to be returned to the library next week. Luckily I have plenty of time to read them all. Here’s this week’s stack:


  • Sugar in My Bowl: Real women write about real sex edited by Erica Jong (ARC)
  • The Sisters Brothers by Patrick DeWitt (ARC)
  • Neil Flambé and the Marco Polo Murders by Kevin Sylvester. I rarely read mysteries but once I saw the cover of this, I couldn’t pass it up.
  • Exclusive Love: A Memoir by Johanna Adorján
  • Sugar Changed the World: A Story of Magic, Spice, Slavery, Freedom, and Science by Marc Aronson and Marina Budhos
  • The White Woman on the Green Bicycle by Monique Roffey
  • The Surrendered by Chang-Rae Lee
  • Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self by Danielle Evans
  • The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood (read-along)
That’s nine books in nine days. It’s a lot but I think it’s doable if I restrict my online time. We’ll see how it goes. What are you reading this week?

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday. What are you reading?”

  1. I have heard good things about the Scott Pilgrim books, but have heard that the movie wasn’t all that. It does look like you’ve got some great things to read this week! I will be finishing up The Hundred Secret Senses and going on to Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter this week. Looking forward to it!

  2. Enjoy the Penelopiad readalong. I’m interesting in reading at least one Atwood book so I was looking at this one, but this one week is crazy busy for me, so I couldn’t join in. I’ll be looking for your thoughts.

  3. NINE BOOKS IN NINE DAYS?!!! Wow. That’s quite an effort.

    Good luck, my friend!

  4. I can’t wait to discuss The Penelopiad together! We have quite a few people reading along, so it should be interesting to read all the points of view. I must say, my knowledge of mythology is absolutely, horrifiyingly, almost nonexistent.

  5. That quite a stack! I need to get myself to the library instead for going to book sales but it just doesn’t happen. Sigh. Soon, though. Enjoy your reading!

  6. I guess I should really give Scott Pilgrim’s books a try! Have you seen the movie? I’m wondering how it compares, though I don’t want to see it before reading the books.

  7. I am so exicted you will be reading Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self. I am usually not a fan of short stories but I loved this collection. And Evans transitions are clinic good.

    When you finish it you should go back and read are WWOC interview. http://coloronline.blogspot.com/2010/11/women-writers-of-color-danielle-evans.html – I loved her answers.

    The Sisters Brothers is in my pile as well. Looks like it could be fun. It has a great cover

    Right now reading a Jan Burke mystery and Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

    And do not believe the hype about Before I go to sleep by S.J. Watson. I read the arc and it didn’t do anything for me. It’s probably going to be one of those novels every one loves but me. A la Girl W/Dragon Tattoo, Little Bee and The Art of Racing in the Rain.

Comments are closed.