R.I.P.Challenge, reading

R.I.P. Challenge

rip4banner200

R.I.P. Challenge

Sept. 1, 2009– October 31, 2009

One of the things I did while on my blogging break was that I started to count down for the start of Carl’s fantastic Readers Imbibing Peril (R.I.P.) Challenge. Fall is one of my favorite seasons and for the last couple of years, I’ve marked the start of the season with Carl’s challenge, reading spooky stories while curling up with a cup of coffee and listening to the wind blow as the weather cools down. The R.I.P. Challenge is as much a part of autumn as falling leaves are.

You can imagine my surprise when I checked Twitter a few days ago and learned that though the fourth annual R.I.P. Challenge doesn’t officially start until the 1st of September, Carl went ahead and started it this past Monday! After I finished screaming in excitement and receiving funny looks from my family, I started scouring my bookshelves and wish lists for books I want to read.

This year I’m signing up for the Short Story Peril and also Peril the 1st, which is to read four books of any length in the subgenres: mystery, suspense, thriller, dark fantasy, gothic, horror, and supernatural.

Monday I read Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzgerald. Hush, Hush is the story of a young girl who gets caught up with a fallen angel. She’s also being stalked by a mysterious girl, a guy in a ski mask, and has a ton of weird things happen to her. It’s becoming a fast favorite among bloggers.

My Reading Pool:

1. Angel of Forgetfulness – Steve Stern
2. Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafron
3. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
4. Something Wicked this Way Comes – Ray Bardbury
5. Sweethearts– Melanie Rae Thon
6. Forever – Peter Hamill
7. The Lace Reader – Brunonia Barry
8. The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane – Katherine Howe
9. The Gargoyle – Andew Davidson
10.  The Late, Lamented Molly Marx – Sally Koslow
11.  Tigerheart – Peter David
12.  The Good Thief – Hannah Tinti
13.  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
14.  Re-reading Tuck Everlasting – Natalie Babbitt
15.  Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro
16.  Full Dark House – Christopher Fowler
17.  A Fine and Private Place – Peter Beagle
18.  Nights at the Circus – Angela Carter
19.  Tender Morsels – Margo Lanagan
20.  Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
21.  Inkheart – Cornelia Funke
22.  Re-reading The Graveyard Book – Neil Gaiman
23.  Various children’s books
24.  Finishing The Bloody Chamber – Angela Carter
25.  Perfume – Patrick Suskind

Have you joined Carl’s R.I.P. Challenge?

20 thoughts on “R.I.P. Challenge”

  1. My own personal reaction wasn’t all that different than yours, lol! When I finished the banner and had the whole post together I felt such a rush of excitement in hitting the ‘publish’ button. I wasn’t going to post about it until Tuesday, but as soon as I was done I could not wait. I had to get it out there so I too could start the RIP challenge!!!

    Your excitement is palpable. If I was just coming into it cold you would have convinced me to sign up! So great to have you along again this year. You’ve made my day!!!

  2. I had a similar reaction. Love this challenge.

    I’m in awe of everyone’s pools this year. So many great books! I’ve got THE WOMAN IN WHITE in mine, too, and I’m hoping I’ll finally get to it before the challenge ends.

  3. Yeah! I’m so glad you are joining this one. I’ve decided to spend my first year as a blogger figuring out which challenges I will actually finish.

  4. That’s a long list! Inkheart is a particular favorite of mine, I’ve read it twice already. What’ever you read from that list I’m sure you will enjoy!

  5. I have JUST signed up for this challenge, and not only is this my VERY FIRST ONE, but if it hadn’t been for you blog I would have never found it!! Thanks!

  6. That is an AMAZING list of books! I just discovered this challenge a week ago, and while I really don’t have time to join another challenge, all the chatter about the fun and excitement of this one is gently nudging me to give it a go.

  7. I’m so excited about this challenge as well and have tons of books that I would like to read. I can’t wait to read your reviews on some of these!

  8. I’ve been hearing so much about Carl as a host and this challenge in particular. I’m thinking that I might sign up. I have a few that might qualify that I might be able to multipurpose and do a whole two birds one stone thing!

    Good luck 🙂

  9. You’ve got a wonderful list of books! I’ve started Woman in White and so far it’s great. Have fun with the challenge!

  10. You haven’t read Jane Eyre yet, either? That’s my favorite book. I have Perfume on my TBR shelf and I’ve seen the movie, which is fantastic.

  11. Dear Vasilly,
    I usually read your blog without commenting, but I just have to say that your book list is amazing. I have Gargoyle on my shelf, met the author and completely fallin in love with his story. Also I noticed Zafon’s Shadow of the wind…I really think it will make great impression on you cause of your bookwormish taste!
    I also blog (for Croatian ‘Evening post’) and write about books, authors, book-trends, and all those bookish themes…
    Kind regards,
    Your blogfriend Iva

Comments are closed.