Sunday Salon

Sunday Salon

sunday salon

Good morning! Right now the sun is up, the birds are making a lot of noise, and I’m sitting at my desk drinking coffee. I decided to come up for air from my reading to write this post. I’m currently reading Free Food for Millionaires by Min Jin Lee. It’s the story of Case Han, the daughter of Korean immigrants. She’s just graduated from Princeton and has no job and no idea what to do with her life. I’m almost a hundred pages into the book and I can tell you that this is the story about race, class, our desires, and reliving the past. This is Min Jin Lee’s debut novel and it’s a polished work of art.

I read three books this week but the sad thing is that I can only remember the last two: Mouseguard: Fall 1152 by David Petersen and Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell. I have no idea what the first book was and I didn’t write the title down or add it to my Goodreads account. I’m behind in writing reviews (who isn’t?), so look out this week for a review about Beat the Reaper.

Here are a few article and blog links from last week that I think are great:

  • Ali over at Worducopia is the host of Diversity Roll call. Every two weeks there’s a new topic for her readers to post about. This is the last week for the Gay Pride Month topic. I plan on writing a post about many of my favorite books that have to do with GLBTQ issues.
  • The other day I was teasing Natasha over at Maw Books while we were on Twitter. She had just found out about the blog, Terrible Yellow Eyes. The blog is a collection of pieces by artists dedicated to and inspired by Maurice Sendak, author of Where the Wild Things Are. The pieces are beautiful and very touching.
  • One thing I really hate is when people underestimate the power of libraries. If it wasn’t for libraries, most of us wouldn’t have the access to books and other materials that we have now. I personally would be homeless  because of all the books I would have had to buy instead of checking out from my local library. As a library science student I’m understanding more how much libraries do for our society. Too bad Ohio governor, Ted Strickland refuses to listen. Strickland is proposing a 30% budget cut for Ohio public libraries. He’s already cut 20% from the library’s budget earlier this year. Now is not the time to reduced library funding. We’re in the middle of a recession and libraries across the country are seeing attendance hikes and Strickland doesn’t care. If the budget cuts go through, many of Ohio libraries will have to close. In support of your own public library whether you use it or not, are you a friend of your local  library? Friends of the Library memberships are as low as $25 a year and goes to furnish materials and support programs that our libraries host. For more information, go to your library’s website to see how you can help.
  • Amy over at My Friend Amy is having a book drive to get author Beth Kephart’s newest book, Nothing but Ghosts into the hands of more readers. Amy has not received a free book or even encouragement from Harper Teen, the publisher.  She’s just doing this in support of Kephart, one of her favorite authors. The goal is to get at least 200 books sold by Friday, July 3rd. Amy is also giving away prizes to readers who buy the book. Have you lent your support to the Nothing but Ghosts Book Drive yet?

So that’s it for today. Have a great week and happy reading.

16 thoughts on “Sunday Salon”

  1. I always forget what library books I’ve read when unless I immediately put them into LT or record when I read them! I can normally keep track of my own books though.

    The Ohio library situation is really depressing. I want to kick the governor. I’m considering working in libraries (I’m considering a career in EVERYTHING) and they make such a huge difference.

  2. I am sorry to hear you forgot the book you read. That would be driving me nuts! I leave mine in a pile as I read them by the computer, so I remember to review them.

  3. I really enjoyed Beat the Reaper even though I found that scene toward the end almost too gruesome. I’m looking forward to your review of Free Food for Millionaires.

  4. I have to remember to enter what I’ve read into Goodreads right away or they can fall right out of my brain. I really loved Nymeth’s post on fantasy, thanks for linking to it. Have a great week.

  5. Ah, forgetting a book! I hate when that happens! I hope you’ll get your memory back for this one 🙂
    And thanks for the links; there are a few things in there I hadn’t see, so I’ll go read those right now!

  6. I’ve never read so many books in a week I forgot about them. Usually I’m happy if I read one. 🙂

    The Ohio library situation is really depressing. I feel so blessed to live in a county with a truly great, well-funded library. I think all state governments must be cutting corners some ways, though. My dad works for the state and he’s been really depressed since they told him they’re cutting the budget by 50% and he might have to lay people off. 😦

  7. Sounds like you had a lovely morning. 🙂 I just looked at the clock and was surprised at how late it is already. I look forward to reading your thoughts on Beat the Reaper. That’s been one I’ve been wanting to read for awhile now.

    The local libraries in my city are facing cuts too. They were talking about cutting the library hours, but too many people got up on arms about that and so it doesn’t look like that will happen now.

    Have a great week!

  8. Ugh, it sucks to hear about Ohio. My city’s pretty progressive in general, but we’re cutting library funds too. It kills me.

    Thanks for the reminder to support the friends programs. They do so much good work!

  9. Still can’t remember that last book huh? 😦

    On the library issue, it amazes me how narrowly some people think. In the case of budget cuts I think many really do look at it like “well I don’t do this so that must be true of everyone else” when that is just not true. I’m not a person who uses the library but I can certainly appreciate that there is a great number of people who do so why would I want to deprive them of that opportunity? To give that money to some ptoject like financing some big 60 billion dollar sports team stadium project when their former 59 billion stadium just won’t do anymore? Its’s kind of like the idea that cutting music and art programs in schools is ok while bolstering sports programs. These are, of course only easy examples as I don’t advocate for removing anything….just making it all more even disbursed.

  10. I’m so far behind in reviews that it isn’t even funny…oh well…I’ll catch up eventually 🙂 The Ohio library situation is awful but maybe if people continue to talk about it and work against it, then it might not happen. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Beat the Reaper!

  11. Thanks for the link, friend. The attention was enough to make me squirm, but I do love Rob for the opportunity.

    Library budget cuts are a source of grrrrrr for me right now. Highest usage rates in years with decreasing budgets. How is that supposed to work? But when people like you continue to make the point public, and advocate for better outcomes….. Kudos to you!

    And thank you most of all for Terrible Yellow Eyes. How great is that?

  12. Thanks for mentioning the Ohio library situation — I’m one of their patrons, and while I appreciate the state trying to be realistic about budgeting (as we all have to do these days), it sickens me that libraries are so often the first line item cut.

    Appreciate all the other news in your round-up as well. And thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting on PD James’ advice to reviewers!

Comments are closed.