reading challenges

Once Upon a Time III

once-upon-a-time-iiiEvery the third consecutive year Carl is hosting the Once Upon a Time challenge. It’s one of my favorite challenges. In case you don’t know,

Once Upon a Time is the celebration of the transformative power of literature, specifically those books which can be categorized under the headings of fantasy, fairy tale, folklore, and mythology. For the third year in a row it is my great pleasure to host this challenge, which begins Saturday, March 21st and ends Friday, June 2oth.

This year I’m participating in Quest the Third, which requires reading five books and a June reading of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I’m also doing the Short Story Weekend.

Here’s a list of my potential reads:

  1. Tender Morsels – Margo Lanagan
  2. A Midsummer Night’s Dream – Shakespeare
  3. Wild Magic- Cat Weatherill
  4. The Dark Hills Divide – Patrick Carman
  5. The Book of the Unknown – Jonathon Keats
  6. Peter Pan – J.M. Barrie
  7. Tigerheart – Peter David
  8. Fables series – Bill Willingham
  9. The Bloody Chamber – Angela Carter
  10. Nights at the Circus – Angela Carter
  11. The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafron
  12. Nocturnes – John O’Connolly
  13. The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde
  14. A Curse Dark as Gold – Elizabeth C. Bunce
  15. Hansel and Gretel- Cynthia Rylant
  16. Death with Interruptions – Jose Saramago
  17. The War of the Worlds – H.G. Wells
  18. Perfume – Patrick Suskind

Wish me luck! Are you joining this challenge?


Edit: I’m adding more books

  1. The Lightning Thief – Rick Riordan
  2. Black Swan, White Raven edited by Ellen Datlow

20 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time III”

  1. I know I said I can’t afford to take in any more challenges, but I’m joining this one too haha. I’ve A Midsummer Night’s Dream that I got from bookmooch recently so I thought it would be perfect, but I’m only doing Quest the First, probably, or The Journey. Love your list, it’s given me some ideas! 😀

  2. I’ve got The Shadow of the Wind on my list too. I’ve been a bit scared of starting it, so this may be the perfect excuse. Happy reading!

  3. People keep telling me that my TBR list is going grow exponentially in the coming three months, but so far most of the books I’d tentatively add to it are rereads. (I guess I don’t fall for titles that hard. Hmm.)

    I’d completely forgotten I have an English version of Süskind on my TBR list, for example. I read the original German back in secondary school for my reading assignments.

    Happy reading!

  4. Nymeth: Good luck!

    Deslily: I’m going to try my best to review all that I read.

    Vivienne: I can’t wait to see your post!

    Claire: Thanks!

    Kerry: I can’t wait to read your review. Happy reading!

    Stephanie: Thanks!

    Kailana: I couldn’t agree with you more!

    Shanra: Happy reading!

  5. I loved The Bloody Chamber. I checked it out of the library but I will definitely be picking up my own copy of it in the future. Some great stories in there.

    Great to see Fables on the list.

    I really want to read Shadow on the Wind and I’ve recently gotten my special edition copy from Subterranean Press. I think I may wait until R.I.P. for it, but I’m not sure. It has been calling my name.

    So glad you’re in!!!

  6. Carl: If it wasn’t for you, I wouldn’t even know about The Bloody Chamber. Don’t get the newest edition though. The print is too small. I’m hoping to finish the Fables series. Thanks for hosting this great challenge!

  7. Great list! I am gathering a big list of possibilities from everyone’s selections… and I’m looking forward to reading some new blogs…

  8. I loved, loved, loved Shadow of the Wind! I was hoping to add his new book onto my challenge list as well, but it doesn’t come out until June 19 which won’t give me much time to read it!

  9. I’m definitely joining too. I see we both have Nocturnes on the list 🙂

    You have a great pool to choose from so have tons of fun with your quest!

Comments are closed.