2009 challenges, Spring Reading Challenge

2009 Spring Reading Challenge

spring-reading Tomorrow is the first day of Spring! The birds are chirping, flowers are starting to come up, and noses are running. The perfect way for me to celebrate the new season is by joining the Spring Reading Challenge hosted by  Katrina at Callapidder Days.

The challenge  starts March 20th and ends June 20th. The rules are to make a list, read, and blog about your progress at the end of the challenge. How easy is that?

Since the challenge takes place throughout spring I decided to do a little spring cleaning and read only books that are on my shelves. Every month the number of unread books on my shelf grows and I would love to make a huge dent in it. The genres of the books I picked range from short stories to memoir, classics to poetry. Here’s my list:

  1. Sweet Hearts- Melanie Rae Thon
  2. The Water Will Hold You: A Skeptic Learns to Pray – Lindsey Crittenden
  3. Unearned Pleasures – Ursula Hegi
  4. I am no one you know – Joyce Carol Oates
  5. The Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
  6. Tender Morsels – Margo Lanagan
  7. Delicate Edible Birds – Lauren Groff
  8. The Gargoyle – Andrew Davidson
  9. The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafron
  10. Tales of Burning Love – Louise Erdrich
  11. Repair – C.K. Williams
  12. Sinners Welcome – Mary Karr
  13. Heliopolis – James Scudamore
  14. Nocturnes – John Connolly
  15. Cries of the Spirit – Marilyn Sewell
  16. The Bloody Chamber – Angela Carter
  17. Lullabies for Little Criminals – Heather O’Neil
  18. Blue Highways – William Least Heat-Moon

I’m reserving the right to change my list at any time. I also decided that if I don’t read at least 18 books from my shelves, I will give the difference away. So if I end up reading only 12 books, then I plan on giving away 6. I really need to pare down the number of books on my shelves. Wish me luck!

Are you joining The Spring Reading challenge also?

25 thoughts on “2009 Spring Reading Challenge”

  1. I am joining too. I think I have finished tinkering with my list but plan to go over it one more time tonight before posting tomorrow. I am using this challenge and Dewey’s read-a-thon to make progress on all the other challenges I joined which makes me think maybe I joined too many challenges:) Best of luck and happy spring!

  2. I’d love to hear what you think about Delicate Edible Birds.. And this sounds like a great challenge, but I don’t think I can afford to take on any more this year (well, there’s one or two I’m eyeing in July lol!). But good luck and hope you get to read all 18.. cheering you on!

  3. I tried it last year, but wound up only reading one book out my entire list. I think I do better with year-round challenges since I don’t always feel like reading a certain book at a certain time.

  4. I love, love Shadow of the Wind. Don’t change that choice 😉

    Just teasing. Have tons of fun with your challenge!

  5. Book Psmith: I can’t wait to read your post! Happy Spring and good luck!

    Claire: Thanks!

    Nymeth: Isn’t the button gorgeous? It was the button and the flexibility of the challenge that made me join! Thanks!

    Christina: I suspect I’m that way also. I’m a really moody reader but I really want to read some of the many books on my shelves. Hopefully it happens.

    Iliana: I promise I’ll read The Shadow of the Wind! *laughs*

  6. Hiya thanks for dropping by. The Ultimate Blog party starts today and runs until 27th March – you can make your party post and add the link here http://www.5minutesformom.com/ any time until 27th March.

    Oh and I know I’ve been slack about sending on your prize from Year of Readers, I meant to get it off before I left for holiday but didn’t manage it so it’s going in the post this Saturday.

  7. no challenges for me- but you have some great stuff there. shadow of the wind was one of my favorites last year. so fun! 🙂

  8. Great list and good idea to clean out your shelves. I have more on my list that are actually from my shelves, but I still have way too many books!

    Enjoy your reading.

  9. Yikes, I wouldn’t dare join another challenge. I am trying to read a book from my shelves along with the ones from the library.

  10. Oh, I really like your approach — giving away the difference between your goal & what you read. I should probably try that, since my bookshelves are overflowing!

    Thanks for being part of Spring Reading Thing 2009!

  11. I joined Paperback Swap and got rid of 13 books. The only thing is over the next few weeks that many will make their way back. lol
    My TBR shelf is huge and I need to get rid of some books too. 🙂

  12. What a super list. One of my all-time favorites is Blue Highways. I haven’t seen that on anyone’s list for years. I will be watching for your review/thoughts on it. Happy reading.

  13. I wish I HAD a bunch of books on my shelf to pick from, you’re so lucky!! I’ve gotta hit up my local library, or maybe some friends!! There are definitely some classics I need to read or re-visit–I’m excited!!

  14. I’ve heard lots of good things about Andrew Davidson’s book! Also, I am glad you listed eighteen. I don’t feel so bad…lol!

  15. Thanks for posting about this. I failed miserably at the Fall into Reading Challenge, but I think I’ll probably try this one anyway!

  16. give books away? I dont think i culd do that, though my husband certainly might disagree…enjoy your list sounds like some good ones.

  17. You have authors I recognize and have read on your list but not the titles that are familiar to me – I’ll be interested to hear about them as you finish. Good luck with the challenge!

Comments are closed.