Library Loot 3/18/09

I think I’m a little delusional. Every week I go to the library, returning tons of books, only to leave with more books than I returned. This week is no exception.

fisher

li2bernieres

I was in a food/memoir mood when I put To Begin Again by MFK Fisher on hold. I’ll probably read it for my In Their Shoes Challenge. I’ve heard so many great things about The Vagrants by Yiyun Li that I had to be the first to check it out at my library. I’m one of those book geeks who follow online book tournaments like the Tournament of Books hosted by Powell’s Books. When I read how Louis De Bernieres’  A Partisan’s Daughter won in a match against Joseph O’Neill’s Netherland, I added both books to my list.

weatherill

christensenfox

Cat Weatherill’s Wild Magic is a retelling of the Pied Piper tale. and on my Young Adult Challenge list. Michele at Reading is Breathing recommended The Epicure’s Lament. I’m currently reading books about books so I added Reading Magic by Mem Fox to the list.

ng Steer Toward Rock by Fae Myenne Ng lost against Bolano’s 2666 in the first round of the tournament but I’m still reading it.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Library Loot. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Library Loot 3/18/09

  1. Eva says:

    All of those books look GREAT! And I have a delusional relationship with my library too.🙂 At least it’s free, right?

  2. vivienne says:

    They look like a fabulous selection of books. I really like the look of The Vagrants – would like to know more about it.

  3. Samantha says:

    I am the same way! I always grab way too many books but it makes me happy so I quit worrying about it. Plus, once I read everyone’s library loot posts I want to add more holds at the library🙂

  4. Nymeth says:

    Oooh, I want Wild Magic! Beautiful cover and a fairy tale retelling? How am I to resist?

  5. iliana says:

    We are both delusional – I do the same thing🙂

    I’m curious about the Berniers book. I read Captain Corelli’s Mandolin years ago and loved it but then I tried another of his books and couldn’t really get into it. Hope you’ll get to it and can tell us all about it!

  6. Vasilly says:

    Eva: Being free really helps my pocket!

    Vivienne: I read the summary of it and it sounded perfect!

    Samantha: I agree! Once I read every posts, I always add more books to check out! I try not to feel guilty if I return books unread.

    Go for it, Nymeth!

    Iliana: I’ve never read Berniers before so I hope I enjoy it.

  7. Gavin says:

    Ooh, I have to add the Fisher book to my list. I’m curious to hear what you think of A Partisan’s Daughter. Aren’t libraries great?

  8. fleurfisher says:

    Nothing I’ve read but they look like great books. Enjoy!

Comments are closed.