Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon!

2nd Update- Hour 14

Mid-Event Survey:

1. What are you reading right now? I started Smarter Faster Better by Charles Duhigg pre-readathon, so I think I’ll finish it now.
2. How many books have you read so far? 2 I recently finished both books from the Delilah Dirk series by Tony Cliff and an essay, Justin Cronin’s “My Daughter and God”.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Hmmm. That’s a good question.  I think it’s the latest volume of The Wicked + the Divine.
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? Oh my God. I’ve had so many including a kid falling and scrapping their nose and lip. But that’s life for you. I’ve just dealt with it all and read when I could.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? I think the cheering on Twitter. There are so many people tweeting about the readathon guys!!! It’s amazing! I love it.

If you’re doing the readathon today, how’s your reading going? If you’re not, how’s your evening coming along?

1st Update

IMG_1289

Piper decided to do the readathon with me. Her first book? Secret Paris. It’s about all the places tourists don’t know about and should visit. Her dream is to go to Paris in a few years.

17261174

I’m still on my first book, Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant by Tony Cliff. I’m almost finished and ready to dive into The Best American Essays 2015 edited by Ariel Levy.

DEWEYs

I’m up, y’all. Barely, but I’m up. With a 5 a.m. start time, it’s a tad harder for me to get up than most read-a-thon participants. I’m currently sitting in bed, next to a sleeping nine month-old and listening to my coffeepot go off.

Opening meme:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Southern California
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? Hmmmm. Maybe the Delilah Dirk series by Tony Cliff. I have so many graphic novels in my stack, that I’m hoping to get through all of them.
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? Sadly, I haven’t gone to the store yet.
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I’m a mom of four who dreams of being a librarian one day. Plus, I’ve participated in most of the read-a-thons since the very first one years ago.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? The one thing I’ll do differently is PARTICIPATE! Life took over last time and I didn’t get a single book read.

Happy reading!

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Readathon, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon!

  1. I’M SO GLAD YOU’RE WITH US!!!!❤ –Andi

  2. Suey says:

    We got up at 6 our time and are STRUGGLING! I think we should have slept in this time…. good luck to you!

  3. BermudaOnion says:

    I’m sure you’ll rock it today!

  4. Megan says:

    I’d love to go to Paris in a few years myself! Readathonning without snacks? You poor soul!😉

  5. Sharlene says:

    Haha yeah 5 was a struggle previous readathons but somehow I was up at 430 today!! Hope you got hold of some snacks!

  6. Good luck and have fun today!!!

  7. Kailana says:

    I hope the readathon goes well!

  8. Care says:

    Hey HEY hey! GO PIPER.
    Which team are you on? I’m sooo late to the party but I’m partying on… READ! READ READ READ

  9. I liked the cheering on Twitter too. I wasn’t officially a cheerleader, but I think if I was that would have been a LOT easier than leaving blog comments. I hope they keep that up next year.

  10. joyweesemoll says:

    I love that Piper has discovered the wonders of planning a trip years before you’ll ever manage to go. I wish I’d done that in high school — it would have made lots of classes much more fun. I’ve learned more about geography, history, literature, art, and music by dreaming about trips than I ever learned in classes.

  11. Looks like you were having a blast with the readathon!! I love the photo of Piper reading! I had to work, but maybe I’m going to have to take a vacation day next year because I really love reading all the posts and would just love to do it!!

    And now I’m going to have to check out Secret Paris! I would love to go to Paris too!

    Have a great week!

  12. heidenkind says:

    I think I need to read Secret Paris! It sounds like you guys read some very awesome books.

  13. Chris says:

    Secret Paris sounds good. I hope she liked it! Twitter is huge for Readathon. Thanks for the blog visit!

  14. Michelle says:

    I hope you had a most excellent Saturday/readathon!

  15. stacybuckeye says:

    I don’t know how you manage to read at all with 4 kids! But sleeping 9 month olds are so beautiful🙂

Comments are closed.