Sunday Salon – April 17, 2016

 

Time: // 11:39 a.m.

The scene: // It’s a quiet Sunday morning as half the house has gone shopping and the baby is asleep.

It’s been so long since my last post, but that’s just life right now. At first, I felt guilty for not being able to blog and read more. Now? I’m okay with it. Sooner or later, I’ll find a balance. In the meantime, I’m squeezing books in when I can and enjoying life with a crawling, giggling, headstrong, adventurous nine-month old.

Reading: // I actually finished five books last week! Granted, they were short books, but that’s five more than my total for the whole month of March. My two adult reads were The Crossroads of Should and Must: Find and Follow Your Passion by Elle Luna and Sugar Snaps and Strawberries by Andrea Bellamy. Granddaddy’s Turn: A Journey to the Ballot Box by Michael S. Bandy and and Lillian’s Right to Vote by Jonah Winter are two children’s books that deal with African Americans and voting. Snap by Hazel Hutchinson is a fantastic children’s book about the power of creativity.

PicMonkey CollageHave you ever been in the middle of a book and knew that you needed to reread it? I’m not a big re-reader, but that’s what I’m currently going through. Smarter Faster Better by Charles Duhrigg and How to Tutor Your Own Child by Marina Koestler Ruben are my latest reads. I’m finding that I need to go back and reread both books from the beginning, taking notes as I go. There’s just so much information I want to remember. Plus both are worthy of reviews.

When it comes to nonfiction reads, do you take notes or just hope you remember the important points?

The kids and I bought two plots at our local community garden, so Sugar Snaps gave me a lot of much-needed advice. We started planting seeds at the end of January and until this morning, we had two overgrowing beds filled with veggies. The kids planted so many different seeds that I don’t even remember what everything is.  We’ll do better next time.

IMG_2422

Avram checking out his peas.

 

I would post more pictures, but WordPress doesn’t want to behave itself.

Almost forgot about: // Dewey’s Read-a-thon!! Can you believe it? There’s no way that I’m going to be able to read as much as I want to on Saturday, so I’m thinking about spreading my reading over the next few days and just cheer on Saturday. We’ll see.

What are you up to today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunday Salon – April 17, 2016

  1. Molly says:

    nine months old already?! Oh my, time does fly!

    Your reading for the week is astounding, considering all the other responsibilities you manage. But it sounds like you are pacing yourself and enjoying this stage of life. KUDOS🙂

    Now I must go check out The Crossroads of Should and Must…

  2. readerbuzz says:

    Love the photo of your son. A garden is such fun. I had my first garden when my children were young and I could ask my grandma and dad questions. This year’s garden is probably close to my thirtieth spring garden. It may be my best.

    Granddaddy’s Turn and Lillian’s Right to Vote were both excellent reads, I thought.

    The Crossroads of Should and Must? I should…no, I must check it out.

  3. I love the photo of your son too! And I love the idea of a community garden! There is one in our area, but I have no idea how they allot them. Right now we don’t have any place to actually plant, but we have a strip of land that we have placed 5 gallon buckets filled with soil and we plant in them. Last year we got a banner amount of veggies. And even if we didn’t it would still be fun!

    Please post photos as the garden grows! I’d love to see it!

    Have a great week!

  4. BermudaOnion says:

    I can’t believe your baby is 9 months old already!! What a fun age! If I read non-fiction in print, I will put Post-It flags on passages but have never thought to take notes.

  5. joyweesemoll says:

    I had Smarter Faster Better on my TBR, but I just moved it to the top of the list! Taking notes is a struggle for me — especially when I read in the bathtub. Usually, I put in post-it notes and hope that I remember why I marked that passage when I get back to it.

  6. Kailana says:

    Glad to hear things are well and see a post from you!

  7. I posted today after an absence from blogging for a while too. With nonfiction I just hope to remember the facts that are most interesting and let the rest go. If I were reading something that I needed to remember (like when I was in school) I would definitely need to take notes for names and dates. The community garden plots sound like a lot of fun!

  8. Aww, that’s adorable that y’all are doing gardening together! I hope everything comes up and is edible if it’s supposed to be. (I confess that my own youthful gardening endeavors just produced a lot of things I didn’t like. Such as tomatoes. So easy to grow. So unappetizing to a nine-year-old.)

    I rarely take notes as I’m reading nonfiction unless it’s for research. I’ll sometimes toss a few notes into a WordPress draft post to make sure I don’t forget everything before it comes time to post a review. But that’s it! I depend on my brain to salvage the good bits!

  9. heidenkind says:

    That garden looks awesome! Hope to see you during the Readathon🙂

  10. “The kids planted so many different seeds that I don’t even remember what everything is. We’ll do better next time.”<—Nah, how could you do better than that kind of enthusiasm?!! You'll figure out what everything is as it bears it's edible treasures, right?🙂 So love that picture of Avram!!!
    And it sounds like you've been doing some awesome reading! How was The Crossroads of Should and Must? The title has me very intrigued! I hope you find lots of moments to sneak in your readathon reading this week, and I hope to see you on Saturday! Dewey's Readathon would not be the same without you!

    • Vasilly says:

      Oh I have missed you! I’ve been thinking about you so often? How are you? I need to send you and Care a letter. Have you started counting down until the end of the school year like I’m starting to?🙂

      I have no idea what some of the plants are since I’m a beginner! Once everything ripens, I guess we’ll know what we have then!🙂

      The Crossroads of Should and Must was short and sweet with some fantastic quotes. It’s a perfect Readathon book. I can’t wait to see you on Saturday!

      >

  11. Kristen M. says:

    So many lovely things going on in your life! I don’t know where the time goes but if it’s filled with growing things (plants AND kiddos) then you are doing it right.🙂

  12. How can she be 9 months old already?? The garden sounds like a wonderful adventure… love the photo.

  13. Akilah says:

    YAY. So good to see an update from you! Love the pics, love knowing that you and the kids are doing well.

  14. Beth F says:

    How cool that you have a garden going! What a great family project.

  15. bybeebooks says:

    So glad you were able to readathon, and with a baby, too! You are wonderful. I didn’t sign up, but I peeked in via Twitter and finished one book. I miss the Readathon starting at 9 pm Saturday night, my previous time zone.

  16. Care says:

    Yay! I was not at my best on Saturday as a cheered but hopefully I will do better in October. Loved this post!
    Oh that title of Should vs Must. I feel like I park on that intersection all the time. Park and not choose-turn-GO. Sigh

Comments are closed.