Sunday Salon

Time: // 8:27 a.m.

The scene: // I’m currently sitting at my kitchen table, holding Gigi, and drinking a cup of coffee as I type this post. The sun is shining brightly into my window and I still can’t believe my luck.

Almost three weeks ago, I received a call about an available townhouse in a complex that I’ve been hoping to move into for years. Within hours of the call, my family and I were moving in. According to my nine year old, I went through the townhouse screaming with joy. I don’t remember that, but I can say that the past few weeks have been wonderful.

Reading: // Ruth Reichl’s My Kitchen Year has been sitting on my nightstand unread since last week. Instead, I’ve been diving into Lumberjanes since Scribd have more current issues. If you haven’t started reading this series, you need to start.

It is so hard trying to find time to read with a small child. You would think I would’ve remembered that since I’m the mother of four, but it’s funny how time can make the early years of motherhood a blur. I’m trying to make reading a daily habit, but it’s been a struggle. For now, cookbooks, graphic novels, and short reads are in my future.

Today: // and tomorrow I’m unpacking the last boxes and putting everything in its place. Is it me or is it crazy how long it takes to fully unpack a house? I might watch snippets of today’s football game, but it’ll be while folding clothes or doing housework.

Loving:// the new place.

Hating: // nothing right now! Life is good!

Making: // Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake. My home wouldn’t be complete without it.

What are you up to this beautiful Sunday?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. livritome says:

    Sounds like a very good Sunday! For me: finishing a book, blogging about it, and financial reports for alumni association. Tonight: Super Bowl party with the kids!

  2. Congratulations, Natasha, on the new place. Sounds great. This afternoon, I’m reading Alexander Hamilton for a Super Bowl Readathon, but tonight Kim and I are watching the game with our neighbors.

  3. dastevensish says:

    This post just made me so incredibly happy!!! Congrats on your new place!!! (And sometime when you have a spare moment–and I realize those don’t show up all too often with a babe–could you email me your new address?)

  4. iliana says:

    Congratulations on your new home! We’ve been in our house for six years now and I may have a couple of boxes still unpacked! ha…. Wishing you lots of happy memories in your new home🙂

  5. Congratulations on the move! Each time I have a baby I somehow think “this one will be easy, I’ve done it before” and it really isn’t because their little quirks and personalities are so different. You’ll be back to reading soon. Enjoy those baby cuddles!

  6. readerbuzz says:

    Oh, I’m so happy for you! And I’m glad to see you posting, even if it’s just an occasional thing. We have missed you.

  7. BermudaOnion says:

    Congratulations! I can just picture you running through the townhouse screaming with joy!!!

  8. heidenkind says:

    Congrats on the new house! I know you’ve been looking for a new place for a while. I can’t believe you were moving within hours!

  9. Congratulations on your new home… so exciting!! I’m very happy for you🙂

  10. Great news about your new place! As for how long unpacking takes, I’ve found stuff unpacked when packing again for the next place, LOL

  11. Kristen M. says:

    Congratulations! You deserve this goodness.🙂

  12. olduvai says:

    A new place! How exciting! Congratulations!

  13. Care says:

    SQUEEEEEE! Exciting. I have a letter to you, well, not quite a letter YET but a card (still unwritten in) and an envelope with only your name on it… so, I will wait til you either tell me “go ahead, mail will be forwarding” or you send me the new address.😀

  14. Athira says:

    Yay! What wonderful news! I am so glad to hear about your new townhouse. I can just imagine you squeeing through your new place!

  15. Beth F says:

    YAYAYAYAYAYAYAY on the house. Sooooooo hapy for you.

  16. Aw, Natasha, that’s amazing! Huge, huge congratulations on the new place! I hope it’s exactly what you wanted. Hugs!

  17. Trish says:

    Congratulations on the new place Natasha!! Sounds very exciting and it’s always fun to make a new place your own. I hope you all settle in quickly (and yes…all the stuff! The thought of moving sends me into a panic attack).

    Reading comes and goes for me these days–some months it’s just my stack of magazines that I’ll open up during Saturday/Sunday breakfast while the girls play. I’m in the habit of taking quiet time during the weekends and reading then, but more often than not I just fall asleep!! Enjoy Gigi’s snuggles!🙂

  18. joyweesemoll says:

    Yay! That all sounds wonderful. I think we still have boxes that aren’t unpacked from the last move (nine years ago!).

  19. Stefanie says:

    Congratulations on the new place! Also that cheesecake sounds delicious!

  20. kay says:

    I’m so happy for you! This is such great news for you and your family.
    I really want to read Lumberjanes, but I’ve been trying not to dive into too many comic series at once. Right now, I’m reading Saga. Lumberjanes is definitely on my list though!

  21. Michelle says:

    That is just so, so cool! I am so happy for you and your family! Enjoy your new place, and have another piece of cheesecake for me!

  22. Oh, this is such a beautiful post. I am so glad I discovered your blog.🙂 Many congratulations on moving to the new place.

    I love ‘Lumberjanes’ too.

    I am in awe of all the mothers, who still manage to create time to read.🙂 I look forward to reading most posts here.

  23. The Cue Card says:

    Congrats on the new place! Give yourself a break about reading when things & times are busy.

Comments are closed.