Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon is here!!!!

Okay, I wasn’t going to join today’s read-a-thon, but changed my mind at the last minute. It’s not easy missing this event and I can’t help but miss Dewey more on read-a-thon day. She was such an amazing person.  So here I am 5 o’clock in the morning with a fresh cup of coffee and an energetic three month old in my arms. I don’t know much reading I’m going to be able to get done, but that’s okay. I’m just going to read and think of Dewey.

My stack:

IMG_0439

  • The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman (fairy tale retelling)
  • The Autobiography of Malcolm X (memoir)
  • A House of My Own by Sandra Cisneros (memoir)
  • The Wrath and the Dawn by Rene Ahdieh (fairy tale retelling)
  • A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman (YA)
  • The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls (memoir)
  • March Vols. 1 and 2 by John Lewis (graphic memoir)
  • not pictured: Mycroft Holmes by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Sherlock retelling?) and anything interesting that I can find on Scribd

Introduction Survey
1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Southern California

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? There’s so many interesting books in my stack and it’s hard to choose just one. Maybe the Arabian Nights retelling The Wrath and the Dawn by Rene Ahdieh.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? For the first time ever, I don’t have many snacks. I’ll probably just eat granola bars. Boring I know.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself! For the past eight years, I’ve been blogging. I even participated in the very first read-a-thon with Dewey. Plus, I’m a mother of four kids ages 14, 12, 10, and 3 months.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?  The most important thing is to always have fun.

I’m off to read! Are you joining today’s read-a-thon?

Goodreads Update

Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of ImaginationVery Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination by J.K. Rowling
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

#readathon

View all my reviews

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon is here!!!!

  1. olduvai says:

    Yay! I’m glad you’ve jumped in! And that is an awesome lot of books. Happy Readathon!

  2. Memory says:

    Granola bars aren’t boring. They’re the food of the gods!

    (Says me, who chose to buy mini Snickers bars instead.)

  3. Care says:

    SWEEEEET! I’m hanging out on Twitter (of course) *\0/*

  4. Megan says:

    Yay! So glad you popped in at the last moment! I remember that very first readathon. I didn’t read, but I was part of the original crop of cheerleaders. I still follow so many people’s blogs that I discovered during that first readathon. It kinda gives me the warm fuzzies about Dewey, the Readathon, and everything. Hope you have a great day of reading! =D

  5. Trish says:

    So glad you decided to join in!!! It’s fun to see so many familiar faces–especially people who I originally really connected with in readathons of past. Have fun today!

  6. readerbuzz says:

    After seeing Cisneros in Houston last week, I’m dying to read her new memoir. Wish so badly I’d bought a copy when I had a chance. Hope you are enjoying it.

    Glad you joined in today!

  7. Glad you decided to join in! I was only able to drop in for a few hours yesterday morning, but what a great event. I hope you’re sleeping now🙂

  8. Athira says:

    Energetic 3-month old? Yes! So hard to read nowadays, but so much fun. I’m glad you decided to do this event however. I may have done too if I didn’t have some errands to run yesterday.

  9. heidenkind says:

    Did you get to A Study In Scarlet?

  10. kay says:

    I miss joining Read-a-thons, but for the last few years they always coincide with other things! But I always enjoy seeing what others will/have read. I hope you had fun, that’s a great stack of books!

Comments are closed.