Looking Forward to October and #15in31

Well I was looking forward to October. I received some bad news yesterday, so we’ll see what happens with the rest of the month.

September had its good moments. My oldest son, Oliver, decided (at the last minute) to go back to public school. That means that days before the first day of school, I was running around trying to buy what’s left of school uniforms and registering him for his school of choice. He didn’t get in, but he’s pretty content with the school he was transferred to. I’m content with him being at school. It’s one less kid to worry about or have to make lesson plans for. Avram, my youngest son, hates that his brother is gone during the day, but is getting used to the whole idea.

I didn’t read as much as I wanted to last month. I was in a heck of a reading rut, but the few books I read were pretty good. The month’s best books were:

22749725

Jackaby by William Ritter (supernatural mystery)
Beastly Bones by William Ritter (supernatural mystery)
Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans by Don Brown (graphic nonfiction)
The Great American Dust Bowl by Don Brown (graphic nonfiction)

If you haven’t read the last two books, please put them on your library holds list now. You won’t regret it.

15in31

Andi (Estella’s Revenge) came up with a fantastic idea. She’s hosting a challenge called #15in31, where she tries to read 15 books during the 31 days of October. I’m still weeding books from my bookshelves, so I decided to join Andi. At least then I can say that I read some of the books I got rid of. I doubt I’ll get anywhere close to reading 15 books this month, but I want to try. Some of the books on my stack includes:

Rereads

2213661

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman and The Ocean at The End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman . After reading both books, I was sure I liked them but not sure if I loved them. I’m hoping with a reread, I’ll figure out if I want to keep them or not. I may squeeze in my favorite Gaiman of all, American Gods.

The Night Circus is a book that I’ve been meaning to read to my daughter for ages. Now is the perfect time with it being fall. As anyone listened to it on audio? How is it?

New Books

23566909
Marvels by Brain Selznick. I loved The Invention of Hugo Cabret and enjoyed Wonderstruck. Selnick has a wonderful imagination and reading his stories and looking at his illustrations is always a good way to spend a few hours.

18798983
The Wrath & the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. This retelling of Arabian Nights has been receiving so many positive reviews. I can’t wait to start reading.

22487952
March Vol. 2 by John Lewis. If you haven’t read the first volume of March, you need to start soon. My only complaint about the first volume is that it’s too short. March is a powerful trilogy about Lewis’s rise in the Civil Rights Movement.

25147754
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates. This book has been on my tbr shelf for too long.

So that’s just a few of the books I’m reading this month. What are you looking forward to in October?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Monthly goals, reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Looking Forward to October and #15in31

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    I hope the bad news isn’t too bad and October rocks for you.

  2. I’m thinking about joining this challenge too. I still haven’t read March Book 2 and loved March Book 1 (recommended it today in a post on graphic novels, in fact), and I just started Ta-Nehisi Coates’s book this morning.

  3. I want to get hold of the Dan Brown graphic nonfiction books you mentioned.
    Sorry about the bad news, hope it ends up working out😦

  4. dastevensish says:

    So sorry about the bad news. *HUGE HUGS*
    Wow…I’m sure it was sort of bittersweet having Oliver decide to go back to public school, huh? I’m still in total awe of you doing all the planning and prep for three kids! But as much as you must be thankful for the cut in your workload, you must also be a bit sad, huh?
    Hope your month of reading is spectacular, whether you hit that 15 book goal or not!

  5. heidenkind says:

    I hope the bad news isn’t too serious! I listened to part of The Night Circus on audio and dnf’d it. To me it was really repetitive.

  6. Athira says:

    Hope the bad news isn’t too bad!

    Love the books you have on your list. I do need to read March. I TBR’d it during the last few months of my pregnancy, so I never really got to it yet. I will have to look for it now. I haven’t listened to the The Night Circus – wonder how it will be. I loved the book. I also want to check out Marvels. Hope you read a lot in October!

  7. Beth F says:

    Hang in there! Interesting that your son decided to go to public school. Glad he likes it.

  8. Can’t wait to hear what you think of The Marvels! And I’m really excited to get to the second book of March, too. It’s so great that you’re letting your kids choose what’s best for them when it comes to school, even if it means so much extra work or big changes on your end.

  9. aartichapati says:

    The Hurricane Katrina book sounds like it would be a really good (if depressing) read. Have you listened to the TAL podcast abou the 9th ward ten years later? It’s quite good.

    The cover of the Arabian Nights retelling is beautiful!

  10. I hope life gets better sorry to hear of your troubles. How exciting for your son to try public school. Exciting and nervewracking. Good luck with your #15in31 goal!

  11. iliana says:

    Hope things get better! I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned although I’m very curious about the graphic nonfiction books. Hope the challenge helps you get out of the reading rut and takes your mind off of your worries.

  12. Aw, I’m sorry you’ve had bad news. I hope it gets mitigated as much as possible, as the month goes on. HUG.

Comments are closed.