It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s been too long since my last post. I’ve missed you all so much! The baby’s sleep, so let’s see if I can write and post this before she wakes up.

PicMonkey Collage
I actually read a book last week! It’s such an amazing feeling when you finish a book after such a long period of doing everything but reading. Last week, I received a copy of William Ritter’s Jackaby and his newest book, Beastly Bones. I dove into Jackaby and finished it in a day. The book has been described as “Sherlock Holmes crossed with Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and it kind of fits. I just started Beastly Bones and I plan on finishing it soon.

Now that I’m reading again, I want to be ambitious and make a reading list for the week. Up next, I hope to read The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander with Shannon (River City Reading). If I’m lucky (I probably won’t be), I’m including Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman and X: A Novel by Ilyasah Shabazz.

What are you reading this week?

 

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in It's Monday, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. We’ve missed you, too! Glad you are finding some time to read… blogging while the baby sleeps could be tricky though😉

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    I’ve heard several people rave about Jackaby and want to give it a try one day. It’s nice to have you back!

  3. Michelle says:

    Oh, I LOVED Jackaby! I tried to get a copy of Beastly Bones but was declined. Boo. It is just a fun series!

  4. heidenkind says:

    Sherlock crossed with BtVS sounds amaaaaaaaazing.

    I couldn’t sleep last night so I spent the night reading Austenland. It seems like the only time I get any reading done is when I have insomnia.

  5. Athira says:

    Glad that you are able to read! Blogging is a huge challenge for me – I end up using the time the baby sleeps to knit, so there goes my writing time.

  6. readerbuzz says:

    I must pass along your recommendation to a fellow Sherlock Holmes/vampire reader. Happy you were able to finish a book.

    Here’s my Fall TBR!

  7. Kristen M. says:

    Jackaby would definitely be a good book to break a slump! I definitely want to reread it before I read Beastly Bones.
    I just finished the new Gregory Maguire book, After Alice, and it was disappointing and took me ages to read — quite a bummer for one of my favorite authors writing about one of my favorite stories. I need my next book to be awesome. Maybe I’ll just start in on that Jackaby reread!

  8. Megan says:

    Good to see you and glad to hear you’re enjoying reading again! 🙂

  9. aartichapati says:

    I was so happy to see you posting on my blog, and I am thrilled to see you reading!

    About The New Jim Crow – there was a really interesting article in the New Yorker recently that I think would be a great companion piece. I haven’t read the book yet, but I think you would like the contrast of the book with the article:
    http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2015/09/14/body-count-a-critic-at-large-kelefa-sanneh

  10. iliana says:

    Hope the baby is finding her sleeping rhythm! Those covers for the Ritter books are great. Haven’t read them but am intrigued. Looking forward to your thoughts on them.

  11. I come to this post very belatedly but: How did you like Jackaby? Sounds like it was generally a win for you? I started reading it from the library a while ago and wasn’t immediately enthralled, but do I maybe just need to persist?

Comments are closed.