Sunday Salon

sunday salon

Time and scene: // It’s 7:53 am and already it’s 73 degrees. It feels hotter than that. Fall needs to come already. I’m ready for pumpkin muffins, stews, and El Niño.

Most of the house is asleep, so I’m taking this quiet time to write my first post in weeks. It’s been so long since I’ve had a new baby that I’m relearning certain things all over again. One of them is that there’s never enough time in a day. Between homeschooling and taking care of Gigi, along with regular household duties, there’s always a huge list of things that don’t get done. I’m finally becoming more okay with that. It drives me crazy that my house can be a mess or that I’m not reading much, but for now, it’s the norm.

Reading: // nothing! Sadly, I haven’t read anything in over a week. I went to the library and checked out a ton of books so maybe something will catch my eye. If I can, I’ll post my library loot in a few days.

Thankful for: // all the birthday wishes and congratulations! My birthday was celebrated with cake and being taken out for dinner.

I’m also thankful for the fact that I found a new place! I’ve been searching a long time for a decent place that’s bigger and in my price range. Now I’m waiting for a unit to become available which can take months. I’m so eager to move that I’ve already started packing. I’ve lived in the same place for ten years now, but it’s time to go. As I type this, my next door neighbor is currently blaring The Bee Gees. Did I mention that he’s singing along at the top of his lungs?

Waiting for: // Carl’s R.I.P. Challenge to start! I don’t have a list yet, but the kids and I are planning on participating.

Now: // I’m off to start my day.

What have you been up to? What are you currently reading?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    I bet you’re worn out but it will all pay off in the end.

  2. Debi says:

    Woman, you are my idol. You know that, right? I seriously don’t know how you do it all–I can’t imagine homeschooling with an infant to take care of too! I really, truly can’t. You’ve totally got the right attitude–there’s only so much time in a day and focusing on the things that really matter is the only way to spend that time.
    So happy for you that you found a new place! I hope you don’t have to wait too long for an opening. I’d be packing already if I was you too.😀

    • Vasilly says:

      Idol?! Lady, you’re my idol?! I’ve been meaning to email you for homeschooling advice when it comes to high school and everything else!!

      I think I need to cull some more and then keep packing. I can’t wait to move!

  3. Gosh, you have your hands full, but it sounds like you’re still so dang productive! I hope a unit comes open for you soon, and I’m also SO READY for RIP!

  4. Michelle says:

    Fingers crossed you can get into that new place sooner rather than later! Also, I am so impressed with the fact that you are homeschooling with an infant in the house. That requires more patience and energy than I think I have ever had. You amaze me!

  5. readerbuzz says:

    Happy you were able to find a new place! Don’t worry about reading now…there will be time for that later.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon!

  6. Care says:

    CHEERS! Guess I better get that letter written that is spinning in my head… I *almost* bought your Gigi the cutest ever lil onesie with a lobster on it, but thought better of it. BUT! Something fun will be in the mail soon (I hope?!) Wishing you only the best.

  7. Congratulations on finding a new place, although you could be listening to polka from your neighbor, right?😉

    As for what I’m doing and reading, well, you were over at my blog already today so you know.🙂 Doing: nap earlier today and now reading A Loyal Character Dancer by Qui Xiaolong (sp? not looking up right now), which I’m enjoying. Probably NCIS later (shock of shocks).

  8. It’s a wonder you get any time for reading or cleaning or brushing your teeth!😉 You are one of the most organized people I know! Congrats on the new place! And enjoy all those hectic little moments too!

  9. Athira says:

    I only have the one kid so I’ve been able to read. I’m very sure that when the second comes along, my reading will suffer big time! I return to work next week so I’m eager to see what my new normal will be like. I’m glad to see that you are getting set into a new routine. Hopefully soon, more reading will be a part of it.

  10. My first step to “letting go” after Persy Jane was born was to ignore the baseboards. I just clean when I can and then say to heck with it. You enjoy those baby cuddles! I’m currently reading East of Eden and it is sooooo good!

  11. Kristen M. says:

    You sound like you’re doing a great job and have your priorities straight.🙂
    I’m finishing up To Kill a Mockingbird so that I can start my RIP reading this week! Z finally starts school this week too (sixth grade!) on Weds so I’m trying to get mentally prepped for that. The years just fly by. You’re kind of lucky to be starting again with Gigi.
    Have a great week!

  12. heidenkind says:

    Oh no I missed your birthday! I’m sorry. Happy belated birthday❤

  13. “It’s already 73 degrees.” HA. It barely gets as low as 72 degrees at midnight here. But I verrrrry much second your desire for autumn. I am so, so ready for it.

  14. Rachel B says:

    I’m really looking forward to Carl’s event too.😀 Congrats on finding a new home. I know how time-consuming babies can be. My sister has a 15 month old and a newborn!

  15. buriedinprint says:

    So glad you’ve had a good birthday, and that you enjoyed a trip to the library (sometimes it’s just nice to bring the books by, isn’t it). Good luck with the move. I hope you’ve got lots more room for bookshelves now!

Comments are closed.