Sunday Salon: My favorite books of June

Time: // 2:05 p.m.

The scene: // For the first time ever, I am days past my due date. I’m calm about it, while the rest of my family are on eggshells waiting for the new arrival. She’ll come when she comes. In the meantime, I’m going to enjoy my time and just read and do any last minute things.

June: // was an okay month for reading. I don’t what happened. I checked out many books from the library and even read books from Scribd, but there just wasn’t enough “yes!” books. You know the type of book where you want to grab the nearest person and make them read it? Those. Some standouts from last month includes:

21561039

Dreaming in Indian: Contemporary Native American Voices edited by Lisa Charleyboy. I spoke about this anthology last week. It’s good to see current work by indigenous people, especially young people. We need more books like this one.

lynchThe Amazing Age of John Roy Lynch by Chris Barton and Don Tate. I’m always on the lookout for good nonfiction to share with my kids. Plus, nonfiction picture books are a great way of learning about people and events that you wouldn’t have known about otherwise. John Roy Lynch spent most of his childhood a slave until about the age of fifteen. After that, he took on a number of jobs before becoming a portrait photographer, then a justice of the peace, and finally elected into Congress in a matter of a decade. Lynch’s life was pretty inspirational.

22749711

Drum Dream Girl: How One Girl’s Courage Changed Music by Margarita Engle. This was another inspirational nonfiction picture book. Decades ago, Cuba had this taboo against women playing the drums or becoming a drummer. As a young girl, Millo Castro Zaldarriaga wanted nothing more than to play the drums. It was her passion. Finally, her father relented and got her a teacher who believed that Millo was one of the best drummers he met. The young girl took off and even started an all-girl band with her older sisters, becoming world famous.

23885342

Blueprint Homeschooling: How to Plan a Year of Home Education That Fits the Reality of Your Life by Amy Knepper. With school starting in a little bit over a month, Blueprint Homeschooling was just the book I needed to help me plan the upcoming year. Knepper takes readers step-by-step through planning a whole school year in a matter of weeks. I found the book to be so helpful and it makes things less overwhelming. It was also refreshing to see her mention resources that beginner and veteran homeschoolers can use.

19351043

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. The basics: a kick-ass young girl who loves to kill and is the sidekick to a local villain. Plus, she’s a shapeshifter. If you haven’t read this book already, you should. It’s much more than it seems. Noelle Stevenson can’t produce things fast enough for me.

Now you know my favorites books of June. What were yours?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading, Sunday Salon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Sunday Salon: My favorite books of June

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    I like nonfiction children’s books as a fast way to learn a little something. And, I don’t even have kids!

    We’re going to Cuba in the fall, so I requested Drum Dream Girl from the library. We’ve been watching Cuban movies and there’s definitely a lot of drumming going on! Cuban music is wonderful.

  2. readerbuzz says:

    I love Chris Barton (Shark vs. Train!) and Don Tate (Ron’s Big Mission!) so I am quite sure I’ll love this new book from them.

    Can’t wait to hear about the arrival of your new baby!

    readerbuzz.blogspot.com

  3. Anne says:

    I hope all goes well with your labor and delivery and this next week brings a healthy baby into your lives. I have and have wanted to read Dreaming in Indian. So now I am more determined than ever to read it soon.

  4. iliana says:

    Oh wow, it’s almost time for you to meet your new little one! Hoping all goes well for you!

  5. BermudaOnion says:

    Waiting for a new little one is so exciting! I know everyone will be happy to meet her.

    • Vasilly says:

      We’re all so expected. The waiting part is killing the kids, but they’re being good sports by making bets on her arrival.🙂

  6. Molly Totoro says:

    Praying for the safe arrival of this sweet little girl. I am anxious to hear the news and see her precious face🙂

  7. heidenkind says:

    I want to go to Cuba… Anyway, I hope the birth goes well and your baby’s happy and healthy.

  8. Beth F says:

    Looking forward to welcoming your new little one! I loved Nimona too!

  9. Nimona is everywhere right now. Looking forward to your good news!🙂

  10. Michelle says:

    You are in my thoughts as we all await news of your little girl! Wishing you a painless and easy delivery!!

  11. Trisha says:

    I really want to pick up Nimona, but I have so many unread books that it’s quite possibly a sin against nature for me to acquire any more. Thinking of you and the (not yet here) new one!

  12. Drum Dream Girl sounds great😀 (I need to get some small kids around here so I have an excuse to read those type of books!)

    I absolutely loved Nimona. It was different than I expected. Great read! Noelle Stevenson can do no wrong.

    • Vasilly says:

      Just act like you have little kids at home! LOL!

      Yes about Nimona! It wasn’t what I expected either and the ending was fantastic.

  13. dastevensish says:

    Oh my gosh, but do you have the right attitude! I don’t think I could ever be so calm and collected waiting for an overdue arrival.🙂 Hope everything goes smoothly, and that you’re soon holding your newest bundle of love in your arms soon!
    And now I am off to see if the library has Blueprint Schooling–sounds like a book I could have used 10 years ago, and could still desperately use today!

    • Vasilly says:

      If your library doesn’t have Blueprint Schooling, you can use my Scribd link to read it for free. https://www.scribd.com/g/7271v Surprisingly, Scribd has a TON of homeschooling books.

      Thanks for the well wishes. I’m using Gigi’s late arrival to relax and get some school things done.

  14. Yayyyyy to Nimona! Noelle Stevenson announced a new series she’ll be working on, and she described it as if Audrey Plaza were interning for Gandalf. So that sounds GREAT of course.

  15. Athira says:

    I just went for my 39 week appointment and it doesn’t look like this little one wants to come out either. Oh bummer. She’ll come when she’s ready. Those are definitely some great looking reads. My reading has slowed down considerably lately. I’m finding it pretty hard to focus on a book right now.

  16. Belle Wong says:

    I’m so excited for you! I’m in the middle of reading Nimona – it’s been very popular around here, with both of my sons reading it before me.

  17. kay says:

    Oh! I’m wishing you the very best with this new little one – whenever she arrives!🙂

  18. Kristen M. says:

    I’m hoping baby is here by now. I got stuck in The Crimson Petal and the White for most of June so I’m reading a lot of fun shorter books in July to make up for it! Right now is Anansi Boys which I am, predictably. loving.🙂

  19. Is it baby madness as I write this comment? I love your favourites for the month since I’ve never heard of any of them. Dreaming in Indian and Drum Dream Girl look really appealing to me. Drum Dream Girl’s cover looks lovely!

  20. I can’t think of a favorite from June, but my July favorite is The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson.

Comments are closed.