Sunday Salon

sunday salon
Time: // 5:13 a.m.

The scene: // I’m sitting in bed as the house sleeps. Insomnia has hit me pretty hard in the last few weeks, so as usual, I’ve been up for several hours.
Drinking: // water.

Reading: // I read several books last week, mainly children’s books. One that stood out was Dreaming in Indian, an anthology of poetry, essays, and short stories by indigenous youth. The latest volume of the Fables series stood out, but not for the best reasons. I found the sudden turn of events and drastic personality makeovers from the main characters to be disappointing, which is sad since there’s only one volume left in the series.

With my due date fast approaching this week, I really want to read as much as possible. After my daughter’s birth, I know I won’t have the time or energy for much. On my reading stack are:

  • Between the World And Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates (nonfiction)
  • Find the Good by Heather Lende (nonfiction)
  • Goodbye Stranger by Rebecca Stead (middle grade/YA)
  • Rat Queens Vol. 2 –Kurtis J. Wiebe (a reread)
  • Our Kids: The American Dream in Crisis by Robert D. Putnam (nonfiction)
  • Stella by Starlight by Sharon Draper (middle grade)
  • The Martian by Andy Weir (fiction). I’m probably one of the few people who haven’t read this yet. Luckily, The Socratic Salon is having an upcoming read-along for it.

Looking at my list, I notice some adult fiction is missing. I need to change that.

The past few weeks: // have been so emotional for this country. First, there was the Charleston massacre, which is such a horrendous thing. Then, there was the latest Supreme Court rulings. I had no faith in the SCOTUS, but found myself amazed and thankful that the Affordable Care Act was left alone. Then for SCOTUS to decide that marriage equality is now the law of the land?! Omg! Love. Love wins. Love should always win.

Now I’m off: // to have a sip of coffee and read a bit before the kids wake up.

What are your plans for today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. Trish says:

    Hope you’re able to relax as much as possible in the next couple of weeks. I understand the insomnia–I’m always hit with it as well. The Martian is a fun read–I just recommended it to my dad. Hope you enjoy it.

    Take care of yourself! And yes–what a thrill to see the “rainbow” after all of the darkness our country has been experiencing. So much hurt…but a little bit of relief, too. xo

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    I agree – the last few weeks have been so emotional. We just never seem to learn from our tragedies, do we?

    Insomnia stinks – you never realize what a blessing sleep is until it eludes you.

  3. You are so close! I always have a hard time reading after a baby; I have friends who read gobs on maternity leave and I just cannot do it. My brain gets fuzzy and life can feel busy. I hope you get some great rest and reading in before the big day. I need to pickup the Martian before the movie comes out!

    • Vasilly says:

      I’m the same way after having a baby! After the birth of my oldest, I didn’t pick up a book for a year! I can’t let that happen again.

      >

  4. readerbuzz says:

    Yes, hope you can get in some good reading now before life hits. I’m terribly interested in the new Putnam book…I want to read that one when it finally comes in for me.

    http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2015/06/sunday-salon-my-week-in-books.html

  5. Athira says:

    The last few weeks have been making me feel quite emotional as well. It started with reading Lean In, then the Charleston shootings and finally the Supreme Court ruling. I almost cried on Friday out of happiness. I’ve been composing a post in my head since Friday and finally had to type it all out. Things are good for now. Something positive has happened for a change. It’s like watching Game of Thrones and seeing a hated character die.

    Excitedly waiting for the baby here as well. I am so excited that our due dates are very close and that we are both having girls.

    • Vasilly says:

      I know! I love this! Do you feel like this pregnancy is a dream too?🙂

      >

      • Athira says:

        I do. I am still amazed that I am carrying a little one. I try to imagine her all so squished inside and totally struggle with that. It just feels super amazing and unbelievable.

  6. The last few weeks have been SO emotional… in addition, our area is focused on the manhunt for the remaining escaped murderer in upstate NY. Hope you can rest up a little before the baby arrives.

  7. It certainly has been an emotional time for our country and sadly that’s not all going to change as we approach election season, but the SCOTUS rulings have been uplifting for the time being.

    As for me today? Reading Sunday blog posts and others from earlier in the week, and then I don’t know, maybe a nap. It’s such a tough decision whether or not to nap😉. I do know I also will be going for a walk as I’ve been going for a daily walk for all of June so far and am not letting up today even if it means a short walk in the rain.

  8. joyweesemoll says:

    Thinking of you this week as your due date approaches! So excited for you. It’s been an emotional couple of weeks for me, too. Still reeling a bit and trying to figure out what my next steps are in the face of it all.

  9. Love should always win. Absolutely. I wish you all the best bringing your daughter into the world, and hope that the reading fog does not show up for you this time! It can be different each time so keep the faith, and read very,very fast for now just in case.🙂

  10. Laurie C says:

    So exciting! I hope you’ll give yourself a break and only read what you really feel like reading — not what you think you “should” read!

  11. God, yeah, this month has been an emotional rollercoaster. I felt for most of it that we were having more downs than ups, so it was nice to end on a high note with marriage equality. But it doesn’t negate how difficult and infuriating and sad a lot of other stuff has been. I was tearful throughout most of Friday, and when the President sang “Amazing Grace” I just was a mess. Goddammit, nation.

    • Vasilly says:

      Jenny, I was the way with the tears.There’s just so much going on. Sometimes it seems like more than usual, but it isn’t.

  12. Carrie K. says:

    It is so exciting that you have a new little girl arriving soon! I hope you will post pictures on Facebook.🙂

  13. heidenkind says:

    I haven’t read The Martian! I didn’t really want to until I saw the movie trailer. Now I might.

    And I agree, I have no faith in SCOTUS. But this past week they’ve managed not to suck. ❤️💜💙💛💚

  14. Michelle says:

    It has been such an emotional week, hasn’t it? I was shocked and profoundly happy at the SCOTUS rulings last week. I was in the middle of a large theater in conservative Branson, MO surrounded by people with strong conservative leanings, but I still managed to squeal with joy and share the news to anyone who would listen. It was a great day for love!

    Have a wonderful week and enjoy these last few weeks before your daughter’s birth!

  15. Beth F says:

    I couldn’t believe SCOTUS either. Had to keep pinching myself about the two excellent rulings in two days. Enjoy the time before your daughter arrives and then enjoy welcoming her to the world, too.

  16. Anastasia says:

    I haven’t read The Martian, either. Like Tasha, I never really had an interest until the movie trailer came out, lol.

    Sending you good vibes and keeping you and soon-to-be-born baby V in my thoughts!❤

  17. Belle Wong says:

    Yes, #lovewins! And is it this week? So happy for you, Natasha!! You KNOW I’ll be thinking of you all week!

  18. Trisha says:

    America is quite the rollercoaster ride. Thinking of you as you get ready for what I refer to as The Big Hoopla (aka labor, deliver, and month 1).

  19. olduvai says:

    Oh! In the midst of my travels last week I missed your post! I just wanted to wish you the best of luck with the delivery and those tough first few months. Take care of yourself!

Comments are closed.