Sunday Salon: It’s finally summer!

sunday salonTime: // 8:28 a.m.

The scene: // It’s a cold and cloudy Sunday morning, not your typical setting when you think of summer but it feels good.

The last day of school was Friday, so I’m spending the weekend packing up old textbooks, correcting tests, writing my last learning record of the year, and decluttering our homeschooling space. It feels good to have the school year done with. I plan on writing down what went right (and wrong) about this school year, and any new changes I’m thinking about implementing. Lesson planning will start in a few days.

Reading: // I’m currently diving into the middle grade class, Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo with the kids. It’s a fantastic read aloud and I can see why it’s won so many awards.

Participating in: // The 7th Annual #bookaday challenge. The challenge started a little more than a week ago and I decided to join in this summer. I’m hoping to read a ton of books. Well, at least before the baby arrives in early July. You can find the challenge on Instagram and Twitter.

Now I’m off: // to read blog posts.

What are you up to today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sunday Salon: It’s finally summer!

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    Sounds like a great start to the summer!

  2. Molly says:

    LOVE the idea of #bookaday … just a bit scared of the commitment🙂

  3. readerbuzz says:

    I adore Winn-Dixie. A dog who brings people together. Love it.

  4. Yayyyy for summer! Even though it doesn’t feel like it!❤

  5. BermudaOnion says:

    Enjoy your summer!

  6. Hurray for summer! My kids all loved Because of Winn-Dixie.

  7. Heather says:

    We love Kate DiCamillo around here, but haven’t read that one yet. I think I’ll add it to our list for the summer!

  8. heidenkind says:

    It doesn’t feel like summer here, I can tell you that much.

  9. Anastasia says:

    I’ve really been loving this weather lately! Cold in the mornings but warm in the afternoons is my favorite.

    I spent most of today organizing my wishlist shelf on Goodreads. Turns out a good chunk of them are available on Scribd, which is very exciting! Now if I could only concentrate long enough on a book to finish it…

  10. I’ve “known” you for years but am still immensely impressed that you homeschool all of your kids. I would love to have tried it with mine but was afraid I would kill them. Or they would hate me.

  11. Beth F says:

    Yay for SUMMER!

  12. Athira says:

    I do wish it was a little cooler than it is but oh well, summer is good. I would love to do the book a day challenge but I can rarely finish a book in a week much less a day. I’ve been trying to read a lot before the baby comes so let’s see how that goes.

  13. The one thing I miss about academic life is summer break. I never really took breaks — I usually worked — but at least it was a change of pace. I miss that feeling of changing with the seasons.

  14. Yay summer!!! Will you find it satisfying to do the end-of-school-year recap, or is it going to be a big chore? (Hopefully the former more than the latter!)

  15. Care says:

    I adore ADORE Kate DiCamillo. Edward Tulane is SO good! Anyway, I feel bad that I missed your participation during our readalong and didn’t mean to not include you on the tweets! Your comments on the version variety are appreciated!! Tho I am still a tad confused abt it all and am still searching for ThAT one key analysis essay. Well, no I am not. Lol. Did I miss a review? Can I blame vacation? Happy end of school year and may you gain much in your reflections process.

Comments are closed.