#BoutofBooks 13 Master Post and Goals

bout13

I’m usually not someone who dislikes Mondays, but today is starting off a bit rough. Insomnia kicked in last night and I didn’t get much sleep. One of the best things about today is that it’s the first day of the Bout of Books read-a-thon, a week-long reading event where participants read as much or as little as they want.

I don’t often participate in this event, but I haven’t finished a book since Dewey’s Read-a-thon. It’s time for me to get my butt into gear and read instead of playing Candy Crush Saga.

I plan on picking my reading pile as I go, but three books that I definitely plan on getting to this week are:

PicMonkey Collage

March Book Two by John Lewis and Nate Powell (Thanks for the reminder, Sarah!)
Rat Queens Vol. 2 by Kurtis I. Wiebe
No Matter the Wreckage: Poems by Sarah Kay (A leftover from Dewey’s read-a-thon)

My goal is to read for at least one hour every day and to stay offline when I can. We’ll see how it goes.

Are you participating in Bout of Books 13? Do you have any tips for a newbie like me?

Monday update

It’s only 6 p.m., but I’m going to write an update now because I’m exhausted!

Read: Rat Queens Vol. 2, “The Six Swans” and “The Almond Tree” by the Brothers Grimm.

Thoughts: The short stories were creepy and Rat Queens was pretty good.

Pages read: 143

Tuesday Update

Allergies have been kicking our asses over here, so the only reading I was able to get done was children’s books with my youngest, Avram. My poor baby boy. He’s absolutely miserable, but it seems like reading to him calms him somewhat. That and Benadryl. We read:

  • Blue on Blue by Dianne White
  • The Bear’s Sea Escape by Benjamin Chaud
  • The Iridescence of Birds: A Book about Henri Matisse by Patricia MacLachlan
  • The Backwards Birthday Party by Tom Chapin
  • In Mary’s Garden by Tina Kugler

Blue on Blue and The Backwards Birthday Party were our favorites.

Next up: I’m not sure. We left the house briefly to go to the library and returned with a ton of books, including YA and anime for my daughter and graphic novels and picture books for the rest of us.

How are you guys doing? Read anything interesting?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Readathon, reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to #BoutofBooks 13 Master Post and Goals

  1. olduvai says:

    Ooh Rat Queens Vol 2! I have to get that! Hope you have a good week ahead, reading-wise and otherwise!

  2. Athira says:

    Reading one hour every day is definitely a great way to do this! I think I may do something similar as well, and just participate on Twitter. I wasn’t planning to joining in, but my reading has been a little slow lately and anything to bump it up is a good investment!

  3. I had to delete candy crush from my phone. It is too addicting! Reading for an hour a day is a wonderful goal. I’ve made it my goal to read three books. We’ll see how far I get.

  4. iliana says:

    Great reading goals for your Bout of Books! I have been staying online and watching tv much more than I ever have and my reading has really suffered. Hope you sleep better and have fun reading your books!

  5. Rat Queens! I’m waiting for that to come in the mail. I can’t wait.

  6. heidenkind says:

    I’ve never participated in Bout of Books. I feel like my entire life is a bout of books. Lol But I do suffer from insomnia, and the one upside to it is reading a bunch!

  7. Belle Wong says:

    The only time games like Candy Crush work for me is when I’m listening to an audiobook. I have
    Rat Queens in my TBR!

  8. wow, pretty good for the first day! I don’t play games and don’t watch TV, so I usually read 4 or 5 hours every night. Less actually today, because I participated in the Twitter chat at #boutofbooks and visited lots of blogs

  9. readerbuzz says:

    Good job! It’s hard to read when there are so many distractions in the world. But you did well.

  10. Laurie C says:

    I know myself too well, and never once tried Candy Crush! Work has been crushing enough lately, and I’m missing my bloggy friends and all the spring events this year!

  11. That sounds like a lot of fun. I just discovered Rat Queens volume one and LOVED it, so I can only imagine how much fun you had with the second volume. Hope you have fun with your reading goals this week. (Games are fun but, it’s true, they do interfere with reading time! I have that problem as well. :))

  12. March! I’m lucky, I just happened to see it at the library and grabbed it. And Rat Queens, yessss❤

  13. 😍 @ Rat Queens.

Comments are closed.