Sunday Salon

Time: // 9:26 a.m., four hours after the readathon ended.

I didn’t stay up reading the whole time. I’m too pregnant to do that! I stayed up until hour 18, woke up around hour 22, read a bit more, then went back to bed. No readathon hangover for me thanks. As someone who has been going through a reading rut for such a long time, it felt good to get through book after book. I feel like maybe I’m getting my reading groove back.

Eating: // homemade waffles that Oliver, my 11 year-old made.

Drinking: // water

This week’s tbr (to-be read) list includes:

  • Citizen by Claudia Rankine for an upcoming Socratic Salon chat.
    Best American Science and Nature Writing 2011 edited by Mary Roach
    Where We Were Kings by Christie Watson

Today: // I wish I could take it easy, but I can’t! I need to clean up around the house and do some homeschooling prep work for the week among other things. I am looking forward to dinner, which will be carne asada nachos. They’re my sister’s idea and I can’t wait to try them.

It’s time for me: // to start my day.

What have you been up to this past week? How are you spending your Sunday?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    Yay, it sounds like a very successful readathon!

  2. Kristen M. says:

    Ooh, I want carne asada nachos! Of course, I had steak and black bean chili last night so a day without red meat might be a better idea.😉 I hope you do get your reading groove back. I had fun yesterday going through a bunch of graphic novels. I’m in the middle of two very hefty tomes this month so I felt like I was really treading water. Now that I have seven more finished books in my spreadsheet, I can go back to the tomes!
    Have a great week!!

  3. I totally missed the fact that you are pregnant! I have been off the grid too much. Congrats! Thanks for visiting my blog yesterday. Sounds like you had a great Readathon!

  4. iliana says:

    You did great on the read-a-thon! Hope the carne asada nachos are a success – they sound yummy!

  5. Teresa says:

    I also missed the fact that you were pregnant. I’ve not been making the blog rounds like I used to.

    I’m a big fan of avoiding Readathon hangover. I used to stay up a few extra hours to read more, but for the last couple of readathons I’ve gone to bed at my usual time and don’t always bother to read more when I get up. That’s what middle age has done to me, but I feel better for it.

  6. Wow, you stayed up even longer than I did (I think I crashed at 18, but definitely slept until the last hour)! Glad to hear the Readathon gave you a bit of a buzz again🙂

  7. Sounds like a very successful readathon! I must be hungry… just the mention of homemade waffles and carne asada nachos has my mouth watering and stomach rumbling.

  8. I had the same kind of feeling — after a stressful week, it was fun to just settle in and read a bunch of books. I want to keep reading today but my brain is tired. I might settle in with comics after I do some blog reading.

  9. Glad you had a successful readathon. Unfortunately, I was unable to participate because of work but I am glad to see so many of my book blogging friends were able to participate and have fun. 18 hours? Whoa…nice. So what was your favorite book of the readathon?

  10. Athira says:

    It felt so good to be able to read so much yesterday! I didn’t stay too late either but definitely managed to read plenty during the time I did spend reading. I’ve been hearing about Citizen a lot lately. Need to look it up.

  11. dastevensish says:

    Do you have any idea how amazing you are? I’m serious.

  12. How did I not realize you’re pregnant, yay! Congrats on getting out of the reading rut. That’s a good feeling!

  13. readerbuzz says:

    If doing the readathon helped you get your reading mojo back, then it’s worth it! Glad you had a good time.

  14. Did you change your theme? Or did you do it ages ago and I am just very late to notice? It looks nice! This Sunday I am pleased to say I wrote slightly over 2000 words, and then as a prize I got to have a lovely family dinner of red beans and rice with blackberry bread pudding for dessert. Heaven!

  15. heidenkind says:

    Oliver is amazing! I can’t even imagine making waffles at 11. I bet he becomes a world-famous chef some day.

  16. Belle Wong says:

    I wish we lived in the same city – your son is the same age as mine! We could get together to discuss homeschool stuff while they play together🙂 Hopefully you have your reading groove back!

  17. Those nachos sound SO GOOD.

    Readathons are great when you’re in a bit of slump. There’s something very freeing about just taking a day to read whatever.

  18. I like the idea of the science and nature writing anthology. Especially having something on hand that you can read in snippets. Perfect for pregnancy!🙂 I was so sleepy towards the end of my pregnancies. Happy reading!

  19. whatsheread says:

    It sounds like you had an amazing readathon. Granted, those carne asada nachos sound pretty outstanding as well. I think the readathon is a fantastic way to get back your reading mojo. Have a great week, lady!

  20. Beth F says:

    Sounds like the perfect readathon! Send your son over next Sunday so he can make us waffles!

  21. Kailana says:

    Glad you had a fun readathon! I missed this one entirely. Sad!

Comments are closed.