Rah Rah #Readathon

dewey1-1024x1024It’s here! Dewey’s Annual 24 Hour Readathon!

If you don’t know, Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon* has been going on for eight years now. A dear friend, Dewey, was the original host of the event before passing away. She was a sweet, generous, thoughtful, caring friend and blogger. There are so many people, (including myself,) that write about books because of her. There are authors (Neil Gaiman) and genres (fantasy/science fiction/graphic novels) that would probably still be at the bottom of my tbr list if it weren’t for Dewey.

While it’s not the same without Dewey here, (and it will never be,) I am so glad that Heather  and Andi  take on the gigantic task TWICE a year of hosting this event. You guys, along with your co-hosts, rock!

*For some people, this event means reading as much as they can for 24 hours straight. For others like myself, it means carving out 24 hours to enjoy doing something I love and engaging with fellow bookworms. How you choose to do the event is up to you, just remember to enjoy yourself and make new friends.

Here’s my game plan for the big day:

photo(2)
Poetry
Where Women Are Kings by Christie Watson
No Matter The Wreckage: Poems by Sarah Kay
Citizen by Claudia Rankine
Blue Horses by Mary Oliver
The Crossover by Kwame Alexander
Gone Fishing by Tamera Will Wissinger

Graphic Novels
The Wrenchies by Farel Dalrymple
Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
The Wicked + the Divine Vol.1 (re-read)
Lumberjanes Vol. 1 by Noelle Stevenson (re-read)
Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson
Plus a crapload of books on Scribd

Middle Grade
The Witch’s Boy by Kelly Barnhill
The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex. I’m listening to this on audio and reading it in print.

 

Opening Meme
1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Southern California
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? All of them!
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? This might sound crazy, but I’m looking forward to eating a Sloppy Joe.
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I’ve been blogging for eight years now, since the first read-a-thon. I’m currently seven months pregnant with my fourth child, a little girl. We’re homeschoolers which means I’m surrounded by projects, cookbooks, and tons of paperwork!
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? I’ll actually participate. I have no idea what happened during the last ‘thon, but I barely read or cheerlead. Today, I’m doing both.
Happy reading!

1st Update

It’s the 4th hour of the readathon. So far:

  • I’ve finished one book, Ms. Marvel Vol. 2. I’m going to push this on my daughter. It’s so good.
  • I’ve had a small breakfast of sausages and eggs with coffee.
  • I’ve left comments on 23 blogs and several pictures on Instagram. I’ve also cheered a little on Twitter.

Next up: I have no idea. I do know that I owe my youngest a round of Uno and he wants me to build something with him using Legos. We’ll see what happens.

Hour 9 Update

Here’s what I’m currently reading on Scribd:

photo 3

The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2011 edited by Mary Roach. I heard this was a fantastic collection of essays.

Currently eating: a firecracker popsicle. It’s probably better than putting my face in a plate of fudge brownies. Nom nom.

 

Hour 17 Update

I’m still reading! Can you believe it?! I got off of social media and started reading several hours ago. I just finished The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex, my third book. I really enjoyed it. Next up? I have no idea. We’ll see.

How are you guys doing?

End of Event Meme:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? None. I just took everything in stride.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Graphic novels like Lumberjanes and The Wicked + The Divine are always great picks.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Not at all! I had a blast.
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Everything. I have no complaints.
5. How many books did you read? I actually finished three books: The Wicked + The Divine (a re-read), The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex, and Ms. Marvel Vol. 2. I started The Best American Science and Nature Writing edited by Mary Roach.
6. What were the names of the books you read? See above.
7. Which book did you enjoy most? I enjoyed them all.
8. Which did you enjoy least? The Wrenchies by Farel Dalrymple. I started reading it and decided to DNF it. I wasn’t in the mood for it.
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I wasn’t an official cheerleader, but I cheered about thirty blogs on and left comments on Instagram and Twitter. I don’t have any advice. Just have fun. Surprisingly, cheerleading can become pretty addictive.
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I’ve been participating in Dewey’s Readathon since the beginning, so I’m not going anywhere. As usual, I’ll probably be a reader and cheerleader once again.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Readathon, reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Rah Rah #Readathon

  1. olduvai says:

    Ok this might sound odd but I’ve never had a Sloppy Joe before! But enjoy yours!

    And what? Seven months already? Hope the pregnancy has been going well!

    Happy readathoning!

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    I hope you have a blast today!

  3. readerbuzz says:

    Hope you get a little reading and a little blogging in today! So happy to see you here. Good luck!

  4. amymckie says:

    Such a great book list! Rankine’s Citizen is pretty near the top of my “I must find that” list, and Lumberjanes is my favorite. Happy reading!

  5. It’s a girl!!!! YEAH!!!!! So happy for you! My cousin is having a boy and a good friend is having a girl as well. Babies everywhere.
    Impressive stack!

  6. dastevensish says:

    Love what you said about Dewey. *HUGS HUGS HUGS* Isn’t it cool how we can say that she’s a part of who we are today?
    Hope you have soooooooooo much fun today!!! Are any of the kids reading with you this time?

  7. Laurie C says:

    Have fun! That’s a giant stack of books! And very pretty!

  8. Congrats on the new addition to your family! Have a great day doing what you love.

  9. stacybuckeye says:

    Craving a sloppy joe does seem crazy😉 Enjoy your bookish day!

  10. CaroG says:

    That’s a very diverse stack! I always have problems reading poetry, maybe I haven’t found the right book yet. Have a nice day. #TeamMrPopper

  11. I hope you’re having a great Readathon so far! That stack of books looks wonderful and sloppy joes sound delicious. #TeamPopper is cheering you on!

  12. Hi Vasilly. It’s that time again. Hope your reading is going well. Reading into hour 8… Have fun! #TeamMrPopper

  13. Athira says:

    I hope you are getting tons of good reading time! This event is always so much fun, whether you get to read anything at all. Can’t wait to see what everyone else is reading. Oh and that stack – I love it! It’s enough to make me want to camp in my reading nook and just read all day.

  14. Kay says:

    Hey there in California! I’m cheering you on from Texas. Sounds like your day is going well and Uno seems like a good way to take a break. Happy reading! Go Team Popper!!

  15. So cool that you have so much poetry in your stack. And i think of sloppy joes as one of those comfort foods that tastes really good when you only have it once in a blue moon. Happy reading!

  16. CaroG says:

    Oh popsicles, that’s a great idea, I think I have some left. Hope you are having tons of fun!

  17. Megan says:

    Wow – it’s been 8 years of Readathonning? That makes me feel so old in blog years and in real years. LOL. I’m so glad it’s become such an enduring tradition, though. A fitting tribute to Dewey, I hope! She also moved Neil Gaiman much closer to the top of my TBR pile!

    Hope you are having a fantastic day! Keep up the great reading!! #TeamPopper

  18. amymckie says:

    …I’m not so sure that anything would be better than putting your face in a plate of fudge, but if something is… I certainly must try these firecracker popsicles you speak of! Happy reading🙂

  19. Lindsey says:

    The brownies sound good though. If you don’t want them, I’ll take them!🙂

    It looks like you are having a great Readathon! Keep up the awesome reading!

    #TeamPopper

  20. Elizabeth says:

    Grab a snack, dance a jig, it’s Hour 17! You can do it! I know this hour gets difficult (for me, at least). Hope you’re having a great time with your books! #TeamPopper

  21. dastevensish says:

    You rocked this read-a-thon!!! I never even updated my post, because my computer was being such a jerk yesterday, so stayed largely on my iPod. And unfortunately, I was sucked into the Instagram hole nearly as much as I read. But I still had fun, and finished either 2 or 3 books (depending on how I count them, a decision that causes me far more stress than it warrants😛 ). I hope your day/night was as lovely as it could possibly be! And I sincerely hope you’ve somehow avoided that “readathon hangover”! *HUGS*

  22. heidenkind says:

    A sloppy joe sounds really good, actually.

Comments are closed.