Sunday Salon: Happy Easter!

sunday salon

Time: // 9:00 a.m.

The scene: // It’s a cold Easter morning as I sit at my desk, regretting the fact that I didn’t start cooking Easter dinner yesterday. I’m a big believer in cooking the day before, so I can just eat on a holiday. Now I have hours to go before the ham and everything else is done, which means I have to buy takeout.

21876672
Reading: // After talking to Memory, Chris, and Sarah, I finally started a free trial with the reading app, Scribd. The app has a crapload of comics that my library doesn’t have and I didn’t necessarily want to pay for since I’ve never read them. Since the start of my trial a few days ago, I have been reading up a storm! I read the first seven issues of The Lumberjanes series and Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh, a graphic novel. The app doesn’t feature the newest books, but I can use it to hit my reading goal of reading more diversely, trying out new comic series, and reading older books from my tbr list/pile. If you want to get a free two-month trial from Scribd, here’s the link: https://www.scribd.com/g/7271v

photo(1)
Celebrating: // The fact that it’s Spring Break. For the next seven days I can do pretty much what I want to do, which means I am reading from the stack of books above and taking the kids to various places like the beach and local museums. I’m also going to relax and enjoy the start of my third trimester.

Now I’m off to: // relax and do some reading.

What are you up to today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading, Sunday Salon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sunday Salon: Happy Easter!

  1. Athira says:

    I really like Scribd, much more than Oyster. I like their collection – more in line with my reading tastes. I did have the subscription for about 5 months but haven’t renewed it since because I haven’t been reading as much now as I did then. I should probably take it back – I like that they have audiobooks too – definitely a plus once the baby comes.

    Happy Easter!

    • Vasilly says:

      I was thinking about using Scribd for the same reason. I plan on going to the library a lot less after the baby gets here for a while. I don’t want to worry about due dates and late fees.

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    Happy Easter! Enjoy your break!

  3. First, congratulations on reaching your third trimester. Second, I’ve heard of Scribd and maybe someday when I get a little more money (a.k.a. winning the lottery😉 ) will check it out. Third, hope you and your family have a blessed Easter celebration.

  4. readerbuzz says:

    Enjoy your spring break. Hope it is very relaxing.

  5. iliana says:

    Happy Easter! I would like to give Scribd a try but I’m already so overwhelmed with books. Who knows, I may just give it a try. Hope you have a wonderful day!

  6. Enjoy your time with family. with books. With freedom. Now feel I need to look a little more at graphic novels! Behind the times.

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks, Barbara! I hope you’re enjoying your weekend. If you ever decide to try graphic novels, I recommend Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi and Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud.

  7. whatsheread says:

    Nice! I hope you had a wonderful Sunday and a relaxing week filled with all things bookish.

  8. heidenkind says:

    We didn’t do any holiday eating at all. Whomp whomp.

  9. Akilah says:

    Aw, man, every time people talk about reading comics on devices, it makes me want to update to a Kindle Fire.

    • Vasilly says:

      Girl, no need. What device do you have now? I have an old Nook that I just for review copies, plus a Nook HD for Scribd. It’s also good for Comixology.

  10. Hope you had a very Happy Easter. Enjoy the spring break!

  11. olduvai says:

    Oh! I’ve been curious about Scribd but didn’t know that they had stuff like Lumberjanes! My library doesn’t have Lumberjanes either and I’m reluctant to ILL these days as I’m never quite certain if I have the time to read a paper book, even if it is a comic.

    Hope your Easter lunch turned out well, even if it was takeout!

  12. Have a wonderful spring break! We did the big family Easter on Saturday, so Sunday was very low-key for me. My sister made crawfish etouffee (yum!), and we just had a nice quiet Sunday dinner.

  13. Thanks for the Scribd free trial link, I’ve been thinking about giving it a whirl. And my daughter has been BEGGING for more Lumberjanes isues! (We’ve read the first 4)

  14. Belle Wong says:

    I’ve been loving Scribd and finished up all the Lumberjane issues they had recently – I love those girls! I’m probably going to get volume 1 when it comes out – my son was reading over my shoulder when I was mid-way through the issues and really enjoying it, but he prefers print comics to digital.

  15. Kailana says:

    I love Scribd!!

  16. DoingDewey says:

    I hope you had a wonderful holiday, despite the take out! My fiance and I just did leftovers because we decided we’d enjoy not cooking more than anything else🙂 I just added The Science of Interstellar to my to-read pile after seeing it your goodreads widget. I think it sounds fascinating!

  17. Bellezza says:

    I loved Inkheart, and I see Ishiguro’s book which I’m hoping to get to sooner vs. later. So glad you’re going to read Little, Big with me and a few others! xoxo

  18. Care says:

    CHEERS! Have a wonderful readathon

Comments are closed.