Happy National Poetry Month!

Bless the notebook that I always carry in

my pocket.

And the pen.

Bless the words with which I try to say

what I see, think, or feel.

With gratitude for the grace of the earth.

The expected and the exception, both.

For all the hours I have been given to

be in this world.

 

From “Good Morning” by Mary Oliver

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in National Poetry Month, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy National Poetry Month!

  1. Erin says:

    Thanks for the reminder (and the lovely snippet of poem)! Poetry is very hit or miss for me, but I have amassed a small (though as yet mostly unread) collection of Billy Collins (one of my favorites). Maybe I’ll pull out one of his collections to celebrate April!

  2. Lovely. And a Happy Natl Poetry Month to you too!

  3. Belle Wong says:

    I want to read more poetry this year, so thank you for the reminder that it’s National Poetry Month! I’ve always loved Mary Oliver – great choice for this post.

Comments are closed.