Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 4:16 p.m. – Saturday afternoon

The scene: // Since California has decided to skip winter AND spring, it’s a hot summer day. The kids are outside enjoying themselves while I’m sitting at my desk and feeling a little bleh. Emotionally, I don’t feel all that great. I don’t know what’s going on.

Eating: // Nothing. I just finished my crockpot dinner of stewed steak with rice.

Drinking: // Water.

Reading: // Can you believed that I’ve read three books this past week and I’m now on my fourth?! That’s crazy. I haven’t read this much in probably a year. I finished The Life-Changing of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo. My review will go up tomorrow. Also finished are The Sculptor by Scott McCloud and Tricky Vic: The Impossibly True Story of the Man Who Sold the Effiel Tower by Greg Pizzoli.

I’m currently reading Blue Horses: Poems by Mary Oliver. National Poetry Month is in a few days and I’m looking forward to diving into a few poetry collections. Also on my reading list for this week is The Wrenchies by Farel Dalrymple, a graphic novel, and Ironweed by William Kennedy. I was cleaning out my bookshelves when I came across Ironweed. I started reading it and the opening pages reeled me in.

Bloggiesta: // was a success. I didn’t participate in any of the chats or mini-challenges, but I was able to cross off pretty much everything on my to-do list.

Next up: // I think I’ll enjoy a brownie and a nice nap.

What are you up to?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. I like the new theme, but I didn’t dislike the old one either. Simple and clean is always good in my book.

    Thanks for reminding me about National Poetry Month. I’ll have to seek some out for April. I wonder if I can find any crime themed poetry?😉

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    I’m ready for warm weather to come back here. I hope you feel better soon!

  3. I’m super jealous of your warm weather. How was The Sculptor? I put it on hold at my library and can’t wait till it comes in!

    • Vasilly says:

      The Sculptor is fantastic. I really need to reread it before I can even write a review. When you read it, let me know what you think!

  4. readerbuzz says:

    Your blog looks great, as always. Happy you are getting some reading in. Thanks for the recommendations. I always like what you read.

    readerbuzz.blogspot.com

  5. CaroG says:

    Oh I would love to get some warmth around here! Looks like you had a great reading week and congrats on your bloggiesta accomplishments! Have a nice week🙂

  6. olduvai says:

    Heh, that’s exactly what it feels like in NorCal too. I’m kinda dreading actual summer… how hot is it going to be then???
    And yay! Brownie!

  7. Debi says:

    Hope you’re feeling better soon! Feeling down and blah without even being able to figure out why is really the worst, isn’t it? *HUGS*

    Can’t wait to hear what you thought of The Sculptor! I loved it!

  8. boardinginmyforties says:

    We are getting the heat up here in SF Bay Area too. I think it is making all of us feel bleh! At least it isn’t affecting your reading. It sounds like you have been on a roll!

  9. Athira says:

    Love the new look here! I somehow missed Bloggiesta so I hope to make some time for it next month. My blog could do with some housekeeping. Hope you feel better soon! Glad that you are reading a lot!

  10. Darren says:

    Heard so many good things about The Sculptor! I had every intention of going to a signing in a nearby town a few weeks back, but it was the same day as the Placebo gig I went to and I just couldn’t make the timings work.

  11. That brownie sounds good. I have been having a strong sweets craving lately. I like Mary Oliver a lot — but she seems to be the poet all the yoga teachers turn to when they need a poem as a reading for class — so much so that, as a yoga teacher, I try to give myself a little distance so that I’m not just like everyone else!

  12. iliana says:

    In Texas we tend to skip winter and go straight to hot summers too! I hope you feel better after your nap. Great for you for getting so many books read. This month has been a weird one for me reading wise but there’s always next month. And, hurrah for National Poetry Month!

  13. Sounds like things have been productive! All the reading AND work getting done on the blog – it looks great🙂 Wishing we would get some consistent weather, even if it was super warm!

  14. Hooray for a productive Bloggiesta! The crockpot meal sounds tasty. Do you cook the rice in the crockpot, or separate? I haven’t braved cooking it in a crockpot yet.

  15. The new blog design is so pretty. Yeah for a nap and a brownie. Spend a few hours outside as well. It will help with the MEH! feeling.

  16. heidenkind says:

    What did you think of The Sculptor? I ordered the Tidying Up book at the library weeks ago and it still hasn’t come in because there are so many holds on it!

  17. joyweesemoll says:

    Tricky Vic sounds fun and interesting!

    Hope you’re feeling better. I imagine there are weird and wonderful things going on in your body that are more than enough to cause odd moods.

  18. Hugs to you! I’m sorry you’re feeling down in the dumps. We had some exceptionally gorgeous weather this weekend, which is now giving way to summery humidity (boo), so I’m trying to cling to the memory of what dry, cool air feels like.

  19. You’ve been a reading machine! I totally missed Bloggiesta this time around😦

  20. Erin says:

    I didn’t realize you’re in CA, too! I mean, it’s a big state and all, but still🙂

    I used to live in Albany, NY, and the bookstore where I worked always had William Kennedy books in stock. I’ve never actually read one, though. I’ll be curious to hear your thoughts on Ironweed.

  21. Kailana says:

    We have some winter you can have!

  22. Belle Wong says:

    I’m really looking forward to The Sculptor! And good for you, for getting your Bloggiesta to-do list done. I just started working on the first item on my list (no wonder I have that “always so behind” feeling!).

Comments are closed.