It’s spring. What I’m looking forward to reading. . .

I’m a winter person, but for some reason I am happy that spring is here. The new season is bringing a sense of renewal and the belief that better things are on the horizon. At least, it certainly feels that way.
Earlier this week, so many of my favorite bloggers posted a list of their spring TBR and it reminded me to make my own. Since spring ends in late June, I have plenty of time (fingers crossed) to read my list.

22318578
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondo

18964642The Teenage Brain: A Neuroscientist’s Survival Guide to Raising Adolescents and Young Adults by Frances E. Jensen. You guys, my girls are driving me nuts right now! I don’t know what’s going on. My sisters are 15 and my daughter is 13 and this sounds like a book that I need to read soon.

burnett new
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I can’t help but read this book every spring.

22522686Fables vol. 21: Happily Ever After by Bill Willingham

22522805
The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

18693655A Mind for Numbers by Barbara Oakley. I’m already reading this one.

18263725

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander. Winner of this year’s Newbery Medal.

22773229

Between the Dark and the Daylight: Embracing the Contradictions of Life by Joan Chittister. Someone blogged about this book lately and I had to put it on hold.

22504701

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson. A middle school graphic novel about roller derby?! Hell yes.

20613619Syllabus: Notes from an Accidental Professor by Lynda Barry. This book has been on my tbr list for months, but is also out of print. Luckily, the book’s publisher, Drawn & Quarterly, says Syllabus will be back in stores at the end of the month.

 

So that’s my list. What are you reading this spring?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading, spring reading. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to It’s spring. What I’m looking forward to reading. . .

  1. Athira says:

    I am generally a winter person too, but I am so happy that Spring is here. I think it has something to do with my hormones – winter just hasn’t agreed with me this year. Hope you get plenty of time to read all those wonderful books!

  2. dastevensish says:

    I’m a winter person too. Well, actually I really love all the seasons, but winter probably edges the other out by a wee bit. Lucky for me then that it’s just snowing steadily away today, huh?😛 So many great sounding books there–many of which I’d never heard of before. I do hope you’re going to post another whole list for Once Upon a Time too!😀

  3. Beth F says:

    Awesome list. Some I’ve read, some are on my list too. And SPRING? Can’t get here fast enough. It’s snowing on the equinox — sigh.

  4. BermudaOnion says:

    Lovely list! I want to get my hands on Crossover too.

  5. I’m reading absolutely everything this spring! My book tastes range far and wide, nothing remotely springy. But you’ve made me want to read The Secret Garden too, because that truly is the perfect book to read in the spring. I’ve got the perfect edition of it as well, with those gorgeous Tasha Tudor illustrations.

    • Kristen M. says:

      Yep, I’m also going to have to reread The Secret Garden now too. Maybe I’ll even buy a new edition this year because there are so many gorgeous ones out there!

  6. Kailana says:

    Awesome list! As you know Fables was on mine. I am not sure if I am excited or sad about the release… Getting so close!

    • Vasilly says:

      I know! Maybe Willingham will change his mind and make a few more volumes.🙂 I really want to know what happens to Snow and Rose.

      >

  7. I’ve never been much for spring, preferring the cooler months, but this year I’m also really excited. I’m sick of dreary weather and dark colors. Bring on vibrance!

  8. Belle Wong says:

    I love, love, love that cover for The Secret Garden!! My copy is rather boring in comparison. And so glad you’ll be getting Syllabus. Just looking at the cover makes me want to reread it. I wish she taught at the university here – I’d be on that class list in a heartbeat!

  9. Love spring! Watching the whole world turn green. Moving. Just finished The Buried Giant (loved and not particularly interested in the hyped genre discussions) and moving on to a deep dive into Penguin’s Little Black Classics. You just made me order The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up. Who couldn’t use a little life-changing magic?

  10. Kristen M. says:

    Besides my OUAT books, I’ve also got some new middle grade books to read. I’m not sure past that!

  11. Trisha says:

    I just re-read The Secret Garden not too long ago. It was a favorite when I was in grade school. It’s not particularly deep, but it is a sweet and easy read.

  12. I’m oddly enamored of Syllabus, though it’s difficult for me to know what kind of readers would like it since it’s so quirky. I need to order Roller Girl–looks like a must-read for me. I was very impressed by The Crossover–love that a book about African-American boys and basketball won the Newbery. Secret Garden is on my Kidlit Shelf of Shame. Someday, someday! That cover nearly entices me to go buy a new copy!

  13. iliana says:

    Great list of books to look forward to. I had to return Syllabus to the library without reading it. So bummed out about that. But it’s probably for the best because I think that’s really a book I’d like to own.

Comments are closed.