Sunday Salon

sunday salon

Time: // 8:35 a.m.

The scene: // sitting at my kitchen table while being surrounded by books.

Drinking: // water and my first cup of coffee. I know that’s a little odd, but I wake up sometimes thirsty.

Eating: // nothing yet but I have a slice of carrot cake that I plan on finishing off.

It’s amazing to me how easy it can be sometimes to stop blogging. A lot has gone on since my last post. After recovering from the flu, I broke my tooth and spent almost a WEEK in excruciating pain before finally having it removed. Now that that’s over, life is pretty much back to normal. Thankfully.

18693655
Reading: // I’m actually reading books! For the past couple of months, there hasn’t been a lot of books I’ve completed. More often, I started a book and then stopped for no apparent reason. It’s becoming a habit that I’m trying to get out of. I’m currently reading A Mind for Numbers: How to Excel at Math and Science Even if You Flunked Algebra by Barbara Oakley. According to the reviews on Goodreads, the title is pretty misleading. It’s not a book about excelling at math and science, but learning how to learn any subject. It’s filled with tips based on cognitive psychology and neuroscience. There’s even a course on Coursera that people can take as they read the book. Being the lifelong student, I decided to take the course and see if I can get the full effect of the book.

8599176
I’m also reading Birth Matters: A Midwife’s Manifesta by Ina May Gaskin. I have three and a half months until my due date, but there’s no time like the present. It’s been years since I’ve last listened to an audiobook, but I’m actually listening to one now! The True Meaning of Smekday by Alex Rex has been on my TBR (to be read) list for years. Now that the movie adaptation, Home, is out in theaters, I decided to give the book a try. So far, I’m really enjoying the story of Gratuity Tuchi, a young girl who’s traveling to Florida after all Americans have been relocated there by an alien race. On the way there, she meets a rogue alien by the name of J. Lo and they start a strange friendship. Did I mention this is a middle school book? The wonderful Bahni Turpin is the narrator and as usual, she’s doing a fantastic job. My daughter and I are listening to it together which always feel good to do.

8497577

Today I plan to: // catch up on my blog reading, reorganize my bookshelves, read, and plant some flowers. We’re having summer weather in SoCal this week with temperatures in the 90s today. Strangely enough, it was just raining a few days ago.

What are you up to today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    Yikes, having to wait that long to have your tooth pulled sounds horrible! I’m glad that’s behind you now.

  2. readerbuzz says:

    Glad the dentist was able to put you out of your misery.

    And I’m very glad to see you reading again!

  3. Summer!? I just want spring here to be honest. We’re not expecting to break into the 40s until next week or maybe the week after. I’m slightly jealous of the 90-degree weather. Of course, I’d prefer 70s.

  4. boardinginmyforties says:

    Congratulations, I am so far behind with my blog reading that I missed that you are having a baby?? All the best to you!

  5. Carrot cake is my idea of a perfect Sunday morning breakfast! Sorry to hear you had to endure a week of tooth pain (that’s the worst!) before getting it removed. I’m dreaming about planting flowers, but I doubt it will become a reality here for a couple more months.

  6. monikalovelybookshelf says:

    Oh my goodness, so glad the flu and tooth pain are both over!!😦 And happy you’re reading again!

  7. joyweesemoll says:

    I’ll be interested in how the Coursera and book work out. The title may be misleading, but the real topic sounds interesting, too!

    Glad you’re healthier and back to reading and blogging!

  8. Athira says:

    I need to read the Ina Gaskin book too! They always come highly recommended. Glad that you are feeling so much better – the tooth breaking is such a bummer. Hopefully, you are able to get more fruitful rest now.

  9. Akilah says:

    HOW DID I NOT KNOW THAT TRUE MEANING OF SMEKDAY WAS TURNED INTO A MOVIE? Fail.

    Glad you’re feeling better, and it’s nice to see a post from you.

  10. bybeebooks says:

    I’m so glad you’re back! Sorry about your flu and tooth problems.
    Carrot cake. Yes, oh yes.

  11. heidenkind says:

    I Haven’t heard of either Home or The True Meaning of Smekday, but it sounds intriguing!

  12. Belle Wong says:

    I’ve been reading a lot about morning routines, and it seems like all the productivity gurus say we should be downing a few glasses of water when we wake up, so you’re definitely on the right track. Me, well, I’m more likely to think, COFFEE when I wake up. Not so good. A Mind for Numbers looks good, as does the Coursera course that goes with it.

  13. Kailana says:

    Glad you are back in a reading groove. Hope it continues!

  14. Elizabeth says:

    I’m glad you’re able to focus on reading and blogging again.

  15. Beth F says:

    Ouch on the tooth. And I know that feeling of not quite having the reading mojo.

  16. You! You you you! I missed you! I am currently in the throes of the MOST reading mojo — there are so many books I’m super excited to read, but a finite number of hours in which to read them. (sigh)

  17. Tooth issues…ugh!! They are the worst, for real. I’m glad to see your post, I’ve missed ya!!

  18. Ick! Sorry to hear about your tooth. That sounds painful. I didn’t get to blogging over the weekend and it was so tempting to just let the week go by with no new posts. I did get my act together Monday night to write something… but it would have been so easy not to🙂

  19. Glad you are feeling better! Enjoy the reads🙂

  20. Glad you are on the healthy side again. And that you are enjoying a book or two. I have been loving the weather so much now. Miss your post.

    Have a wonderful week!

Comments are closed.