Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 8:18 a.m.

The scene: // sitting at my kitchen table listening to my tea kettle. The boys are watching TV and my daughter is off to a sleepover. It’s a cold winter morning and for once, I’m wishing that summer was here.

February: // has been one hell of a month. The kids and I spent most of this month in bed with the flu. I haven’t had the flu in years and every time I get it, I end up losing a massive amount of weight. I like being a curvy girl and the fact that I’m pregnant means that I now need to gain the lost weight and then some. Gaining weight has always been an uphill battle, but I’m determined to have as much of a healthy pregnancy as I can.

Having the flu also means not being able to blog, homeschool, or read most of the time. Now I feel like I need to catch up on everything and everyone. Luckily, the thought of catching up on so much isn’t overwhelming.

Thankful for: // the fact that all of us are feeling much better.

Reading: // not one thing. Any suggestions?

Missing: // each and every one of you. What have you been up to? How’s February turning out for you? What are you looking forward to doing?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. olduvai says:

    Oh no!! I’m so sorry to hear that you guys got hit with the flu! That is so painful especially when you’re pregnant. I hope the rest of the month goes well for you! I’ve been reading a lot of comics and finally read Station Eleven!

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    Ugh, the flu has been horrible this year. So sorry you’ve been suffering with it – that’s really rough when you’re pregnant.

  3. I suggest Citizen by Claudia Rankine.

  4. That sounds terrible! Sorry you all have had to endure the flu, but I’m glad things are on the up and up!

  5. iliana says:

    Oh I’m so sorry to hear you guys have been sick. Hopefully you are on the mend. Take it easy! I’m in the middle of A Game for Swallows (didn’t you recommend that one recently?) so far it’s really great.

  6. I’m so glad you’re feeling better! This winter has just been the pits. All this snow is just depressing and I haven’t really been in the mood to read lately either. I have been reading The Girl on The Train in spurts and really have enjoyed it.

  7. Akilah says:

    Glad you (and the kids!) are feeling better. I finished one of Tayari Jones’s books–The Untelling. I liked it.

  8. Athira says:

    Glad that you and the kids are feeling better! I totally understand the weight gain struggle. I thought I will have that problem too, and even complained to my OBGYN at my last appointment, and now I have gained 3 pounds since. I spoke too soon. Get plenty of rest and read lots of books!

  9. Oh no V! I hope you and the kids (baby too) are feeling better. Take you time in getting caught up because rest is part of the cure too. Let me know if you need anything at all. Just finished reading Your Blues Ain’t Like Mine and I am now powering through the Wonder series. (Short stories) They are really good!

  10. Glad that you all are feeling better, Natasha. This winter hasn’t helped with reading here either, so I really don’t have any suggestions. If my reading picks up, though, I’ll let you know what I come across.

  11. readerbuzz says:

    I had flu one time in my life and I’ll never forget it. Everything hurt. I lived for being able to take a Tylenol and having a short time of relief. It was all I could do to get into my robe and drive them to school and then climb back into bed. Two weeks of misery.

    I always get the flu shot now.

  12. Kailana says:

    Sorry you have been sick! I hope the rest of your pregnancy is fine!

  13. Megan says:

    Ugh, you know it’s super bad when you’re too sick to even read. That’s awful. Glad to hear you’re all on the mend, and I hope all the catching up goes smoothly.

    As for me and my February, I guess it’s been all right, but I’m looking forward to February and winter being over. The whole -10 degree wind chill thing that seems to be repeating week after week is getting pretty old.

  14. I’m sorry you’ve all been sick with the flu. That’s so gross😦 But glad to hear you are on the upswing — enjoy getting to eat lots of delicious, healthy food.

  15. heidenkind says:

    Oh no! I’m glad you’re feeling better.

  16. Belle Wong says:

    So glad you’re all feeling better! And it’s good that you’re not feeling overwhelmed. I just finished Neil Gaiman’s Trigger Warning and really enjoyed it, if you’re looking for a good read. On the homeschool front, I’ve decided to use a variation of Lynda Barry’s Daily Diary practice from her book Syllabus as my son’s new daily journal assignment. I think he’ll enjoy it: five things he saw, five things he did, and then draw a scene from his day.

  17. Aiyiyi: so glad to hear that you’re all on the mend. Good luck reassembling and getting back into the swing of things and, hopefully, finding just the right kind of treats to help restore those curves!

  18. dastevensish says:

    Oh Natasha.😦😦😦 I’m just so sorry you’ve all been feeling so awful!!! But very glad things are getting better!!! I’m impressed with your ability to not feel too overwhelmed; I tend to let getting behind in anything make me far more miserable than I should. Hope you keep feeling better, and gain back that weight, and keep that positive attitude!!!😀

  19. Edi says:

    Hey there! So sorry to hear how Feb has been kickin’ butt. Hope you continue to feel better, and that little one just grows and thrives.
    Have you read House of Purple Cedar by Tim Tingle?

  20. kay says:

    Oh no, I am really sorry to hear about your flu. I hope the coming weeks will go much better for you. Take care!

  21. jilllora says:

    Blerg to the flu! But glad to hear you all are on the mend!!

  22. Kristen M. says:

    I’m glad that you all are on the mend. Illness is a legitimate reason though to let some things go! The best way to get back reading is probably to find something to read for Diana Wynne Jones March.😉 I’m getting my books ready!

  23. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    Welcome back. So sorry you and the kiddos had to deal with the flu for February. Yuck. Glad you’re on the mend.

  24. Laurie C says:

    Oh, no! That stinks! I had the flu only once in my life, years ago now, and it’s the only time I remember thinking OK, live or die, it’s all the same to me! I got hit with a wretched cold virus that I lost the entire last week of January to, and I’m still not caught up from it! I was lucky that I was still able to read a bit while I was sick. Take your time getting back to full speed, there’s still recovery going on weeks later!

  25. Trisha says:

    I had the flu while pregnant (at the beginning of January). It was hell. Absolute hell. I hope you feel better.

  26. Care says:

    Um, {{{{{hugs}}}}} Here’s hoping that any fun mail you receive cheers you?

  27. Lu says:

    I’m so glad everyone is feeling better!!! That sounds miserable😦

  28. bybeebooks says:

    I hope you are better by now.

  29. Heather says:

    Oh no! There is nothing worse that being sick and pregnant. I hope you’re at the point where you can at least take something to help. Get better very quickly!

  30. readerbuzz says:

    Hope you are better now and can get back to blogging soon.

Comments are closed.