It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Time: // 8:08 a.m.

The scene: // It’s MLK Day, so the kids and I have the day off. That means I get to clean up the house, correct school work, celebrate my boyfriend’s birthday, and maybe buy some baby clothes for a little girl.

Even though it doesn’t feel like it, I’ve been on a reading roll lately thanks to my oldest. She started reading Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone series, which I’m now reading with her. I just started a few days ago and I’m now on the last book in the series.

Last week I read:

mCollage1
Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor
Other People’s Children: Cultural Conflict in the Classroom by Lisa Delpit
Days of Blood & Sunlight by Laini Taylor
Sketch!: The Non-Artist’s Guide to Inspiration, Technique, and Drawing Daily Life by France Belleville-Van Stone
Twenty-Two Cents: Muhammad Yunus and the Village Bank by Paula Yoo

This week I’m reading:

mCollage2
Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor
Art is Fundamental: Teaching the Elements and Principles of Art in Elementary School by Eileen Prince
Minnie & Moo: Hooves of Fire by Denys Cazet (read-along with my youngest, If you have kids in the lower elementary grades, Minnie and Moo is a hilarious series to check out.)
Far From the Tree by Andrew Solomon (continuing)
Drawing With Children: A Creative Method for Adult Beginners, Too by Mona Brookes (Belle told me about this book last week and I had to grab a copy. I’ve always been interested in learning to draw and Belle swears it’ll teach me.)

What are you reading this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in It's Monday, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. readerbuzz says:

    I will have to check out the drawing books. I’m always hoping to learn.

    Enjoy this holiday. Hope yours is as beautiful there as ours is here.

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    Wow, you had a great in reading!

  3. Kailana says:

    I really need to read that series… I have the first book in audio and hardcover…

  4. Athira says:

    Your week sounds fabulous! I could certainly do with a reading spree. If only I could keep the TV turned off.

  5. whatsheread says:

    Did you just sneak in another announcement by your comment of having to buy little girl clothes?!?! I love little girl clothes! I miss them so much!

    Five books in one week? I am so jealous!!

    I hope you were able to enjoy your day off and have a great week!

  6. heidenkind says:

    You’re on a reading roll? Jealous! I swear I’ve DNF’d every book since Queenpin. /:

  7. Belle Wong says:

    You got Sketch! How did you like it? And I know the Mona Brookes book will be good! I just wish I’d kept with it after learning to draw instead of putting drawing aside for ten years. On the plus side, when I started drawing my daughter also took it up. She kept on drawing and now does the most fabulous manga art!

  8. dastevensish says:

    A baby girl!!!!😀
    Oh my, and what a busy reader you’ve been! Love it when my daughter and I both fall in love with the same books.🙂

  9. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    I am amazed by how much you read every week. I don’t have kids at home or homeschooling to factor in and I never get as much read. How the heck do you do it? Awe-inspiring for all readers.

  10. olduvai says:

    Such good books you’ve got going on! Have a wonderful week ahead!

  11. This week I’m reading lots of nonfiction! And I just got approved for an e-galley of Neil Gaiman’s new short story collection, so I’ll be reading that starting tomorrow. Yay!

  12. I got the Drawing with Children book, too! I haven’t tried it yet as I’ve been working on an ARC art book but I have renewed it from the library so I will have plenty of time.

Comments are closed.