Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 6:46 a.m.

The scene: // I woke up early this morning to get some me time in. The living room was nice and cozy as the coffee pot perked in the background. Not even five minutes after I came into the living room, all three kids came and joined me. Maybe I’ll go to Starbucks later for that me time.

Thoughts: // I didn’t read much this past week. When I look back on it, it seems like I didn’t have much time or energy. But I don’t think that’s true (at least about the time part). The kids and I had the week off from homeschooling and besides a few errands and appointments, there wasn’t much for us to do. Once again, it’s time for me to take stock of how I’m spending my free time and get back on track doing the things I enjoy and need to accomplish.

Promoting: // Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness recently wrote a post about Laura Vanderkam’s 168 Hours: You Have More Time Than You Think. She’s not the first blogger to mention the book, but after reading her thoughts I think I need to read the book for myself.

Andi’s post at Estella’s Revenge, “The Slippery Slope of Diversity Tracking,” has a lot of readers thinking about what diversity means to them and how it’s tracked. Join in on the conversation.

Need some support when it comes to keeping your New Year’s Resolutions? Look no further than Joy’s New Year’s Resolutions Challenge. You can sign up any way you want either formally or in the comments. There’s also a read-along and giveaway of Steven Pressfield’s The War of Art.

Now I’m off to get started with the rest of my day. What are you up to today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    The time log exercise from 168 Hours was helpful to me. I did it several years ago, though, and could use a refresher!

    Thanks for the shout out about the New Year challenge!

  2. Hope you can get that me time later. My sister has two kids, an 8-year-old and a three-month-old, so I can sympathize with you on that front from hearing from her. Even just getting out of the house or apartment can be important.

    “Once again, it’s time for me to take stock of how I’m spending my free time and get back on track doing the things I enjoy and need to accomplish.” Ditto. It’s just here anyway the weather isn’t helping me get back on track as it’s been freezing here, as in dangerously low wind chills. Hopefully it will warm up…even a few degrees.

  3. Beth F says:

    Love those posts you’re promoting. Today will, I hope, be a combo of lazy and productive.🙂

  4. Thanks for mentioning my post! I was a little nervous about how it’d go, but great conversation so far. Enjoy your day, lovely, and I hope you can get in some of that “me” time.

  5. BermudaOnion says:

    I hope you squeeze in some me time before the day’s over!

  6. whatsheread says:

    I hope you have either gotten or will be getting that me time! I don’t think there is much worse than getting up early only to have that time disappear because something interferes. I read Kim’s post and already ordered a copy of the book for myself. I’m looking forward to reevaluating how I spend my free time and determining just what is important to me.

    Have a great week, Natasha!

  7. readerbuzz says:

    It’s nice to envision the 168 hours we have available to us and to then block it off into portions based on how the time was spent. It was based on this sort of assessment of time spent that I decided to give up random tv watching in 2003. So glad I did.

    Happy Sunday!

  8. Belle Wong says:

    I hope you managed to get your me time later in the day! I just finished 168 Hours and have been meaning to do a time log to see exactly where my time is going. But right now it feels like just another task to add to the long list!

  9. Kailana says:

    I get up early in the morning for me time and I think I spend more time yelling at the dog than actually having said me time… I hope you had time to yourself!

  10. Kristen M. says:

    I stopped reading as much this week because it was our first week back and I had trouble shifting my sleep schedule … and I volunteered for 7 1/2 hours at the school this week. It was crazy. I have a couple more weeks of this too so I need to find a way to still find time for myself. Good luck with your time evaluation!

  11. I’d rather sleep in than get up too early. “Me” time is very important, I’d go nuts without that.
    I hope you had a great Sunday.

  12. Terri says:

    Cheers to you getting some me time and being a fellow homeschool mom.

  13. Today was so busy for me! I’m absolutely cherishing the quiet time I’m spending now catching up on my blogs and watching the Golden Globes. It’s the small things.🙂

  14. Today was pretty chill. I went to a pop-up shop event to help promote the stylist who shaped up my hair. It was fun and i got to support Black owned businesses.

  15. Trisha says:

    Kim had me considering that time management book too! I may have to look it over once more and decide.

  16. Athira says:

    I read very little too this past week, though I had plenty of free time too. Mostly, I watched TV, but I started a book last night, so hopefully, I can read more this week.

  17. I hope you got some relaxing time in!

  18. I loved the Diversity post too because people (bloggers) need to talk about it. Really talk about it! Thanks for the link.

Comments are closed.