It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey.

It’s a new year and I am determined to read more! Well every year I’m determined to read more, but this year is different. 2015 started off with me reading children’s books, but after reading Ms. Marvel last night, I feel energized.

This week I’m hoping to read:

imcollage
All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (YA). My daughter read this book a few weeks ago and cried her butt off. She’s been waiting for me to read it ever since.

The Accidental Highwayman by Ben Tripp (YA). I’m on the fence with this one. We’ll see if I end up reading it.

Far From the Tree: Parents, Children, and the Search for Identity by Andrew Solomon. I bought this book two years ago and never finished reading it! It’s over 700 pages, so I don’t plan on finishing this week but I will get it done.

Children’s books

I’m determined to read more often to the kids. I don’t know what happened, but the kids and I don’t read together as often anymore. I’m hoping to change that with a few picture and chapter books.

imCollage2

  • Separate is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez & Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation by Duncan Tonatiuh
  • Winter Bees & Other Poems of the Cold by Joyce Sidman and Rick Allen
  • Twenty-Two Cents: Muhammad Yunus and the Village Bank by Paula Yoo
  • Flashlight by Lizi Boyd
  • And Two Boys Booed by Judith Viorst

What are you reading this week?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in children's books, fiction, It's Monday, nonfiction, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. leonelaeb says:

    I’ve been hearing good things about Miss Marvel. I think I’m gonna order it soon. This week I’m re-reading Little Women and I think I’m gonna start Leaves of Grass too. Oh, and I’m also reading a collection of Hemingway’s short stories. Hope you have a wonderful week and happy reading!

  2. winstonsdad says:

    Gliding flight by Anne-Gine Goemans a Dutch novel

  3. Melinda Ott says:

    I haven’t heard about All the Bright Places–I’ll have to look that one up!

  4. I borrowed Far From the Tree from the library, but never finished before it was due. Should probably check it out again…

  5. BermudaOnion says:

    I’ve been hearing good things about All the Bright Places and, after your daughter’s response, it sounds like the praise has been well deserved. Have a great week!

  6. Belle Wong says:

    I need to get back to Ms Marvel. I was enjoying it but then the holidays hit and I had to put it down.

  7. Athira says:

    I’m curious about All the Bright Places, especially since your daughter is recommending it so highly. I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts.

  8. whatsheread says:

    I’m reading All the Bright Places right now and am thoroughly enjoying it. I can’t wait to dive back into it!

    Have a great week!

  9. Heather says:

    Isn’t Ms. Marvel amazing??? I loooooved it. Can’t wait for more!

    I’ve been wanting to read The Accidental Highwayman. I saw someone somewhere compare it to The Princess Bride which totally hooked me.

    Congratulations on the new baby!!

  10. Trish says:

    Now that I’m not nursing Evie anymore I have my storytime back with Elle and I’ve been loving it. Though I haven’t been reading to Evie AT ALL. Sad making! Fun that you still try to fit that in with your older kids. And sounds like I need to check out All the Bright Places!

  11. Kailana says:

    Ms. Marvel was so good! I can’t wait for the sequel. It was my first read of 2015.🙂

  12. iliana says:

    I’m intrigued by All The Bright Places so looking forward to hearing more about it. Right now, I’ve got several books on the nightstand and they are all pretty good so I like that!

  13. I love that your kids are readers. Happy 2015!! Hear is to reading more!

  14. Lu says:

    I’m listening to All the Bright Places on audio… I’m still not sure what I feel about it, but I know a lot of people who have LOVED it. I can’t wait to hear what you think!

  15. readerbuzz says:

    The author/illustrator of Separate was at the Texas Book Festival this year. It was announced as a Bluebonnet book at the festival.

  16. I’m reading NOTHING because I’m sick and I can’t focus. Every time I snuggle down somewhere to read, I fall asleep. It is the woooooooorst.

  17. I want to read more to my kiddo this year, too. We’ve kind of slacked off in that department.😦 LOVE your taste in children’s books – I want to go grab every one of those.

  18. Trisha says:

    I really need to get on top of reading to Madison. We read together, but it’s sporadic, and I’d really like to do the whole before-bed reading but I have the world’s worst sleeper so bedtime is not exactly fun and relaxing.

  19. whatsheread says:

    Did you get to read All the Bright Places? Did you love it? I finished it this week and am still feeling emotional about it.

  20. bybeebooks says:

    All the Bright Places looks good. I’ve been in a nonreading state since last Wednesday. It feels like I’ve been between books forever. Sigh.

Comments are closed.