Sunday Salon

sunday salonHappy New Year!!

Time: // 7:26 a.m.

The scene: // It’s a cold SoCal morning, so I’m bundled underneath covers on my couch. The boys are making pancakes and it’s a pretty quiet morning for the most part. Wait. I need to make another pot of coffee.

2015: // will definitely be the year of change for me. With the addition of a new baby in July (I’m expecting!), life is going to move at a faster pace. I’ve been wanting to move for years, but this year it has to happen. Living in SoCal, it’s hard to find affordable and roomy places in a decent neighborhood on a limited budget. You can easily find expensive places in shitty neighborhoods but who wants that? It’s going to be a challenge, but I’m determined to move before the baby comes.

Bookish Goals: // Last year I read 192 books, my lowest in years. Most of those books were picture books. This year I want to read 200 books, with half being adult books. 200 is a low number, but I’m being realistic. Once the baby comes in early July, I expect my reading to go out of the window.

Diversity: // I just knew I was going to read a ton of diverse books last year. I read a dismal 28 books by people of color. My favorite books of the year like An Untamed State, Brown Girl Dreaming, and Mr. Loverman were by and about people of color but that’s not enough. For 2015, I want to read 100 books by people of color, 50% of my reading. Compared to last year, this will be a challenge, but I think I can do it.

IMG_0622

TBR (To be read): // Meet my dreaded tbr bookcase. It’s not the only bookcase I have with unread books, but it has the most. My shelves are collecting dust so my last bookish goal of this year is to read 40 of my own books. That’s 3.3 books a month.

Now I’m off. What are your goals, reading and otherwise, for 2015?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in bookish goals, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

88 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. joyweesemoll says:

    “Expecting” is exciting news! That’s definitely something to focus your year around. Good luck on the search for a beautiful space for your beautiful family.

  2. First, congratulations on the baby! And then congratulations on reading 192 books! Even with some pictures books thrown in, that is an awesome number! I almost made 50 and my husband thought that was insane… love the photo of the book case, even though I have just as many (maybe more) TBR books, the thought of them in their own bookcase scares me! As though they can form some sort of rebellion.😉

    Have a great week.

    • Vasilly says:

      Suzanne, where do you keep your tbr books? Various bookcases? Putting my tbr books around the house drives me crazy and it’s easy for me to forget about them.🙂

  3. Whoa. Whoa. Go back there…you’re expecting?!? Congratulations, Natasha.

    And yikes on the TBR bookshelf. Do you read on ereader? Or can you get some from library? For me, it’s helped being able to weed out our shelves of those books that we haven’t read but have been there forever. It also helps knowing that if I ever want to get those books later, there’s always a library or if I really want, I can buy them online…some day. Just a thought.

    • Vasilly says:

      Bryan, you have some great ideas. I’ve gotten rid of most of my tbr pile. What I’ve shown in the picture are books that my local libraries don’t have.😦 I would give them away and just buy them over, but I can’t see myself wasting money that way. I have an ereader but haven’t used it in months. …

  4. YAYYYYY! Congratulations to you!!!! Good luck with your hunt for a new place and on your 2015 reading goals. Cheers to diversity!

  5. dastevensish says:

    Natasha!!! Oh my gosh!!! Congratulations x a bazillion!!! Are the kids excited?
    I hope the pregnancy goes smoothly, and your search for a new place is much easier than expected, and that your year is sprinkled with loads of joy and contentment and peace! It will without question be a busy one, but wow(!!!) what an exciting one, huh?
    *HUGE HUGS*

  6. Congratulations! And good luck with the new nesting quest. 192 books, picture books or nor, is a lot in any one year. You should be happy with those numbers! Happy reading (and moving) in the new year!

  7. readerbuzz says:

    Oh, I’m so happy for you! A new baby is always a happy event!

    Good luck on your quest to find a new home and good luck on your reading hopes for the new year.

  8. Megan says:

    Congratulations! That’s great news about the baby. Hope you find a nice new place that’s affordable and make a big dent in your big reading goals. =D

  9. Wow, congratulations! What a way to fill up your classroom! LOLOL

  10. Congratulations – such exciting news!!! Best of luck finding a new place, too.

  11. Congratulations on the new baby!! I love the goal of reading 100 diverse books and can’t wit to follow along with you on that journey this year🙂

  12. BermudaOnion says:

    Congratulations on the new addition to your family – what marvelous news!

  13. Laurie C says:

    You win the prize for best bombshell dropped in a Sunday Salon post today! So exciting! Congratulations! Good luck on your reading goals, too!

  14. olduvai says:

    Congratulations!! On both the baby and the reading last year!

    50% diversity is an awesome goal. Best of luck with the reading and the pregnancy

  15. Bro bro bro! Is this the first notification we have received that you are expecting another baby? Did I know about this already? It feels like I did not already know this. A million congratulations to you!! That’s such exciting news!

  16. Beth F says:

    Wow!! Congrats on the new addition! Exciting! Good luck on all your reading goals.

  17. Athira says:

    Congratulations!! A baby is always such wonderful news. Enjoy the ride and the reading while you can. I hope 2015 goes well for your reading – your goals sound doable so I hope you are able to make through them!

  18. whatsheread says:

    Congratulations!!!! You snuck that little tidbit in on us, didn’t you?!?!

    Good luck on accomplishing everything plus more! Here’s to a great 2015 for you and yours!

  19. Chris says:

    Natasha!! Congratulations😀 I like the way that was sort of snuck into the post :p So happy for you and the kids too!! I hope 2015 is everything you hope for!!

  20. Belle Wong says:

    Congratulations, Natasha! Such exciting news! And you read an amazing number of books last year. Here’s to a great 2015!

  21. Christina says:

    Congrats! That is so exciting! (And way to subtly slip the news in.) Are you other children excited about the new baby?

    Forty of your own books and 100 books by authors of color sound like great goals. I hope you can achieve them, especially with the new baby coming.

    • Vasilly says:

      Hey, Christina! How are you?! The kids are so excited. They can’t wait for July to get here. Happy New Year!

      • Christina says:

        I’m doing well. Starting off the New Year with a long vacation so I can’t complain.

        So glad to hear the kids are excited. It will probably be nice to have some eager hands to hold and kiss and love on the baby.

  22. Molly says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!! That is such wonderful news.

    I wish you all the best in 2015 – with some free time to read amidst all the changes.

  23. Akilah says:

    Congratulations! I need to up my POC reading as well.

  24. Trisha says:

    Moving while pregnant! Whew, you are awesome. I’m about to pop myself – 21 days until the due date – so the very idea of doing anything requiring that sort of energy is terrifying.🙂

    • Vasilly says:

      I was wondering when you were due!! 19 days to go now. Are you excited? Since I’m in the second trimester, I FINALLY have some energy. Now if I can get things done before I get uncomfortable in the third trimester. . .🙂

  25. heidenkind says:

    Wow, another baby! That’s exciting! Do you have any names picked out yet?

    • Vasilly says:

      I like Gwendolyn Grey for a girl. I really like Lincoln for a boy since it’s such a strong name but I have a son named Avram so . . .😉 Piers is another current favorite.

  26. samantha1020 says:

    Congrats on the new addition to your family!! How exciting! I hope you have a wonderful year in 2015!

  27. Congratulations on your pregnancy, that’s wonderful news!
    I hope all your wishes come true this year.
    192 books is a HUGE number, I don’t know how you do it but that is amazing.
    I’ve made a list of hopes and dreams for 2015, all eleven of them, let’s see if I can stick to it!

  28. Alex says:

    Congratulations! Try to read as much as you can before the baby comes and (i don’t know if you already do) have audiobooks ready, they were really useful during my Baby Year🙂

  29. Heather says:

    New baby! Yay!

    My diversity in reading stunk this past year, too. Seems all the books I wanted to read (and got around to reading) were by white men. Sigh. I will do better this year (I usually read far more authors of color than I did in 2014).

  30. Wow! What a bookshelf! And what a busy life. If my life were as busy as yours, I’m not sure I could tackle that book case.

  31. Congrats on the upcoming new baby!!

    My diversity goal is the same as yours this year – we can do it! 🙂

  32. Charlotte says:

    Congratulations! I hope all goes will, with New Baby and all the other goals! and maybe New Baby will be a good, cooperative excuse to sit quietly and read….

  33. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    A BABY!? Woohoo! Congratulations! Good luck with your pregancy. You are such a reader. If I had a baby coming, there is no way in hell I would ever reach 200 books. I’d be lucky to reach 30. I look forward to seeing a pic of the new cutie.

  34. V! Oh my gosh. You didn’t tell me that you love homeschooling so much you decided to produce another student! LOL Congratulations. What an exciting event to look forward to.🙂

  35. Melissa says:

    OMG, congratulations!

    I totally failed in the diversity area last year. I think my number was something like 18 or 19…I thought I was doing a better job! It’s definitely something I’ll be more conscious of this year.

    • Vasilly says:

      Melissa, I had the same feeling! It’s so funny how it felt like we were doing a good, but we didn’t. Good luck with your reading.

  36. swright9 says:

    Congrats on the baby news! And your goal of moving in 2015. I think reading more diverse and foreign authors is a good idea; I’ll try for that too.

  37. iliana says:

    Congratulations! How exciting – adding a little bookworm to the family🙂 Wishing all that’s wonderful and of course another great reading year!

  38. Holly cow! We are having a baby!! Congradulations!!!! YEAH!!! So excited for you. Where are you thinking of moving to?

  39. Lu says:

    BABY?!?! Omg that’s such lovely news. Congratulations!!! It sounds like you have some great goals, including diversity and reading off your own shelves, which are also on my list! Happy New Year!!!

  40. jilllora says:

    Wow, way to sneak in some big news.😀 Congratulations!! Hope you’re feeling fabulous!

  41. Kailana says:

    Congratulations! I am so happy I am actually blog hopping so I didn’t miss this announcement!

  42. Anastasia says:

    Congratulations!! A new baby is very exciting, as is moving somewhere new! I’ll miss having you in the same time zone as me, tho.😉

  43. Kristen M. says:

    Holy cow! Congratulations! I hope you find a suitable new home without too much anguish too.🙂

Comments are closed.