Favorite Adult Reads of 2014

With the 2015 just days away and my reading going so slowly, I figured it’s time to throw in the towel and post my list of this year’s favorite reads. I divided my long list into three posts: children’s fiction and nonfiction, young adult and middle school reads, and adult fiction and nonfiction.

Though I didn’t read as much as I usually do, I was really surprised as to how many fantastic books I read. The books on my lists are ones that I really enjoyed, would re-read, and would buy.

To find out more about each title, click the link which will take you to Goodreads or my review (if I wrote one).

BestCollageFables Vol. 20: Camelot by Bill Willingham
The Bees by Laline Paull
My Real Children by Jo Walton (review)
Rat Queens Vol. 1 by Kurtis Wiebe
The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains by Neil Gaiman (review)

BestCollage 2
Ruby by Cynthia Bond (review)
Chew Vol. 7 Bad Apples by John Layman
Chew Vol. 8 Family Recipes by John Layman
Saga Vol. 3 by Brian K. Vaughn
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers by Brian Michael Bendis

BestCollage 3An Untamed State by Roxanne Gay (review)
Mr. Loverman by Bernadine Evaristo (review)
Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi (review)
The Golden Day by Ursula Dubosarksy (review)

Nonfiction

BestCollage 4
Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast
Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson (review)
Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less by Greg McKeown
Baking With the Cake Boss by Buddy Valastro

BestCollage 5
L.A. Son: My Life, My City, My Food by Roy Choi (review)
52 Drawing Lab For Mixed Media Artists by Carla Sonheim
God Got a Dog by Cynthia Rylant (Review. This is usually deemed a children’s book, but adults will enjoy it more.)

What were your favorite adult reads of 2014?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in favorites, fiction, lists, nonfiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Favorite Adult Reads of 2014

  1. Belle Wong says:

    Great list! I have a lot of catching up to do with Fables. The Chew series looks good!

  2. Akilah says:

    I have Saga on hold at the library. I can’t wait to read it; I’ve heard such good things.

  3. I can’t believe I haven’t read any of the books listed here. But there are a few of them on my growing TBR list. I have to get to them soon.

  4. Also loved Boy, Snow, Bird and Brown Girl Dreaming. And want to read The Bees for that cover alone. Perhaps I should click through to see what it’s about.🙂 Happy reading into the new year!

  5. BermudaOnion says:

    I haven’t read any of those but I’m dying to get my hands on Brown Girl Dreaming.

  6. l love that we live in a world where your favorite adult reads can include comics! Great list of favorite reads.

  7. Care says:

    YAY! Favorite lists! Such a fun time of the year. I haven’t read any of these but a few have been on my tbr and now a few more.

  8. aartichapati says:

    Gosh, I really need to read this Fables series, don’t I?!

    Looks like you had a great year of reading, Natasha! Here’s hoping 2015 is much the same.

  9. stacybuckeye says:

    Love looking at year end lists! Happy reading in 2015!

  10. andreablythe says:

    I loved The City & The City by China Mieville and Fingersmith by Sarah Waters. Both were amazing, though very different.

  11. Woooo, Chew and Saga! And I have An Untamed State and Boy, Snow, Bird on my must-read list for 2015. Fantastic selection🙂

  12. I’m going to start catching up on Fables again this year! I’m resolved. Too much time has passed since I read that series, and I really enjoyed it. Going back to it now.

  13. iliana says:

    I’ve not read any of these but I’m so glad I saw your list because I was reminded of some titles I wanted to check out. Looks like you had a fabulous reading year!

  14. bybeebooks says:

    You were so right about Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant! Scary stuff!

    Essentialism…hmm…I’m intrigued.

  15. I just got Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant from the library… it will probably be my first book of 2015. I want to read Brown Girl Dreaming, too. Happy New Year!

  16. lynnsbooks says:

    This is a very nice and interesting looking list – that I frankly need to take a better look at! (Nothing like blowing up your tbr after all!)
    I read the Gaiman book and really liked it – I can’t say the illustrations in that one were particularly for me but having said that they did sort of fit the ruggedness of the book.
    Lynn😀

  17. Bart says:

    Awesome list, really enjoyed Saga, myself this year (I’ve got Vol 4 – ready and waiting to go!) Hope 2015 is an equally great reading year for you.

  18. Lu says:

    So many books I’m looking forward to reading in the next year like The Bees and Brown Girl Dreaming. An Untamed State was one of the most powerful books I read last year, too.

  19. I am determined to read more books for adults in 2015, and several of your favorites are titles I’m eyeing, so now I KNOW I have to read them! Can We Talk About Something More Pleasant? is one of the few adult books I did read this year–just wow. So brutal. So hard. And also laugh-out-loud funny. I wish I could read it all over again for the first time!

  20. Athira says:

    You have a great list here. I would love to read the Saga books some day. I keep hearing so many good things about them. Also, Ruby too, if I can bump it up my TBR.

  21. readerbuzz says:

    I adore Jacqueline Woodson. I was fortunate in getting to hear her speak at the Texas Book Festival this year.

  22. The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains by Neil Gaiman was a great read I really enjoyed it. Neil is coming to Melbourne on the 24th and will be reading it, I’ve bought my tickets and can’t wait

  23. BookerTalk says:

    You read such a good mixture of genres.

Comments are closed.