Thoughts: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

18659623Through the Woods: Stories by Emily Carroll
208 pages
Published in 2014 by McElderry Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster
Source: Public Library

You guys have probably noticed that I haven’t posted a review in months. That’s because I haven’t read much in months. The things I have read, either weren’t worth posting about or I didn’t have anything to say. That’s changed with Emily Carroll’s Through The Woods.

Through the Woods is a collection of six eerie graphic short stories, perfect for a cold, dark, winter night. The first story, “Our Neighbor’s House” is about three sisters who are left alone after their father disappears during a hunting trip. The sisters are supposed to go to their neighbor’s house, but instead are visited by a mysterious man two nights in a row. The story’s ending left me feeling disturbed and with a case of the chills. Perfect.

“His Face All Red” is a creepy story about a man who purposely kills his brother as they chase down a monster. That isn’t a spoiler, readers learn about the killing within the first few lines. What is creepy is how the dead brother comes home a few days after his death as though nothing happened.

The stories could almost be mistaken as fairy tales but without the happy endings. There are castles and arraigned marriages, women in ball gowns and flapper hairstyles, while young girls in red cloaks walk by themselves through dark woods.

Carroll’s illustrations give the stories the right touch with just the right amount of colors.

Through the Woods is being advertised as young adult, but I recommend it to adult readers who love scary stories. It’s a book that you want on your shelf, so my rating is 5 out of 5 stars.

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in graphic novel, reviews, short stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thoughts: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

  1. readerbuzz says:

    Happy you ran across a worthy read.

  2. Hmmm, feeling disturbed with chills. Think I’ll skip that one! LOL

    I hope you have wonderful holidays!!!

  3. Beth F says:

    I do too much scary … Happy, happy holidays to you!

  4. Jupiter says:

    I had read a review before I picked this one up that referred to it as “terrifying”. I’m a cynic so I was like, “Pffft, whatever.” That review was right. I admit it.
    My teenage daughters loved it.

  5. I’m well excited to read this. I picked it up at B&N yesterday evening, but I was already splurging so excessively with my Christmas B&N gift cards that I had to stop myself from buying ALL THE BOOKS. But I will be getting it at the library as soon as I can; it looks brilliant.

  6. aartichapati says:

    I loved this book, too! I don’t even usually enjoy scary books, but the illustrations were so wonderful and it was so deliciously creepy.

  7. iliana says:

    Hope you guys have been having a wonderful holiday! I haven’t done a proper review in months either. Just not feeling up to it. Thank you so much for posting this one for us. I’ve gone to my library’s website and put a hold on it!

  8. Pingback: My first Library Loot of 2015! | Olduvai Reads

Comments are closed.