Sunday Salon

sunday salonIt’s official. Christmas break is here and the kids and I have wrapped up our last week of homeschooling. That gives me plenty of time to start blogging again after my month-long break.

I can’t blame my break on just homeschooling. I went through the worst reading rut ever. Even though I was checking out books from the library, I couldn’t get myself to finish them. Months went by without me reading books.

15819028
Then something happened. I wanted to try reading a book and picked up Helene Wrecker’s The Golem and the Jinni. Though the chunkster clocks in at almost 500 pages, I consumed the book in a day. The tome about a golem with no master who tries to fit in with the world around her and a thousands-year old jinni who was recently released from his flask, ended up being the perfect book to kick start my reading mojo.

18293427The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin was next. I could see why so many bloggers fell in love with this story about a widowed bookseller, young daughter, and their small community. There were passages about books and reading that I wanted to highlight and who couldn’t help but fall in love with Maya? While I didn’t love the book, I did enjoy it.

A few months ago, SoHo Press sent me a huge stack of books from various genres including The 21416678Bishop’s Wife by Mette Ivie Harrison. I don’t read thrillers or crime fiction at all, but when you’re in a reading rut, it’s good to get out of your comfort zone. A devoted wife and mother goes missing from a Mormon community in a small town in Utah. Most people in the community thinks the mother just walked away, but Linda Wallheim, wife to the community’s bishop thinks otherwise. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book about the intricacies of a Mormon community. The details were enlightening and I found them to be universal in some ways. The story had its twists and turns with a satisfying ending.

My reading mojo isn’t totally back but it’s nice to be able to dive into a book. I plan on spending my holiday break trying to read, thinking about my goals for next year, and catching up on blog posts. I’ve missed you all and I know everyone have posted a “favorites” list or two lately.

What are you up to today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. I can relate, I’ve been in a blogging and reading slump too…at times. I’m somewhat back but not completely. Even now I’m rethinking my blog…and my reading. I think I just like to think too much. Maybe? Hmmm. Maybe not. I don’t know. Let me think about it some more.😉

  2. I completely understand the reading slump! I was going like a madwoman for a while and then nothing really grabbed me. But good for you that you found some great reading to take you out of it! I just hate returning my library books without finishing them, but I’ve done that recently with 2 of them, one of which I NEED to take back out, but the other, I’m glad it was a library book.

    Have a nice break and Merry Christmas!

  3. The thing about the Fikry book is that it’s almost like a love letter for bloggers and booksellers and librarians. I wonder how “normal” people react to it! LOL

  4. So glad you’re breaking out of the slump…The Bishop’s Wife sounds fascinating. Enjoy the break and I hope you and your family have a very merry Christmas!

  5. BermudaOnion says:

    That reminds me that I want to get to The Bishop’s Wife. Enjoy your holiday break!

  6. Megan says:

    Happy Christmas break! Glad to hear it’s come with breaking free from a reading rut. I feel like my whole reading year has been kind of funky, so I’m about ready for a fresh start. Hope you have a great break and read some more excellent books!

  7. Belle Wong says:

    Looking back on my blogging in 2014, I was more or less in a blogging rut the entire year! So much so, I decided to self-challenge myself to 365 days of blogging (with some caveats, of course!) beginning on December 1. Incredibly, it’s been working really well – twenty-one days and still going strong. I find it’s become just something I do every day. In the new year I’m hoping to extend that same “just something I do every day” feeling to my writing!

    I’ve got The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry and am really looking forward to reading it. And The Golem and the Jinni, too.

  8. bybeebooks says:

    I’m glad you are out of your slump. Whenever I have them, I get the irrational fear that it is permanent. Enjoy your Christmas break!

  9. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    Welcome Back! Hope you and the kids enjoy your holiday season and break from schooling.

  10. Aw, Soho Press is great. I’m glad you’re back in the reading rhythm a little bit — those reading slumps can be such a misery!

    Today I’m up to hanging out with my big sister, who’s in town for the holidays. It was lovely! We made cookies in the morning, went to see a community production of A Christmas Carol, then went out to dinner. A lovely pre-Christmas day.

  11. Glad to hear you’ve found a few books that have worked for you and now you have some time off to enjoy a few more! Hope you have a great holiday!

  12. joyweesemoll says:

    Those sound like great books for breaking out of rut. Popping them higher on my TBR…Happy Christmas break. I hope it’s rejuvenating for you.

  13. Beth F says:

    I need to read Fikry! I loved The Golem and & the Jinni — it was surprising and different in a good way.

  14. I’m glad to hear that you’re reading again, even if you aren’t totally out of the slump. Those ruts are awful:/ Sadly, I spent much of 2014 in some sort of weird reading/blogging slump. I’m hoping that 2015 goes a bit better in the reading department. I really enjoyed Fikry so much. I’ve heard nothing but good things about Golem too and hey, maybe I’ll actually read it one of these days!😉

    Happy holidays to you and yours, I hope you have a great one!

  15. Golem and the Jinni in one day????? Impressed!

  16. Laurie C says:

    Glad you’re back! I got into a reviewing slump and kept falling further and further behind. I feel I’m just starting to get back on track. Have a wonderful holiday season!

  17. aartichapati says:

    I definitely think that my reading mojo leaves me for weeks at a time and then comes back in force! Seems like hopefully you are on the mend.

    I just finished The Golem and the Jinn, too. I read it on audiobook and while I enjoyed it, I thought it was pretty slow and I feel like there were many characters in the book that didn’t add a lot… but I look forward to what the author does next!

  18. Kristen M. says:

    I’m happy to see you back! I’m in a bit of a reading rut too right now, I think because I’m trying to read books I “should” be reading instead of ones I want to read. I need to change that.

  19. readerbuzz says:

    I requested a huge stack of books from the enormous Houston Public Library a few weeks ago in anticipation of this winter break and they all came in last Friday. (I’d put that in italics, if I could…it’s that eerie.) I am in reading heaven.

  20. stacybuckeye says:

    Glad to see your reading mojo is back! I liked AJ too🙂

  21. Athira says:

    I have been going through the worst reading and blogging rut ever as well and agree with you that if you want to get out of one, best try something out of your comfort zone. I’m not fully out yet but am currently enjoying Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe and loving it. I hope you will be able to get back to books soon!

  22. I’m really curious about The Bishop’s Wife, or I should say your background with it. Are you Mormon, by chance? I am and I actually didn’t like the book very much. It was a dnf for me.

    • Vasilly says:

      I’m not Mormon. It was the first book I’ve read that was about a Mormon community. It wasn’t a book that I read from start to finish, so I might be able to understand why it was a DNF for you.

Comments are closed.