Thanksgiving Menu 2014

Courtesy of PicMonkey

Courtesy of PicMonkey

This morning, I woke up thinking about my Thanksgiving menu. After scouring the internet and looking at Amanda’s post for inspiration, I have a rough idea on what I’m going to serve.

Thanksgiving Menu 2014

Main Dish
Ham with Cloves and Pineapples and Cornbread Dressing

Veggies
Asparagus
String Beans

Side Dishes
Mashed Potatoes with Gravy (for those that don’t eat mac and cheese)
Macaroni and Cheese with Bacon (for those that don’t eat mashed potatoes)
Yams
Cranberry Sauce

Bread
Dinner Rolls

Desserts
Cinnamon Sour Cream Pound Cake
Pumpkin Pie (Care will be proud of me. I’ve never had pie before. It’s the texture guys.)

Drinks

I have no idea

What are you making for Thanksgiving?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in food, Thanksgiving, Weekend Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Thanksgiving Menu 2014

  1. Laurie C says:

    I’ve pinned a zillion recipes and printed out a zillion more, not to mention all my cookbook recipes. I tend to plan elaborate menus and pare them down bit and bit as the day gets closer and reality sets in. But you’ve inspired me to narrow the zillion recipes down to a menu that’s at least remotely possible!

  2. olduvai says:

    Wow that sounds fantastic. I love pumpkin pie! And ham is so much tastier than turkey!

    Well for me, Thanksgiving doesn’t really mean very much since it’s just another day in Singapore! But since we’ve been here we ‘celebrate’ in our own way, with a hotpot!

  3. Lu says:

    Cinnamon sour cream pound cake?!?!? Can we get a recipe for that please?

  4. I love Thanksgiving! I make the same things every year: turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole, cider roasted root veg, beet pear and pistachio salad, cranberry sauce. Pumpkin pie, pecan pie. And this year, my son has requested apple pie. Which I might bake myself or I might buy frozen! I have a lot of kale salad recipes that I’ve been wanting to try, so I might add something new. We’ll see how much energy I have Thanksgiving week!

    • Vasilly says:

      I love your menu! I tried turkey before, but it was dry. I probably needed to brine it longer. If you find a decent kale salad recipe, I hope you share.🙂

  5. I love cinnamon sour cream coffee cake! I used to make it every Christmas morning (before I got into my lazy phase). For this Thanksgiving I am kind of considering this recipe for sweet potato pecan pie: https://www.penzeys.com/shop/recipes/sweet-potato-pecan-pie/

  6. dastevensish says:

    Cinnamon Sour Cream Pound Cake…oh my god, I am drooling here!!!

  7. aartichapati says:

    I am so excited for Thanksgiving! It is my favorite holiday, and I love cooking all the things (except the turkey and stuffing, which I leave to my dad)! And yay for pie – I might try to make a fruit pie of some sort. Or the pecan and pumpkin varieties🙂

  8. Sounds perfect! I’d love to eat all of that, especially the asparagus! For drinks, you could always do mulled wine. Mulled wine is lovely. It’s so warm and nice and lovely when the weather’s cold.

  9. Athira says:

    Oh yum! Your menu sounds perfect. The Cinnamon Sour Cream Pound Cake especially sounds delicious. You’re making me crave one now.

  10. Yum, that all sounds really good. I’m supposed to bring a side for Thanksgiving, but I haven’t decided what to do yet. I’m trying to think of something veggie-based, but we’ll see.

  11. heidenkind says:

    Gah I haven’t even started thinking about Thanksgiving. Where did the month go?!

  12. That all sounds SO GOOD. We’re all heading to my sister’s house for Thanksgiving, and I’m bringing the mashed potatoes and the stuffed artichokes. Artichokes are THE holiday food in my family, since my grandma always made them. I can’t wait for all the food and family time!

  13. boardinginmyforties says:

    You had me at “cornbread dressing”! Your menu sounds divine. I’m probably eating out this year because we are in the middle of moving houses and our final day in old place is two days after Thanksgiving. I hope you enjoy your holiday!

  14. swright9 says:

    Nice menu. Is that pecan pie in the photo? You should squeeze that in as well. cheers

  15. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    ham, mac n cheese with bacon, cinnamon sour cream pound cake… I’m not cooking, I’m coming to your house. yum yum. drooling over here.

  16. Kristen M. says:

    You know, I’ve been stressing about this for days and then a local parenting newsletter mentioned family-friendly restaurants that are serving dinner. I just made a reservation.😛 I’ll be making a big brunch though. It’s just a lot of work to make two huge meals for our tiny family of three. We aren’t having any visitors this year so it seems crazy and wasteful to make that much food.

  17. Pingback: Mini Pumpkin Pies Recipe | Holiday Party Entertaining Ideas

  18. Pingback: A Stress-Free Thanksgiving

  19. readerbuzz says:

    I’ve never yet been completely in charge of Thanksgiving. I probably never will. Everyone always chips in. I like that.

Comments are closed.