Nonfiction November: My list of potentials

nonfiction_november_2014

It’s back! Lu (Regular Rumination) and Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness), along with two new co-hosts are bringing back one of my favorite blogging events, Nonfiction November! I’ve been getting ready for this event for the past month. While a slim majority of the books in my stack are written by men, I tried to make my reads almost even when it came to including minorities either as the subject or author.

My stack of potential reads:

nn1
Tomboy: A Graphic Memoir by Liz Prince
Take This Man by Brando Skyhorse
Empire of Sin: A Story of Sex, Jazz, Murder, and the Battle for Modern New Orleans by Gary Krist
Lives in Ruins: Archaeologists and the Seductive Lure of Human Rubble by Marilyn Johnson

nn2

The Little Red Guard: A Family Memoir by Wenguang Huag
The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace: A Brilliant Young Man Who Left Newark for the Ivy League by Jeff Hobbs
Multiplication is For White People: Raising Expectations for Other People’s Children by Lisa Delpit
Dark Alliance: The CIA, the Contras, and the Crack Cocaine Explosion by Gary Webb

nn3
Fire Shut Up in My Bones by Charles M. Blow
All About Love: New Visions by bell hooks
Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast
It’ll probably take me until December to read it all.

What are you planning on reading for Nonfiction November?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in graphic novel, memoirs, nonfiction, Nonfiction November and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Nonfiction November: My list of potentials

  1. Heyyy! Two of those are books I am also reading for nonfiction November. And I already read (but didn’t review) the Roz Chast book. That one’s really funny, I think you’ll like it!

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    I’ve read two of those books – Tomboy and Take This Man – and both were terrific!

  3. Oh, I really want to read The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace! You have several others here I’ve heard great things about, too. Looks like you have some fantastic plans!

  4. boardinginmyforties says:

    I bought The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace. I am fascinated by his story and find it so tragic the way things ended up. I want to understand how it could happen and I hope the book will shed some light on it. You have many other great non-fiction recommendations as well.

    • Vasilly says:

      Hey, Kathleen! It’s so good to hear from you!🙂 I plan on reading The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace for the same reasons as you. Let’s hope the book does shed light on Peace and others who have been/are in his situation.

      • boardinginmyforties says:

        I’m still here but very bad about commenting even though I read. I’m doing all of my reviews and bookhauls on my YouTube channel now so my blog is inactive. But I still stay in touch with my favorite blogs, like yours. You gave me some great non-fiction reading ideas!

  5. olduvai says:

    Those look like such great reads! I’m sorely lacking in nonfiction reads this year!

  6. Trisha says:

    I really need to get my stack ready for Nonfiction November. Right now I have a few books scattered around the house, but no real plan of attack.

  7. Christina says:

    I’m slowly pulling together my list, and I’m intrigued by both The Little Red Guard and Dark Alliance. I hope you finish them so I can know if they are worthwhile or not.

  8. Athira says:

    I’d love to read Empire of Sun! It’s sitting on my shelf waiting for me to open it. Plus, I just visited NOLA for the first time couple of months back, so since then I’ve been enamored by that city. Other than that, you have a ton of good choices, that are all going to my TBR. Hope you get to read them all!

  9. swright9 says:

    Hmm Great list. The Little Red Guard looks good and so does Charles Blow’s memoir. So many books, so little time! Good luck. http://www.thecuecard.com

  10. bostonbibliophile1 says:

    those look like great choices. I haven’t read any of them but I have Tomboy in my TBR pile. I’m not officially participating but I started a nonfiction title the other day, lol🙂

  11. I am not a non-fiction person but I am interest in hearing your thoughts on Empire of Sin: A Story of Sex, Jazz, Murder, and the Battle for Modern New Orleans. Something about that book sounds wonderful.

  12. Trish says:

    so many great choices! I have Tomboy and Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? on my shortlist as well to coincide with a Graphic Novel week another blogger is hosting.

  13. want to read Empire of Sin. read his other book on Chicago, City of Scoundrels, very well done

  14. alexraphael says:

    These all look great shouts.

Comments are closed.