Sunday Salon: My plans for October

My daughter's vanilla birthday cake.

My daughter’s vanilla birthday cake.

Time: // 8:34 a.m.

The scene: // sitting in my living room with the kids, watching HellBoy 2. The kids and I decided to watch a scary movie every day in October. We missed two days but are planning to make them up. Next up is Super 8.

Yesterday, we celebrated my daughter’s thirteenth birthday with cake, ice cream, and Chinese food. There were several birthday parties going on in the neighborhood, so instead of hosting one more, we decided to go and enjoy everyone else’s. As a parent, I realize nothing makes you feel old like seeing your children get older.

Reading: // I seem to be on a non-fiction kick. Right now, I’m currently reading 10% Happier: How I Tamed the Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, and Found Self-Help That Actually WorksA True Story by Dan Harris. He’s one of the hosts of Good Morning America. I like his reporting style but didn’t know if I wanted to read a celebrity memoir. I figured if Harris learned something about being happier, maybe I should read the book. So far, I’m impress. Harris is very honest about how he was a chronic worrier, even when things were going well, and how being a war correspondent is like a drug.

Steve Harvey’s Act Like a Success, Think Like a Success: Discovering Your Gift and the Way to Life’s Riches is the author’s third self-help book. I’m about seventy pages in and I’m finding it inspiring.

A few months ago, Elizabeth of The Dirigible Plum recommended Opening Minds: Using Language to Change Lives by Peter H. Johnston. Once I finished reading her post, I bought a copy. Since then, the book has sat on my shelves unread. In Opening Minds, Johnston talks about the language adults use to help children become their best and get them out of a fixed mindset.

Planning: // a happiness project. Too often, it seems like there’s not enough time in the day. My days have started to blur together and it feels like I don’t have anything to show for it. I decided that I’ll spend October focusing on managing my time and de-cluttering my home. I plan on posting updates about my progress to help me stay focused.

So now I’m off to: // start my day. I have a house to clean, lessons to plan, and some jambalaya to cook.

What are your plans for October?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sunday Salon: My plans for October

  1. I haven’t made any set plans for October beyond an event my music students are participating in. I think I’m going to go with the flow and enjoy myself as much as possible.🙂 Decluttering sounds pretty awesome, though, that always puts me in a good mood. Good luck with your happiness project. LOVE your daughter’s cake, btw – happy birthday to her!

  2. joyweesemoll says:

    What a beautiful cake!

    I’m not a huge fan of scary movies, but I loved Super 8! If you can get the kids to go for a classic, try Arsenic and Old Lace.

  3. Wow, that cake is beautiful! I’m not big on scary movies, but love the idea of watching one every day this month with your kids… that sounds like a happiness project for sure. Good luck with your time management and decluttering focus this month. When my kids were younger, many days seemed like a blur. Will look forward to your updates.

  4. October is all about figuring what to wear on Halloween night, and the weather is so weird it’s difficult to figure it out. What a yummy looking cake — happy birthday to the little one🙂

  5. I love your idea for a happiness project. It takes a while for something to become a habit, I think. I’m working on practicing a couple of happiness tricks… Reframing…gratitude…one-thing-at-a-time…play….seems to be working.

    Good luck!

  6. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    decluttering is like a drug to me. once i get going i cant stop. Its turned me into a minimalist. I know look for things other people can through away. Addict behaviour. My only holdover is paperork which i’ll let pile up in giddy glee then sit, sort, and destroy. I’m a junkie.

    Great idea to not host a party but to enjoy all the others instead. The cake looks fantastic.

  7. Christina says:

    That cake is beautiful! Decluttering is a particular coping mechanism of mine. When life feels out of control, taming the mess is the easiest way to overcome it.

  8. olduvai says:

    Great cake! And happy 13th birthday to your daughter!

  9. Gorgeous cake! Looking forward to your thoughts on Opening Minds. It’s definitely a book that I will need to reread–probably more than once. So many insights and possibilities there for how we use language. I’m also interested in your happiness project. I’m co-teaching a “freshman inquiry” course next semester on Happiness and planning to use the intro and a couple of chapters from Rubin’s book.

  10. rivercityreading says:

    That’s a fantastic looking cake! I’ve heard great things about Super 8. Sounds like a fun plan for movie watching this month. If they’re willing to watch a movie with subtitles (and you haven’t seen it yet) Pan’s Labyrinth is fantastic!

  11. susan says:

    Yeah de-cluttering is a worthy goal! Gosh I wish I could make myself. I need to make a couple trips to Salvation Army with stuff. Good luck with your October!

  12. Trisha says:

    I may have to start my own happiness project. Things have been out of whack for quite some time in my life and I’m really trying to get things running smoothly before the new baby comes.

  13. Beth F says:

    Look at that awesome cake!!! I don’t do scary, but I love the idea of a themed movie a day. Great family time.

  14. harvee says:

    Happy birthday to your daughter! And may all your goals be met, and happiness too!

  15. Kristen M. says:

    A scary movie a day sounds totally fun! We just did a Young Frankenstein movie night this weekend. I know it’s not scary-scary but Z loved it. Now if I can just find a way to avoid watching the blu-ray he chose yesterday of both live-action Scooby Doo movies.😉

  16. That cake looks AMAZING. Like, now I’m considering going to the store and buying a gigantic cupcake just so I can have some cake. lol Sounds like your daughter had a wonderful birthday!

  17. Stefanie says:

    That is an impressive looking birthday cake!

  18. Guy R Vestal says:

    Enjoy your reading this week! I have a lot to catch up on with Cinder & Throne of Glass…😉

    Guy Vestal @ Counter Culture Critic – My Monday

  19. I agree – nothing makes me feel older than one of my kids celebrating a birthday. Josiah – my youngest – turns 13 next month, and then all four of my kids will be teenagers. How did that happen? Hope you have a wonderful week.🙂

  20. Beautiful cake!! I’ll look forward to hearing more details about your happiness project.

  21. Chris says:

    Happy birthday to your daughter!! Absolutely love that cake! And I love the idea of watching a scary movie every day this month🙂 Y’all are such an awesome family🙂

  22. Athira says:

    I should read Harris’ book as I am such a worry wart I could do with some techniques to quit wasting so many brain cells on worrying. Thanks for suggesting the book.

  23. Lu says:

    I’m excited to hear your progress on organizing!! I’m FINALLY getting our apartment in order (we moved in in August) and it feels so good. Happy birthday to your daughter – that’s a beautiful cake and wonderful way to spend a birthday.

    Did you like Super 8? I loved it!

  24. Oh yummy, that cake! Now I’m thinking of jambalaya too. Basically you’ve made me ravenous, lol. Happy belated bday to your girly!

  25. I like the Hellboy movies: great fun! Hope you enjoy the viewing project. And happy BDay to the teen!🙂

  26. Topazshell says:

    Glad your daughter enjoyed her birthday along with so many other birthday children. I would love to read the Steve Harvey book. Your list of titles are really good. Looking at the Chunkster Challenge. Haven’t had the nerve to try it yet.

Comments are closed.