Sunday Salon

Time: // 8: 52 a.m. Sunday morning

The scene: // sitting in the living room, listening to my kids and sisters talk. Is it me or are teenagers kind of loud? It’s already 80 degrees, set to be 97, and I’m miserable. Can fall please come already?

Listening to: // the latest album by FKA Twigs entitled “LP1.” I don’t even know what genre to call this music but I love her voice.

Promoting: // if you didn’t know, today is the first day of Aarti’s A Diverse Universe event, which goes on until the 27th of this month. You can find her link-up post here.

Reading: // for the past week or so, my reading has been going . . . surprisingly well. After being in and out of reading slumps for months, I’ve actually finished a couple of books. I want to keep the momentum going so I pulled a few books off my shelves to read this three-day weekend.

Kara Cooney’s fictional biography, The Woman Who Would Be King, started off pretty good, but I’m putting it down for now. I call the book a fictional biography because its subject, Hatsheput, lived thousands of years ago as a pharaoh in Ancient Egypt. There’s little evidence of Hatsheput’s personal life, so Cooney uses her experience as an archaeologist to fill in the blanks, which she admits to doing. Readers will find life during ancient times fascinating but Cooney’s input kept taking me out of the story.

20660824

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson is book of verse about the author’s childhood. I’m only a few poems in but so far, so good. I wish I could get the cover as a poster. I would definitely put it on my walls.

I recently added Hand to Mouth: Living in Bootstrap America by Linda Tirado to my tbr list after reading the essay she wrote last year about being poor. I was lucky enough to get an ARC from the publisher. I can’t wait to start reading it.

Looking forward to: // going to the library today. The local libraries were hit hard with budget cuts about a decade ago, which left them open only five days a week. Recently, the original budget was restored, so the library is now open seven days a week. I have fond memories of going to the library on Sundays, and I can’t wait to make new memories. It’s funny how simple things can make you happy.

So: // what are you looking forward to today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. readerbuzz says:

    Love Jacqueline Woodson! Must go add her latest to my wish list. And Hand to Mouth. Thank you!

  2. harvee says:

    Would love to read Brown Girl Dreaming.Will have to look for it. Enjoy your weekend!

  3. I’m glad you have some successful reading going on! If I didn’t have to grade papers today I’d be finishing up White is For Witching. I’m really enjoying it, and it’ll count toward #Diversiverse and RIP IX!

  4. Laurie C says:

    We’ve never had Sunday library hours in any of the places I’ve lived, so I still think of it as unusual. As a library worker, I don’t much care for the idea of being open on Sunday! But I can see how it would be nice to be able to go to the library on Sunday, so maybe we should try it. I bought an Octavia Butler trilogy, Lilith’s Brood, all in one book to try to read at least the first one for A More Diverse Universe, but not sure if I’m going to get to it in time or not!

  5. BermudaOnion says:

    Today is our first cool day but it’s wet out so I’m not really enjoying it.

  6. I am with Laurie in that as a library worker I don’t want to work Sundays either. However, I work in a small town library here on the East Coast so not the same as in your big cities out there on the West Coast😉. As for FKA Twigs, I love that album too.

  7. iliana says:

    We’ve had unusually cool weather this weekend so it’s been a nice break from the heat! Hope you have a great time at the library and find some great books!

  8. Jacqueline Woodson was here in town last week and I was delighted to ship our 5th graders out to hear her read from her book and take questions at our local bookstore. Amazing! She never fails to make a deep impression. Hope cool weather finds you soon!

  9. Megan says:

    The Brown Girl Dreaming cover would definitely make a great poster. So pretty!

    I’m really interested to hear what you think about Hand to Mouth. I finally got around to reading Barbara Ehrenreich’s Nickel and Dimed last year (after it had gotten a bit dated, but still seemed perfectly relevant) and it definitely piqued my interest in reading more about the working poor. The book was good, but I’d much sooner read the perspective of someone who is/has been poor than someone just playing at being poor for a story. It sounds like Hand to Mouth might be just the ticket.

  10. Jeanne says:

    I found the Brown Girl Dreaming poems very easy and quick to read; they’re the kind that it can be fun to immerse yourself in and try to read them all in one or two big gulps.

  11. heidenkind says:

    It is the simple things that make one happy.🙂 I hate fall! But I’m happy it’s cooling off because people will stay way from the park where I work. Lol

  12. dastevensish says:

    Oh my gosh, that cover is gorgeous!!! And YAY for Sundays at the library! Last year, it became the hub’s and my weekly date–Sunday afternoons at the library. And it sucked so much when they closed Sundays for summer. But anyway, I’m so happy that your library’s budgetary woes are lessening so they can be open every day now!😀

  13. It made me smile very much to see that you can go to the library on Sundays again. Going to the library on Sundays is one of my favorite things — not so much right now, because my library’s under construction, and there’s nowhere to park and it makes me really angry (they are not ADA-compliant! they need to fix this!), but usually.

  14. bookworm says:

    Teenagers are loud…lol. Brown Girl Dreaming sounds good and the cover is lovely.
    Hope you enjoyed the library!

  15. jilllora says:

    I am so with you on being ready for fall…It was 89 here yesterday. It’s supposed to drop to the 70s tomorrow, but by the weekend we’ll be back up in the 80s. Not as hot as Orange County, but still too hot!

  16. Hand to Mouth sounds really great! I hope you had a good trip to the library.

  17. bybee says:

    I’m eager to read Hand to Mouth.

  18. I am interested in that new Woodson book!

  19. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    I would love to share my 30 degree day with you. We are suppose to get 1-3 inches of snow tomorrow with more to come every day of this week.🙂 However, I am craving some beach time with 90 degree heat.

  20. Akilah says:

    You should email the publisher to see about getting a poster version. I would buy it!

Comments are closed.