Sunday Salon

sunday salon

Time: // 5:14 p.m. Saturday afternoon. You guys, we have to stop meeting like this! It’s becoming a bad habit that I’m only posting on Sundays. Luckily, I have a few book read and I plan on spending some of this weekend writing reviews.

The scene: // sitting at my kitchen table with a cup of coffee and the fan directly on me. It is hot outside, just a little over 80 degrees but it’s Cali. (That means I’m a wimp when it comes to the heat.) Half the kids are at a neighbor’s birthday party while the other half is munching on hot wings and macaroni and cheese. Kids.

kids books
Reading: // Nothing right now. I’m supposed to start read-alouds with the kids. With Piper it’s The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. It’s a re-read for me but her first time. Oliver and I are going to read The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. Wonder by R.J. Palacio is Avram’s book. I plan on spending part of this week catching up with the kids.

Listening to: // The 39 Clues: Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan on audio. I can count that as reading. I’m trying to get the kids to try new formats and genres of reading this year. The first book of the 39 Clues series is fantastic. Every time I’ve listened to it (three or four times so far,) I’ve been glued to it.

Thankful for: // the first week of homeschooling being over. The bad: my youngest’s perfectionism reared its ugly head. The good: the kids’ microscope and slides for biology and life science are coming. One of the best things about homeschooling through a charter school is that the kids can take advantage of so many opportunities like cooking school and are able to get their hands on materials they wouldn’t have been able to in our local public schools.

Now I’m off to: // read and relax.

What are you up to today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. Harvee says:

    Nicew you are helping the kids by reading the books with them! Happy Sunday!

  2. joyweesemoll says:

    Love the books you’re reading with the kids — great selections!

    Cool that you made it through the first week of school. My best antidote for my perfectionism comes from quilters: Done is better than perfect.

  3. I love The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy!

  4. You have some great read-aloud titles there! And I’m glad you all made it through the first week of homeschooling. Today is the first sunny day we’ve had in a week – I’ve already been on a long walk and hope to spend time on the lake soon. A little reading would be nice, too!

  5. Sounds like you had a great Sunday.
    I’ve never listened to an audio book. Maybe one day.
    Now I’m trying to figure out what book I should read next. I started two this weekend but found both of them too slow going.

  6. readerbuzz says:

    Sounds like homeschooling is so much fun for you and your kids!

  7. Kristen M. says:

    Z and I stopped reading together at bedtime when school ended in June because he started staying up much later. One week until school starts again though so I guess we need to choose a book! Do you read to the kids, have them read to you or take turns? I’ve been reading to him most of the time but I think we’ll take turns now that he’s in 5th grade. I love listening to him read.🙂

  8. I love audiobooks! Really makes the commute fly by for me (60 miles one way). I just finished the new Malcolm Gladwell book, David & Goliath, which I found thought-provoking. I haven’t tried The 39 Clues on audio, but I know my library has it so I will look for it. Absolutely True Diary is perhaps my favorite YA novel of all time. I always include it on the syllabus for my Adolescent Lit course. (Apparently the audio is quite good too–narrated by Alexie himself. I think it won an Odyssey Award. But if you listen to the audio, you miss out on the awesome cartoon drawings!).

  9. Glad your first week back to school went well. I wouldn’t have thought of Hitchhiker’s Guide for read-aloud, but I think my boys would adore it!

  10. Lu says:

    Yay Wonder! I listened to it on audio recently and it was so so good.

  11. susan says:

    I’ve heard about Wonder and would like to check it out too. Enjoy your week!

  12. Harvee says:

    Home schooling – don’t think I could have done it. Have a good year!

  13. bookworm says:

    I always wished I had home schooled mine! Good luck and happy reading🙂 I have heard good things about the Douglas Adams book.

  14. heidenkind says:

    Have I ever told you how much I love the name Oliver?🙂 I haven’t had much time to red this week, either. sadface

  15. So glad homeschooling is going well! It sounds like such an investment of time and energy but so worthwhile, too.

  16. Beth F says:

    How can it be time to start school already? Glad to hear that working through/with a charter school is giving you more opportunities.

  17. Microscopes and slides sound amazing! Hope the kids love them.

  18. Athira says:

    Looks like you are having a lot of fun homeschooling. I love the sound of all that biology and cooking classes your kids are getting!

  19. Kailana says:

    At least you are posting at all. My blog has been dead for months!

Comments are closed.