Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 9:20 a.m.

The scene: // Sitting in bed as the sun shines through my window. The fan is on, my cup of coffee is on my nightstand, and I feel so good.

Reading: // a bunch of teaching books before we start back homeschooling the middle of next month. For some reason, it’s been hard for me to settle down with a book. The weather is pretty mild right now but I have almost no desire to read. I’m thinking about returning all of my library loot unread and just waiting this mood out.

Promoting: // I may not be reading too many books right now but I’ve read several interesting online articles this week. Penelope Trunk wrote a fantastic post this week called “Leaving Your Options Open Sets You Back”. Y’all, I am the queen of leaving my options open. I thought it was smart but over the past year or so, I’ve been kicking myself in the ass big time. My problem is every option looks GOOD. This is why I’ve changed majors a million times: Anthropology English Psychology Anthropology and why so many occupations sound right up my alley.

So anyway, Trunk writes about how it’s important to stop trying to multitask since it’s foolish and start taking action. She writes every day and says that the only way she can get it done is to give herself no choice in the matter.

“You might tell me that I do have a choice. When we have a choice to not do something big, we don’t do it. Each of us has a challenge to find something big that we want and then convince ourselves there is no option but action. Focused action does not include hedging our bets with something else. Because hedging your bets is like multitasking: everything degrades. And taking action toward a goal we’re committed to is like splashing cold water on your face: it’s difficult and jarring but you feel power to do anything in that moment.”

Go read the post.

Now I’m off to: // go back to bed.

What are you up to today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. I’m relaxing today! I was monster effective and efficient yesterday, doing all kinds of tasks INCLUDING cooking for a friend, which does not come naturally or joyfully to me in the slightest. Today, as a prize, I’m just relaxing and doing nothing.

  2. BermudaOnion says:

    Going back to bed sounds very appealing to me.

  3. harvee says:

    A day in bed sounds too good! Do it!

  4. Not doing much today. I’m in a reading slump too. Audiobooks and graphic novels are the only things that hold my attention. I’ll probably watch a few episodes of House of Cards.

  5. Trish says:

    It’s totally ok to not read! And to not do so for days or even weeks. I’ve realized over the past couple of years that nothing bad happens if I’m choosing a different activity over reading. Enjoy the weather!!

    Whew. Tough love and good points about multitasking and biting the bullet. I feel like I’ve been hedging a bit over the past couple of months and it’s really affected my mindset. Looking forward to getting things DONE in the fall!

    Enjoy the rest of your day!

  6. heidenkind says:

    I really need to read that article! I do the same thing. I’m a commitment phobe.

  7. Nothing wrong with returning the library books unread. A fresh stack when the reading mood strikes again may be more appealing anyway.

  8. Time: // 10:07 a.m.

    The scene: // Your scene sounds so much better than mine. In my office drinking green tea with lemon and honey listening to Bill Withers and avoiding work as much as possible. LOL!

    Reading: // I understand I am reading mostly short stories right now because I am not in the mood to read something heavy right now. Just started Home by Toni Morrison today.

    Promoting: // I thought having open options was a good thing too! If you like the options then you win no matter what. Hmmm! Or I thought so…

    Now I’m off to: // go blog hopping and try to get a few bloggish things done since I don’t want to work today. Hopefully, my boss won’t notice.

  9. Sounds like a lovely day. Sometimes it’s good to just reset with books and start fresh. I hope you get reading soon!

  10. joyweesemoll says:

    I so relate to the desire to leave options open, and an awareness that means I don’t get to “done” on anything! On the other hand, if I get too restrictive with myself, I’ll shut down my creativity completely. It’s a constant balance.

  11. readerbuzz says:

    I wish I could recommend some books to break you out of your rut, but everything I’ve loved lately is not widely available. If there is any way you can get a copy of A Long Way from Verona, I highly recommend that.

  12. Athira says:

    Argh, ruts are so annoying when they come. I think you are right to consider just not reading anything while the rut is visiting. That makes the days less frustrating. Hope you get out of it soon!

  13. dastevensish says:

    Sometimes that is the most freeing feeling in the world–just returning that pile of unread library books that I just can’t get into. I always feel sort of guilty (why?!!), but it generally turns out to be just what I need.
    Back to school next month? Sheesh, but summer flies by too quickly, doesn’t it?

  14. olduvai says:

    Return your library books and give it a few days. Sometimes when I feel that way I go watch some silly TV show and then I wonder, why am I watching this when my books are so much better? Then I can go back to reading!😛

Comments are closed.