Sunday Salon

Time: // 7: 28 a.m.

The scene: // sitting at my desk as the family sleeps. With summer here, the kids are staying up late and sleeping in pretty much every morning. I’m loving it. I can enjoy my coffee in peace without anyone wanting to talk about Legos or trying to plan my day.

What’s happening: // I haven’t been in the mood to blog for ages now. It still amazes me how hard it is to try to blog again after taking so much time off. I’m going to try though one post at a time. . .

Finished reading: // The Bees by Laline Paull. The author made bees so fascinating! Now I want to read a few interviews with the author to see how this story came about. I’m so curious.

For some reason: // I always have a problem figuring out what’s going to be my next read. I think it has to do with having too many books to choose from. Has that ever happened to you? I have library books, my own tbr pile, and advance reading copies to choose from.

Hating: // the weather. Yes, I’m complaining. Can I get the cool kind of summer? You know, mostly in the mid-70s? It’s 7 a.m. and it’s already hot!

Loving: // how carefree my summer has been so far.

Now I’m off to: // relax.

What have you been up to so far this summer? Have you read The Bees? How do you choose your next read when you don’t have deadlines to think about?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. I forget if you read Devil in the Grove yet. It happens to be $1.99 on e-book version at Amazon at the moment. It’s a great deal!

    • Vasilly says:

      I haven’t read it yet!! Have you ever read The Street Sweeper by Eliot Perlman? It’s fiction and deals with the same subject and more. I keep meaning to read Devil in the Grove but always think of The Street Sweeper first. I’m buying Devil in the Grove.

      I finally read Knock Knock this morning and cried like a baby. The kids are going to think I’m crazy when I read it to them and start tearing up.🙂

      • I know, isn’t Knock Knock the best! But I think the video of him performing it is even more powerful! :–) And no, I haven’t read the Perlman book. I’ll look for it. I thought the Gilbert King book was sensational! (but of course I wish I hadn’t read it yet so I could get it for $1.99 ha ha)

      • Beth F says:

        I think you’d like The Street Sweeper. read it a couple of years ago.

  2. I never know what I’m reading next. In fact, sometimes I don’t even know what I’m reading now…hmmm.😉 Glad you’re able to enjoy a little peace this morning. Sorry about the heat. We got a short reprieve here, but this week it’s going back up…although I’m sure not as warm as it is out where you are, so shouldn’t complain.

    Relaxing is a wonderful thing…enjoy!

  3. readerbuzz says:

    I’ve had no trouble blogging but I feel like I’ve lost my spontaneity; I blog in response to memes. I feel like I’ve climbed into a box.

  4. I’m having trouble blogging too because I’m not taking classes in the summer so I don’t have much to say. I don’t want to talk about work in any detailed way because anyone from my job could read it.

  5. Athira says:

    I find it really hard to come back to the blog if I took a few days off it. A review as the first post back works wonders for me!

  6. Kristen M. says:

    Z is staying up late and sleeping in but so am I. I’ve only managed to get up before him once this summer and that was only by about 15 minutes.😉
    I’m also having a bit of a bumpy road toward getting back to regular blogging. I figure something is better than nothing though and even a post every now and then is progress and can lead to reestablishing a habit. It’s better than forcing it and not enjoying it, right?
    I’m just the same as you with choosing books. Right now I’m torn between commitments and TBR and drooling over random new books. I guess in the end I tend to just grab something and hope it’s the right choice! (My recent one might not have been but at least it’s another book cleared off of my TBR.)

  7. Megan says:

    Regular blogging is definitely a challenge anymore. I’m either really in the mood to do it and manage a few posts or have no interest at all. In my blogging old age, I refuse to force myself, but I don’t want to quit either, so my blogging is as spotty as ever. LOL.

    I am terrible at choosing what to read next. So terrible, in fact, that I finally realized that I was wasting way too much time choosing a book to read and not enough time actually reading. Now almost every book I read, at least from my own shelves, is chosen with the “Go to a Random Book of Yours” feature on LibraryThing. The randomizer speaks and I read. It’s a huge time-saver because I have way too many books to choose from and which ever one I choose, I’m always thinking I should have chosen a different one even if they’re *both* good books.

  8. BermudaOnion says:

    I know what you mean about blogging. Posts are harder and harder to write because I feel like I keep saying the same thing.

  9. Oh yes. The hot, hot summer is not fun at all. I like those summer days where the sun is out but it’s still cool enough to get out there and enjoy the day.

  10. Will check out The Bees because they are fascinating creatures! And alone time in the morning or anytime….. Sanity. Wishing you a cold front.

  11. I am really enjoying having time to read now that camp is over! I’m almost finished with The Fever – I’ll probably finish it tonight.

    I know what you mean about the heat – it’s been in the 90s here all week long. Way too hot.

  12. heidenkind says:

    I wish I had a method for picking my next book, but I don’t. I just rely on my mood and, if that doesn’t work, I start going through my kindle alphabetically.

  13. Quiet, peaceful summer mornings are the best! My kids used to get on that schedule and I relished every moment of my morning coffee😉

  14. Heather says:

    I have The Bees on my iPad. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it! Now I’m looking forward to it even more. I hope to read it at the beach next week. So glad you’re kids are having a great summer AND that you get those early morning coffee breaks. They can be sanity savers, can’t they?😀

  15. dastevensish says:

    I am so loving that the kiddos are sleeping in every morning now too…heavenly seems an apt description! I haven’t even heard of The Bees before, but will be checking into now…both because you enjoyed it and because I love bees.🙂

  16. Laurie C says:

    I haven’t read The Bees yet! I’m listening to Life After Life by Kate Atkinson on audio and it’s so good! Now I see why everyone loves that book. (I started it in print a couple of times, and didn’t see what all the fuss was about!) I usually pick my next book based on what I have received for review and what comes in on hold for me at the library, so there’s a little randomness in there to keep it interesting! I haven’t been in a reading slump at all, just haven’t been writing reviews…So backlogged!
    Thank you for the encouraging words about my own blogging slump today!

  17. Ha! ARE there summers that are 70 degrees? Is that a real thing people have? I’ve been trying to force myself to feel grateful that it’s not going over 100 yet here, but it is difficult. I hate the heat. I hate it so much.

  18. Care says:

    Happy July! I get overwhelmed and don’t read when there are too many books clamoring for my attention. And sometimes, I can’t commit to format so I bounce and don’t make progress in any books. I’m in a lull because summer classes start today and I don’t yet know what kind of time suck it will be.

  19. buriedinprint says:

    I hope you get some cooler weather; it’s hard to do anything, even pick a book to read, when it’s humid and hot and relentlessly so.

    Summer hasn’t held much reading time, with a couple of exceptional book-stuffed days, so far. But I do have The Bees at hand, and it sounds so good, though no, I haven’t read it yet.

    When I’m really having trouble choosing a book to read, I pull out an old to-read list and pull something from there (I’ve got a few to choose from, as you know, being an expert list-maker yourself).

    Enjoy your peaceful mornings!

  20. Kailana says:

    My few moments with my coffee at the beginning of the day is very important to me. I am glad you are getting a chance to enjoy it lately!

  21. I think that’s really the only way to blog — one post at a time, one foot in front of the other. Our summer has, so far, been pretty cool, relatively speaking. I miss some nice hot sunny days, but being outside and not sweating has benefits too.

  22. kay says:

    One post at a time is the way to go!
    Our summer here has been of extremes; excruciatingly hot or wet and miserable. Sometimes both in the same day. I just want sun with a cold breeze, really, but then I’d have to move. So I’ll just whine about it, thank you!

  23. Trish says:

    Caregree is awesome!! And I know what you mean about blogging breaks and getting back into the swing of things. One post at a time is the best way to do it!

Comments are closed.