Sunday Salon

sunday salonTime: // 8:14 am – Sunday morning

Place: // the usual: at my desk with a cup of coffee.

What’s happening: // Now that my sisters’ graduation is behind us along with Avram’s birthday, I can finally relax!

Just finished reading: // the first two books in Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle quartet: The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves. I finished both books in the past three days. That says a lot since I rarely read young adult books. The next book comes out in October and I’m looking forward to it.

Up Next: // I have no idea. Maybe Brando Skyhorse’s Take This Man, a memoir about the author’s childhood with his mother, grandmother, and the five stepfathers he had. I read Skyhorse’s previous book, The Madonnas of Echo Park and loved it so much.

Loving: // 100 Happy Days meme. I saw a few people via Facebook participating in the meme and decided to join. I love finding a moment that captures my day.

PicMonkey Collage happydays1

Thankful for: // everything. I’m really enjoying the time I’m spending with my kids and these lazy summer days.

Not thankful for: // various neighbors. I wish they would move but I’ll move instead.

You guys should read: // Jill’s review of Knock Knock by Daniel Beaty, a children’s book. I haven’t read this yet but I’m sure I’m going to start crying once I do.

Now I’m off to: // enjoy my coffee.

What are you up to today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your neighbors, but hope they don’t ruin your 100 happy days. Don’t let them. Doodyheads. 😛

  2. Lu says:

    A few of my friends participated in 100 Happy Days and it seemed like too much work, but I was inspired last week and it’s really made me appreciate so many little things. After a week, I’m in love. I hope I keep it up, even when things are a little bit harder. Also so excited that you’ve read The Raven Cycle. It’s one of my very favorite YA series.

  3. So your Skyhorse book arrived??? I got after all the pubishers last week. lol Bummer about the neighbors but cheers to long summer days!

    • Vasilly says:

      Nope the Skyhorse book didn’t arrived. I just picked it up from the library instead of waiting. Thanks for contacting the publisher for me. I hope you’re enjoying the beginning of summer.🙂

  4. Love the pictures! I read both books in the Raven cycle too but you know there will be four, and I have a feeling that each time, I will have to re-read first!

    • Vasilly says:

      Thanks, Jill! I can’t wait to read the next book. It’s a pretty interesting series. It standout compared to other paranormal YA books.

  5. mshoni says:

    I procrastinated and wasn’t able to get an e-galley of the Brando book. I loved Madonnas of Echo Park, too, and knowing that it was sort of autobiographical has me looking forward to the new one.

  6. I need to give the 100 Happy Days some serious thought… it would be good for me. Love your photos, especially the one in the middle!

  7. Hahahaha, I feel you re: neighbors. I think I’ll move instead too!

    Oh, I need to read the Raven Cycle books!

  8. Christina says:

    I know of six people who are doing the 100 Happy Days project. I did a similar one for my last two semester of college and it really is a lot of fun, if you can remember to take a picture. There were a lot of evening snaps in my project because I’d remember at the last minute.

  9. Laurie C says:

    Looking forward to some relaxing summer days this year, too! Last year, I feel like summer went by so fast I didn’t have time to savor it at all. The neighbors we had with a big, nasty dog and foul-mouthed teenaged boys who hung out on the back porch all the time moved last year, and the new family seems nice, so maybe yours will move away, too, before you have to!

  10. Sharlene says:

    Ugh neighbours! They’re the reason we rushed to move four years ago! But we’ve got great ones now so yay!

    I’ve really enjoyed seeing people’s 100 Happy Days project and have been wondering about joining!

  11. Aren’t the Raven Cycle books fantastic? They’re amazing on audio.

  12. Is the Raven Cycle worth the hype then? I have a feeling you’re going to jump up and scream yes😉 I love the 100 Happy Days Project — everyone needs it!

  13. Megan says:

    I keep wanting to try out the 100 Happy Days project but every time I almost start something distinctly unhappy happens to me. The whole thing is starting to make me a little nervous. 😉. But I’ll tell you what, just seeing that bacon bookmark kind of makes me happy. Hope you have a great week!

  14. readerbuzz says:

    Love the idea of the Happy Days meme. One moment, eh? I like that.

  15. Beth F says:

    I need to read the Raven books too! And yes about Knock, Knock

  16. Ooh The Raven Boys! I listened to it on audio months and months ago but never finished – only because audio isn’t really for me. I loved it and always meant to get it on kindle – will add to my summer reading list!

  17. harvee says:

    I know about neighbors. I like them but wish they would stop spraying chemicals on their lawn and near my gardens! And they have small kids and a dog who could be harmed by said chemicals. Aargh!

  18. joyweesemoll says:

    Love the photos. I’m enjoying the Happy Days posts that show up in my feeds, although I haven’t joined myself.

  19. Oh the Raven Boys cycle. They are always checked out at my library, so I went to the university library to see if they would carry them. Nope! They had The Scorpio Races, though, so I checked that out instead. We’ll see.

    Take This Man — omg me too. I really really want to read it. It looks fascinating.

  20. kay says:

    Oh, I have yet to start Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven series but I really want to, and knowing you enjoyed them definitely makes me want to read them even more.
    Looks like you had a great time this week, this beach looks gorgeous!

  21. stacybuckeye says:

    I just read Jill’s review of Knock Knock today and was blown away. As much by the book as by the monologue by the author that she included.

  22. OK, I need to check out the 100 Happy Days project! Thanks for mentioning it! Loved your photos! And the Raven series? I’ve been meaning to read those and I’m glad to see you enjoyed them! Now I’ll have to move them into my actual TBR pile! Have a great week!

Comments are closed.