Sunday Salon – Busy, busy, busy

Time: // 6:31 a.m. – Good morning.

Drinking: // coffee. Have you guys tried the Dunkin Donuts Hazelnut coffee? It’s heaven.

The scene: // Sitting at my desk after watching the first episode in the second season of Orange is the New Black. I don’t watch a lot of shows but I really enjoy this one. I’m trying to space the episodes out so that I can enjoy the show longer, but I already know after writing this post, I’m going to watch the next episode.

18490637

Currently reading: // My Real Children by Jo Walton. It’s about an elderly woman who remembers living two lives – one in which she says no to marrying a boyfriend as a young woman and another life in which she says yes. Readers experience both possibilities and the consequences. I’ve read some reviews that compare it to Kate Atkinson’s Life after Life but an overwhelming majority prefers this book instead. This is my first book by the author and I’m pretty impressed.

Up Next: // The Woman Who Would Be King: Hatshepsut’s Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt by Kara Cooney. This book came at the perfect time last week. The kids and I were doing a unit on Ancient Egypt and learned a little about Hatshepsut. I’m so excited to read this.

Blogging: // about nothing much but I will start back with reviews this week.

Anticipating: // how busy this week is going to be. My sisters are graduating from eighth grade on Thursday, which means I need to do some last minute shopping for dresses, take them to get manicures, and do their hair. My youngest, Avram, is turning nine on Tuesday so I need to do some Lego shopping. Plus, I want to see Maleficent today with the boyfriend.

Now I’m off too: // watch Orange is the New Black before I have to start my day.

What are you up to today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sunday Salon – Busy, busy, busy

  1. harvee says:

    Having a fun though busy time – enjoy your day!

  2. I was hoping to start the new season of OITNB yesterday but I decided to finish up a different series first. Soon though, soon!

    The Walton you’re reading sounds really really good. I’m going to keep my eyes open for that one. I read, and enjoyed, the Atkinson you’ve compared it to.

    Have a great week!

  3. Hazelnut coffee, now that does sound like heaven.
    I just finished The Bloody Chamber for Angela Carter Week which starts today – still thinking about it.
    Enjoy your day and looking forward to the review of Maleficent, I want to watch it too.

  4. Bellezza says:

    My Real Children sounds so fascinating. I think I imagine “What if’s?” in my life to a fault, yet it is so interesting to wonder where different choices could have taken us. Mostly, I try to be glad for where I am.

    Being better than Life After Life wouldn’t take much, in my opinion.😉

    Happy Sunday, dear Vasilly.

  5. BermudaOnion says:

    You do have a busy week but it sounds like it will be a good one too!

  6. DD hazelnut? Oh, yes!! And I’m enjoying Orange is the New black, too.
    You really are busy, but at least it sounds like mostly good stuff🙂

  7. Athira says:

    I’ve heard the book The Woman Who Would Be King mentioned a lot – but know nothing about it. So I’m looking forward to hearing what you think.

  8. Belle Wong says:

    I love hazelnut flavoured coffee (have never tried the Dunkin Donuts version but I’m sure it’s heavenly). I’m off caffeine right now so sadly have not had a good flavoured coffee in ages. The Real Children sounds like an interesting read. And you have quite a busy week coming up! Have fun!

  9. Your youngest will be 9? How did that happen! And I didn’t know you had a boyfriend.🙂

    My Real Children sounds fascinating – off to see if my library has a copy.

    • Vasilly says:

      I know! One minute he was 2 and now he’s turning 9!! Yep, my babe and I have been together for over a year now. He’s so sweet, Carrie.🙂

  10. Diana Leigh says:

    My daughter just turned nine, too. The years have gone by so fast! The kids and I are into the kinetic sand craze at the moment. Fun stuff. I’m wanting to see Maleficent, though I’ll probably wait for NetFlix. Did you like it?

    Here’s my SUNDAY SALON this week.🙂

  11. trish422 says:

    I can never decide if I want to binge or space out OITNB. Last time I binged, so maybe slow this time?

  12. Chris says:

    Isn’t OITNB so good? I’ve told myself the same thing…space it out…and now I’m on episode 9:/ So much for that. The Walton book sounds fantastic! Going to have to check that one out!

  13. The Walton books sounds like something I need to try. I DISLIKED (a lot) Life After Life, but i want to read something that tackles a similar premise more successfully. Congrats to your sisters and happy birthday to Avram!

  14. Now that the second season of OITNB has shown up on Netflix, I’ve decided to FINALLY watch the show. I watched three or four episodes last night and liked them a lot. But does Piper get less screen time as the series goes on? Nothing against her; I’m just finding the other inmates’ stories much more compelling. I cried several tears during Sophia’s episode with the flashbacks and whatnot.

  15. joyweesemoll says:

    Cool that you have a Hatshepsut book show up at just the right time. It does sound like a busy, but fun, week.

  16. I’m waiting to start OITNB until I have some time to just dive into it — I know that I will want to watch it constantly once I start.

  17. bybee says:

    I’ve just started Orange is the New Black. 2 episodes into Season 1. You’re the only other person I know who likes the hazelnut coffee at DD! Yay!

Comments are closed.