2014 Summer Reading List

The school year officially ended last Friday and since then, my days have been filled with watching the kids spend time being outside, playing Uno with the kids, and vegging out on the couch. According to a family friend, my family is glowing. It wasn’t until I heard the words, that I realized she’s right. There’s no notes to take, reading logs to type up, or textbooks to check. It feels good.

While the kids are making plans on how to spend their summer (building huge Lego sets, swimming, and starting their own blogs), I’m making plans too. I’ve posted my bucket list so now I get to share my summer reading list. Sometimes I think one of the best parts of reading books is making lists about the books we want to read.

  • Guerrilla Learning: How to Give Your Kids a Real Education With or Without School by Grace Llewellyn and Amy Silver
  • The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez
  • Project-Based Homeschooling: Mentoring Self-Directed Learners by Lori Pickert
  • The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
  • The Autobiography of Malcolm X
  • Trokia by Adam Pelzman
  • The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells (may read this one with my daughter)

 

  • Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay (essays)
  • Notes from No Man’s Land by Eula Biss (essays)
  • Among Others by Jo Walton
  • Starting From Scratch: What You Should Know about Food and Cooking by Sarah Elton (future cooking classes with the kids)
  • The Iliad by Homer
  • Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
  • The Known World by Edward P. Jones

 

  • Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder by Ariana Huffington
  • Love by Toni Morrison (reread)
  • The Woman Who Would Be King by Kara Cooney
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

My list will probably change from week to week as I add and subtract things so you can always see the most updated list on Pinterest. It seems like a lot of books but I have plenty of time on my hands. I’ve already started reading The Iliad. Surprisingly, I’m enjoying it.

What are you reading this summer?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in summer reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 2014 Summer Reading List

  1. Kristen M. says:

    I guess summer reading lists are on a lot of our brains right now. Mine is posting in about an hour or two.🙂 Now I want to make a Pinterest board though.

    And you have to get to Hitchhiker’s Guide! I think I’ve reread it like five times so far. Totally fun and perfect for summer!

  2. It can’t be time for summer reading lists already, can it? I want to read Thrive too, I’m sure it will be fascinating! My other summer reading plans are way fluffier than yours🙂

  3. Chris says:

    What a great list! I started Thrive but I still haven’t finished it…have to get back to that one…really good so far!

  4. bybee says:

    For some reason, my computer at work lets me respond, but not the one at home! For summer reading, I’d really like to read all of Maya Angelou’s memoirs. I’ve read the first two, which take her up to age 20.

  5. I haven’t made my summer reading list yet. Careful consideration will go into it though. I don’t have many reviews due in July and August so I can do whatever i want!!

  6. rivercityreading says:

    I have a bunch of these on my list, too – I’m really excited about getting to The Book of Unknown Americans and Everything I Never Told You soon.

  7. Athira says:

    I commend you for planning on reading the Iliad! It’s one of those books that scare the hell out of me all the time. I don’t think I am ever meaning to read it in this life, but hey, your success may just be what I need. Cheers!🙂

  8. BermudaOnion says:

    A glowing family sounds wonderful! It sounds like you all have great plans! I really want to read The Book of Unknown Americans too.

  9. Gavin says:

    Inspiring list, Natasha. I haven’t made one yet, life has been to insane, but I will definitely be including Steinbeck.

  10. Jupiter says:

    I’m reading so sloooooow these days that I’m not making any sort of list but I’m certainly eyeing some of your titles to add to my Someday I Will Read These list😉

  11. You should see the grin that appeared on my face when you said “Surprisingly I’m enjoying it” about the Iliad. YAYYYYYY I am so glad you are liking it. I LOVE the Iliad, and there has never been a translation as brilliant as Robert Fagles’s one. I hope you keep enjoying it! If you get bored with descriptions of ships or anything, it’s okay to skip ahead. Everyone does it. Even Homer nods.

  12. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    I love making lists too. I think it is a trait of readers. We are list making people.

    The Grapes of Wrath is on my list for summer too. I want to read before I leave Alaska. I have The Illiad on my phone and a paper copy at home. My daughter and I were going to read together a few years ago but she was reading too slow and I lost interest. Bad mom. I hope to get back to it someday.

    Good luck with your list.

  13. Christina says:

    I’m still pulling together my summer reading list (and hoping to get back into the swing of blogging), but I doubt The Iliad will make it. Still a book I want to read. Love The Grapes of Wrath. And I smiled when I read the part about your family glowing. Such a lovely sentiment and picture.

  14. kay says:

    I love the variety on your list! This makes me feel like I need to add variety to mine, too.
    I’ll admit that I tried reading the Iliad once or twice, but never made it through. I still want to one day make it through though!

  15. joyweesemoll says:

    I’m starting to think about a Back to School Reading Challenge starting early August. Maybe _Guerilla Learning_ would be a fun choice? Especially if there are tips that adults could use.

    Have you read _The Day I Became an Autodidact and the Advice, Adventures, and Acrimonies That Befell Me Thereafter_ by Kendall Hailey. I think I read it when it was new in 1989, so it’s been a while. It’s a memoir about a teenager who quit high school and taught her self through books. Unfortunately, it appears it’s not in print, but libraries may still have it and there are plenty of used copies floating about.

    • Vasilly says:

      Yay! I love your Back to School challenge!! I haven’t read The Day I Became an Autodidact but I’m going to see if my library has a copy. I’ll Guerilla Learning by the end of July. I’ll let you know if it will go good with the challenge.

  16. boardinginmyforties says:

    Sounds like you have some great reading planned for summer. At this point I am just going to let my reading whims carry me along and I won’t make any lists. But your list gives me ideas! 🙂

  17. Lu says:

    I was so surprised by how much I enjoyed The Grapes of Wrath. It’s so so good. I can’t wait for you to read it!

Comments are closed.