My Summer Bucket List 2014

 

You might think it’s a bit early to think about a summer bucket list since summer officially starts in late June. With my summer vacation a little bit more than a week away, I figured now is a fantastic time to write down the things I want to do with my kids. I made the list doable so as to not get overwhelmed.

  1. Make watermelon gazpacho
  2. Swimming lessons for the kids
  3. Go to the movies at least three times
  4. Wear sunscreen everyday
  5. Make iced coffee Pioneer Woman style
  6. Tackle math (which I’ve been doing)
  7. Go to Farmer’s Market at least twice a month
  8. Watch a movie at the park
  9. Take kids to an amusement park
  10. Buy an air conditioner
  11. Have a movie marathon day
  12. Make my own ice cream
  13. Make popsicles
  14. Have one date with each kid individually
  15. Introduce the kids to funnel cake
  16. Go to the beach more often
  17. Take the kids ice skating on a really hot day

What are you looking forward to doing this summer?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to My Summer Bucket List 2014

  1. Great list! I love the Chronicle books lightsaber kit for popsicles

  2. Jupiter says:

    I’m planning a themed Harry Potter dinner & movie night for the end of July.
    That’s as far as I’ve gotten w/ my list making.

    I think there’s some inspiration in your list,though🙂

  3. This sounds like so much fun! It’s got me started on my possible summer bucket list. I really want to get to a beach at least once — I don’t think I went at all last summer, except when I was up at the cabin.

  4. I’m with you on number 3 & 4.

  5. boardinginmyforties says:

    I love your list. You are inspiring me to think of my own.

  6. What! Do the kids not already know about funnel cake? Boy are they in for a treat. Oh God, funnel cake. It’s the closest thing to beignets outside of Louisiana.

    …Now I’ve made myself crave funnel cake.

  7. naida says:

    Great list! Have fun!

  8. Kristen M. says:

    This all sounds like a lot of fun (except the math)! I should do something similar because the summer always just flies away from us and, except for the scheduled things like Kumon and swim lessons, we don’t end up doing much else. Z and I will have to discuss this.🙂 Have a super fun summer (with an air conditioner … yay!)!

  9. BermudaOnion says:

    I’d say your timing is perfect because here in the south, we consider Memorial Day weekend the beginning of summer. Have fun!

  10. Megan says:

    All your goals sound like they’ll add up to one fun summer. Except for the math. Now why would go ruining a perfectly good summer with math? 😉 (Hold on, let’s pause to appreciate the irony of my using the phrase “add up to” in that first sentence in light of the second. LOL!)

    As for me, I’m hoping to hit up a few baseball games, an amusement park or two, and hopefully Boston (or some other big city) with friends before this summer’s over. And when I’m not doing those things, I could always stand to do more reading outside while the weather’s nice. =)

  11. This first comment is from my wife, who tried to comment, but couldn’t because she doesn’t have a WP.com account, but I do: Hey! Bryan from Still Unfinished, my husband, brought your iced coffee recommendation to my attention thinking I could improve on my technique but I kindly explained to him that her method is the one I employ in the first place! One recommendation I would make that makes it so much easier (and it is worthwhile and delicious) is to pick up a Melitta coffee pot of the gravity fed non electric variety (about ten bucks) and filter it that way rather than messing with cheesecloth. I use Cafe Bustelo Mexican espresso, half a can to a gallon of water in a gallon Tupperware pitcher. It is very tasty.

    My own thoughts: The coffee is very tasty, but we don’t use sugar. I use Kal stevia instead and it’s still great. We’re going to the movies this weekend ourselves, going to see the new X-Men movie. Can’t wait. As for the rest of the list, I love most of it, except for…of course…the math. Ugh.🙂

  12. heidenkind says:

    It sounds like you’re going to have a great summer!

  13. A worthy summer bucket list! This all sounds GREAT.

  14. Athira says:

    Every May, I find myself wishing I was still in school. That two-three month long school vacation is simply the best. I am still thinking about my summer reads. But I think you have a much better list there! I love how all-rounded it is and full of fun projects!

  15. dastevensish says:

    Oh my, I am so in love with your list! I’ve been thinking about you and kiddos all week, just sort of feeling your excitement vicariously about being so close to the end of the school year. Another month and we’ll be done too…so I guess we’d better start thinking about putting together a list soon too…think I may have to borrow a few of your ideas.🙂

    • Vasilly says:

      I’ve been thinking about you guys too! Four days of school left and boy are we counting down! The funny thing is that I’ve started to think about the next homeschooling year and what I want us to learn/experience/teach.🙂

  16. kay says:

    This sounds like a great plan – I’m especially fan of the ice skating on a hot day!😀

  17. Deb Nance says:

    I love your summer bucket list. You’ve inspired me to work on one of my own.

  18. susan says:

    Nice list and bicycle photo, like it! I’ll have to think of a few, such as get the yard under control, do some beach reading, and go to the mountains for some hikes. Cheers.
    http://www.thecuecard.com/

  19. Trish says:

    I really really adore this!! I’ll be taking Elle out of her school for a few days a week and I’ve already told my sister that we need to make a list of the things that we want to do with our girls (hers is two years older than Elle) over the summer to really take advantage. Making ice cream sounds AWESOME!😉

  20. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    Great list. I hope you accomplish a lot of the items.

  21. Great bucket list – I’m all over the watermelon gazpacho – sounds amazing.

  22. Lu says:

    I love the idea for a summer bucket list – I might have to make one of my own! Everything on this list sounds simple in the best way, fun and easy and exactly what summer should be.

  23. This is a phenomenal list! I want to steal lit😀 Hey, you’ll never guess what I’m drinking RIGHT THIS SECOND!? Iced coffee…yep, the Pioneer Woman recipe. It’s wonderful. Mmm, lip smacking good.

    Have a fantastic summer!

  24. olduvai says:

    This is technically our first ‘summer’ as Wee Reader has only been in preschool since last year. So I’m panicking and wondering, oh no! What am I going to do with him (and the baby!) for two months!

    Great list! I’ll have to come up with something soon!

  25. Kailana says:

    Lots of great stuff to look forward to!

  26. Pingback: 2014 Summer Reading List | 1330v

  27. Care says:

    FUN FUN FUN! Love this list. I wish you much warmth and glow for #6 of course and also to suggest that you quantify #16. “more often” is a cousin of “some day”.😉
    Where’s ‘bake a pie’?

Comments are closed.