Sunday Salon

 

Time: // 8:08 a.m.

The scene: // sitting at my desk, waiting for the donuts to finish rising. I have about 45 minutes left before I can start frying them. Most of the kids are asleep and I’m enjoying the silence.

Listening to: // Melody Gardot’s album, My One and Only Thrill. It’s jazz and her voice is so beautiful. Take a listen:

This week: // Bout of Books was a fail. Well, not really. I did manage to finish and review, The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. I’ve started reading Mambo in Chinatown by Jean Kwok. I’m really enjoying it and will try to finish it today.

Grateful for: // the fact that I start work tomorrow. It’s a warehouse job through a temp agency but it’s a start. I was looking for a job that I can work late afternoons or nights so I can still homeschool during the day and be around the kids. I’m glad I found one with compatible hours.

Appreciating: // my extended family. My cousin recently passed and Friday was his funeral. There was so many people there and we laughed and cried over my cousin’s antics. He was one of the most giving and friendly people you could ever meet. Going to his funeral was sad but it didn’t end that way. I was so happy to see my family and will keep in touch.

Writing down: // my summer bucket list. I saw a post on How Sweet It Is and within minutes came up with a ton of things for me and the kids to do this summer, which includes making watermelon gazpacho. Have you ever made a summer bucket list?

Now I’m off to: // fry some donuts.

What are you doing today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in reading, Sunday Salon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sunday Salon

  1. Lu says:

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your cousin! I’m glad that the funeral was an opportunity to spend time with people you love. I feel like funerals can sometimes be such a strange, necessary mix of grief and happiness and love.

    Good luck at your first day tomorrow! And have a lovely week!

  2. joyweesemoll says:

    Sorry for the loss of your cousin. It’s great when a funeral can be as sad as it needs to be but still bring the happiness of togetherness and family.

    Congrats on the job!

  3. Sorry about the loss of your cousin…it is great to spend time remembering.

    Enjoy your week…those donuts look tempting! And here’s MY WEEKLY SUNDAY/MONDAY UPDATES

  4. I’m going to read Sunday Salon posts for this early afternoon, having some organic white corn nachos that my wife is making, and then I’m going to read. Those donuts look good, but since we’re wheat-free, I like them only conceptually.😉

  5. So sorry to hear of you loss, Natasha. On the flip side, I do know what a huge part of the healing touching base with family can be, so I’m glad you got to be in touch with them. Congrats on the new job! I’m also really glad you were able to find compatible hours so you can be with the kids. Awesome!

  6. I’m sorry about your cousin, but you’re right, connecting with family again can be therapeutic.

    I really like the idea of a summer bucket list. I want to spend some time brainstorming about what sorts of things we could put on it.

  7. Sorry about your cousin….but his spirit lives on…..

    And I want a donut!!

    Here is my post!!

  8. Molly says:

    I also express my condolences for the passing of your cousin, but it sounds as though he was celebrated for a life well lived.

    I love the idea of a summer bucket list and believe I will start one of my own this afternoon🙂

    I wish you a great first day on the new job — it sounds like the perfect solution for this point in your life.

  9. Athira says:

    Bout of Books was a sort of fail for me as well. I did finish a book and start two others but still… Enjoy your job tomorrow!

  10. The idea of making a summer bucket list really appeals to me… will have to give that some thought this week.

    I’m sorry to hear about your cousin.

  11. My condolences on the loss of your cousin. Never an easy thing.

    Good luck with the new job! It sounds like it is something that could work out with your schedule, so that’s great.

    I contemplated doing a summer bucket list last year and never got around to it. This year might be the year ….

  12. Kailana says:

    I had planned to do Bout of Books, but I am slacking on the reading and blogging lately!

  13. theshabbyrabbit says:

    So sorry for the loss of your cousin. My prayers are with your family. It is so wonderful that you could celebrate his life with memory and each other.

    I’ve never done a summer bucket list mostly because my seasons sort of all run together. Maybe this year should change that. Thank you!!

  14. So glad you found a job that works with your schedule! What a blessing.

    I’m sorry you lost your cousin, but so glad you have a family that is close like that.🙂

  15. bybee says:

    I’m sorry about your cousin. Glad you found a job that fits in with your homeschooling and donut-making.

  16. heidenkind says:

    I think my summer bucket list is to survive working 2 jobs. :p Good luck at your new job!

  17. I’m sorry to hear about your cousin. It sounds like his service was cathartic for everyone. ((hug)) Best wishes with the new job!

  18. So sorry about the loss of your cousin. It sounds like the funeral celebrated his life wonderfully, but it’s still so sad to lose someone you love. *hugs*

  19. naida says:

    I am sorry about your loss Vasilly.

    The Melody Gardot song is lovely and now I’m craving donuts.

  20. trish422 says:

    I really want some donuts now. Sorry about your loss!

  21. kay says:

    I am so sorry for your loss, but glad to know you had family to spend a close time with.
    I had never heard of Melody Gardot but I am really liking this song. Thanks for sharing it.

  22. Heather says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I’m glad remembering him brought happy memories and I hope they bring you comfort. Congratulations on the job!

  23. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    Congrats on the job. Temporary is better than nothing. Its a start and could lead to something else.

Comments are closed.