Bout of Books 10 and Update Post

BoB10-200x200

Bout of Books have officially started. I’m typing this on Sunday night since Mondays are always busy with meetings, homeschooling, and errands. Don’t worry, I’m taking my reads to the beach with me Monday afternoon since summer has pretty much hit Southern California. (I’m not bragging. I actually wish it was winter here.)

PicMonkey Collage

I’m starting the read-a-thon off with two books that aren’t on my original list: The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton and For Today I Am a Boy by Kim Fu. I also plan on using this post to update my progress as I go.

Enjoy your Monday!

What are you looking forward to reading/doing this week?

Monday’s Update

Monday was fantastic! I started and finished The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. It was filled with beautiful writing and though I didn’t really get attached to any of the characters, it was still a nice book to read.

  • Books finished: 1
  • Pages read: 320

Now I just need to figure out what to read today (Tuesday). Any suggestions?

Tuesday’s Update

Tuesday was a total reading disaster. I couldn’t figure out what to read so I didn’t do any reading. Plus, this heat was so bad that all I wanted to do was sleep yesterday. Ugh.  Today (Wednesday) it’s suppose to be 98 degrees. I can’t hibernate since I have a ton of things to do. Today’s book will either be There is No Dog by Meg Rosoff (a reread) or The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld.

Day 3 Mini-Challenge

Today’s mini-challenge is from My Overstuffed Books. B.o.B. participates are to pair a book with something.

My pairing is The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton and probably French bread.  In the book, the main character’s grandmother owns the bakery in their small town and believes bread helps to heal almost anything. I love that idea.

 

 

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Readathon, reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Bout of Books 10 and Update Post

  1. BermudaOnion says:

    It’s warm here but not that humid so I’m still calling it spring. I hope you get a lot of reading done.

  2. SuziQoregon says:

    Books adn the beach go well together! Good choices to start off the week. My goal today is to finish the book I’m in the middle of. It’s just OK so there might be skimming,

  3. Have a great bout of book 10 readathon week!

    Here is my post!!

  4. Good luck! I’m clearing out my netgalley and library books first then my physical TBR pile

  5. Beach reading, so jealous. I’m hoping the weather will warm up here so I can at least do some outside reading.

  6. dastevensish says:

    Annie has The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender out from the library right now. I have no clue what it’s about, but I am obsessively in love with its cover. Good luck! Hope you meet all your goals, and then some!😀

  7. Heather says:

    This made me giggle, because I’m not reading books on my list either! Good luck!

  8. olduvai says:

    Oh I’ve heard that For Today I Am a Boy is pretty good! Enjoy reading at the beach!

  9. Athira says:

    Happy reading!

  10. Lauren says:

    Hello,
    Great start so far! I’m from So Cal too! It’s gonna be 100 degrees today, so stay cool and happy reading!!🙂

  11. Great job! I thought of you yesterday when I got Diane Muldrow’s Everything I need to know I learned from a little golden book from the library . Its comfort food in a book format!

  12. kay says:

    Great reading!
    This week I plan on reading the only John Green book I haven’t read yet, Paper Towns. I’m really excited about it!

  13. SuziQoregon says:

    Hope you’re staying cool and getting some reading time today

  14. Anmiryam says:

    Sorry about the heat. I’ve got the Ava Lavender book in a pile and should get to it soon. I’m stalled near the beginning of We Were Liars which is also filled with beautiful and smart writing, but I’m not in the mood for an unreliable narrator. And, french bread? Everyone is making me so hungry today!

  15. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    Come visit me in Alaska. We are still in sweatshirts and jackets. I am begining to crave some beach time. I may have to travel to an island after my time here is done.

    • Vasilly says:

      You’re in Alaska now!! How is it so far? How long are you staying.

      • Bree @The Things We Read says:

        I am in Alaska now. I love love love it. I feel very at home here and don’t miss the lower 48 or home at all right now. I’m working at a seasonal resort and will be here until end of September. Where I go after that is unknown at this point.

  16. Vasilly says:

    I love the idea of just traveling around!! I’m happy that you’re enjoying it.

Comments are closed.