Bout of Books 10

After reading Candiss’s goals for Bout of Books, I decided to join the event. Bout of Books has been going strong for a few years but this will be my first time joining.

BoB10-200x200

 The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 12th and runs through Sunday, May 18th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 10 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

 My goals for Bout of Books are:

  • To read for at least two hours a day. I need to get back into the habit of sitting down to just read again. I already finished my homework for the next two weeks, so I can find some time to read.

  • To review 90% of the books I read during the event.
  • To read at least four books.

 I have a ton of books that I would like to finish in the next few months, so my pile comes from that stack. My pile of possibilities:

PicMonkey Collage10

The Namesake by Jhumpi Lahiri.

Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder by Ariana Huffington

A Few Seconds of Radiant Filmstrip by Kevin Brockmeier

The Round House by Louise Erdrich

PicMonkey Collage11

I’ll Be Right There by Kyung-Sook Shin

Mambo in Chinatown by Jean Kwok

The Book of Unknown Americans by Christina Henriquez

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

Are you participating for the event? If so, what’s on your reading?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in Readathon, reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Bout of Books 10

  1. Bree @The Things We Read says:

    To me the biggest thing that sticks.out from this post is that you have your homework done for the next two weeks! That’s awesome! Oh by the way, good luck with the reading. You got this

  2. dastevensish says:

    I’m joining in for the first time ever too. I hope you make a dent in your stack, but most of all I hope you have fun! (That’s my sort of unstated, but most important goal.)

  3. Candiss says:

    I just finished Shin Kyung-Sook’s Please Take Care of Mom and am really interested in I’ll Be Right There, too. If you get it finished, I’m very interested in your thoughts.

    I hope you have a great read-a-thon!

  4. SuziQoregon says:

    Yay! Glad you’re joining in! This will be my 3rd BOB and I always have a great time. Hope you do too,

  5. Charleen says:

    Yay! So fun to see first-timers! That was me a year ago… this will be my 4th one! Good luck!

  6. Have fun!! Great book choices. I really want to read more Jhumpi Lahiri. Loved Interpreter of Maladies.

  7. Glad you decided to join in! You have so many books on your list that I’m really looking forward to, so I can’t wait to see what you end up reading and what you think. I love that one of your goals is to make sure you get reviews done for the books you read, too – that’s something I should have thought to do!

  8. awesome! that will be my first time too, and I finally joined after reading another blogger, actually Adam at Roof Beam Reader

  9. I also need to get back into the habit of just sitting down and focusing on reading. With the semester over, HOPEFULLY that will be easier to do. Here’s hoping you find the same when school is out for you. I hope we can both get to The Namesake. It’s been on my TBR for far too long.

  10. Great list! Good luck with your reading🙂

  11. Athira says:

    I need to find the time to just sit down and read as well. I get so caught up with other stuff that reading ends up suffering. Your goals are great. I’m going to consider joining in!

  12. Good luck this week! I’ve had Namesake on my shelf for far too long. I really need to read that one.

    I’m participating in BoB too. I have a stack of graphic novels from the library that I will likely be tackling since they are coming up due very soon.

Comments are closed.