What I’m Grateful For

I haven’t written a post about gratitude in years. I need to change that. There’s always something to be grateful for. But first,

Things I’m not grateful for:

-The fact that I don’t have a job yet. I’m trying as I fill out application after application, submitting my resumѐ and waiting for calls. I’m tired of hearing that I’m a good or great candidate but I’m not experienced/extroverted enough. It reminds me of Susan Cain’s Quiet. I’m not apologizing for being an introvert.

Things I’m grateful for:

-My upcoming summer plans. Our school year is over on the 30th of this month. I plan on reading as much as I can this summer. I feel like hugging my books.

-My family. We make each other laugh as fast as we make each other cry. I’m glad that I know each and every one of them. I’m talking about my immediate family. My extended family? Well, that’s different!

-Carrot cake. My local store makes some amazing carrot cake. It’s getting to the point that it’ll be cheaper if I just learned to make it myself.

-Last but not least, all of you guys. You guys are what keeps me going online. I love reading your posts on your lives and thoughts about books, movies, and anything else. I love the letters I receive from you guys and all the nice comments. Thank you. I appreciate every single one of you.

What are you grateful for today?

About Vasilly

Mother, daughter, sister, college student, bookworm, lover of chocolate and coffee.
This entry was posted in gratitude and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to What I’m Grateful For

  1. I love this post. Among other things, I’m grateful that you reminded me to reflect on this a bit. I’m also grateful for my mom as we’re coming up on Mother’s Day, as well as my son and my hubs. They’re all so great.

    Wishing you lots of luck with the continued job hunt. I know it can be a beating, but hang in there!

  2. joyweesemoll says:

    I have a “fake it ’til you make it” experience with job-hunting and extroversion. Showing up for professional meetings always made me look more extroverted than I am. In St. Louis, the Special Library Association has the most meetings, and they make it cheap for students to attend. It turns out, it’s all about the showing up. I don’t actually have to do much more than nod and smile when I get there. I usually attached myself to the first extrovert who spoke to me and then let them do all the talking with everyone else.

    Love your gratitude list! I’m grateful that you directed me to two terrific posts on Twitter this morning — yours and Kim’s!

  3. BermudaOnion says:

    Family is the best! Good luck with the job search.

  4. dastevensish says:

    You. I know we don’t really know each other all that well, but coming here to your space is *always* a treat. Sometimes because you make me think. Sometimes because you introduce me to awesome new stuff. Sometimes because you just plain old make me smile. Often all those things at once.
    Good luck with the job hunting. And hooray for you–there is absolutely no reason you should apologize for being an introvert!!!
    You mentioning carrot cake (mmmm…carrot cake) reminded me of your boys making donuts the other day–how did they come out? Perhaps you should have them learn how to make carrot cake next.🙂

    • Vasilly says:

      That reminds me I need to post the donut recipe. Debi, the donuts were so good! Carrot cake will probably be next on our to-make list.🙂

  5. N1SUZ says:

    Great post, Vasilly! It’s funny how timely this is to me personally too. Since having “the accident”, I’ve been through a lot of frustration, pain, etc., but I was just thinking today how lucky I am to have a wonderful husband, good friends and other things in my life that make it all worth pushing forward.

    Good luck on your job hunt. Eventually, it will all work out and you’ll find your “place”. And speaking of place, where is that carrot cake?🙂

    Take care, Suzanne

  6. Good luck with the job hunt. I know how demoralising it can be, but hopefully you’ll find a great place that values you for who you are in the end *hugs*

  7. Good luck with the job hunt. It certainly is a difficult and time consuming situation, at least it was for me. Volunteering and part-time work were my way of getting my foot in the door.

    I should probably be grateful for my job (and I am), but what I am most grateful for is that my classes are almost over!

  8. I love this post. There are so many things to be grateful for and it’s nice to think about them. I’m approaching my sixth blogiversary and I’m thinking about doing a post along these lines.

  9. Jenny says:

    YOU, also. The book blogosphere. l love y’all and feel super grateful that y’all exist. And I’m trying to focus on my many other blessings as well — I’m having a cruddy week.

    Continued good luck on the job hunt! I hope you have plenty of good pump-yourself-up music for job-hunting. Pump-up music is key.

  10. trish422 says:

    Being an introvert really does such when you are interviewing. I remember those days and I do not miss them. Good luck with the job hunt!

  11. heidenkind says:

    I hear you on the job applications. Definitely don’t apologize for being who you are. People work best in different ways, and if an employer doesn’t realize that then they’re probably not someone you want to work with anyway.

  12. What a beautiful post! It’s always great when I see others being thankful for things I sometimes take for granted – it’s like a wake-up call.
    Good luck with finding a job, sending good vibes and positive thoughts your way.

    Today I’m grateful for the gorgeous blue sky and the nice breeze coming from my balcony. It’s time to go sit there with a new book.

  13. Bellezza says:

    Carrot cake’s not hard, especially for us introverts! I’d be glad to send you an easy, delicious recipe. When I get sad, thinking of my family even with all our faults and foibles always makes me glad again. Thinking of you in your job endeavors.

  14. I’m grateful for your blog and the hours of fascination I get from the book bloggers’ posts I follow. I’m grateful for the ongoing tweaks to my curiosity sourced from the generosity of the blogosphere. Everyday there’s a feast of blogs waiting for me to indulge in their depths. Thank you!

  15. Lu says:

    I love this grateful post. I agree, it’s something I should do more of, too!

  16. Kristen M. says:

    Life has been so hectic and turbulent lately that I’ve also forgotten to acknowledge all of the things that are going right. I hope that things turn around for you on the job front soon. You deserve it!

  17. I need to get back writing these kind of posts too. It’s good to remember what I’m grateful for. Too often, though, I focus on what I’m not grateful for. It’s good to end it with what you’re grateful for, to end on a positive note as you’ve done here. Also I was just talking about letters (sort of) on Facebook. You still write them and receive them? Hmm. Interesting.

  18. stacybuckeye says:

    Love this post. We should all do one. My local grocery store makes an awesome peanut butter cake and I got it when we had company this week. Yum🙂

Comments are closed.